Customer Reviews for

Pursuit of Honor (Mitch Rapp Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 624 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(319)

4 Star

(160)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A brilliant new challenge awaits Rapp

In this, Flynn's latest thriller, a lot of people in Washington, including CIA counterterrorism agents, are killed after a bombing. Mitch is disenchanted because things seem like they're right back where we were after 9/11, and a member of his team begins to crack. Mitc...
In this, Flynn's latest thriller, a lot of people in Washington, including CIA counterterrorism agents, are killed after a bombing. Mitch is disenchanted because things seem like they're right back where we were after 9/11, and a member of his team begins to crack. Mitch is asked to capture those responsible however he needs to, without the president's knowledge. This one is as good, if not better, than the last. I don't want to say more and spoil it. Another book I suggest you read (and I'm not a big personal development guy but this one is GREAT) that was given to me at a company leadership retreat is EMOTIONAL INTELLIGENCE 2.0.

posted by Dave_Brooks on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Slow Pursuit

This was not a favorite for me. My all time favorite is Consent To Kill. This plot dragged and sagged and not enough action nor character development for me. I love Vince Fynn and devour his books but this one? Not so much.

posted by Robynn on October 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow Pursuit

    This was not a favorite for me. My all time favorite is Consent To Kill.
    This plot dragged and sagged and not enough action nor character development for me. I love Vince Fynn and devour his books but this one? Not so much.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Didn't Hook Me into the Story

    Sometimes a person tries new authors and it just doesn't work out. I have never read a book by Vince Flynn so I thought I would try to read one. Maybe it was because I was too busy with other things but the book just didn't grab me and make me want to read it. I finally gave up and didn't finish it. I love to read Daniel Silva books so I thought this book might be good. It may be a great book for very many readers but just not for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If Ann Coulter and Rush Limbaugh had a love child, CIA counter-terrorism operative Mitch Rapp would seem extreme in comparison.

    If Ann Coulter and Rush Limbaugh had a love child who was rasied by rabid wolves and later adopted by Dick Cheney, CIA counter-terrorism operative Mitch Rapp would seem extreme in comparison. Where Daniel Silva has taken the mantel from Robert Ludlum for a thinking man's espionage writer, Vince Flynn is a re-imagined Tom Clancy. But boy what fun when the good and the bad guys are so clear. This is a great follow-up to the very exciting "Extreme Measures." If you haven't been a Mitch Rapp fan before, these are two good books to start. You won't look back, except perhaps, for your moral high ground.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Phoned-In Forumulaic Fiction

    As a bookseller, army veteran, and avid reader, I have been reading Vince Flynn since the release of his first book, "Term Limits". I own all of his titles in hardcover. Booksellers and fans consider him the successor to the throne vacated by Tom Clancy. I'm afraid to say that Vince Flynn has now, like many authors before him, found an easy, comfortable formula to follow. His earlier works were plotted more carefully, and seemed to have an insider's knowledge of the CIA, black ops military, the FBI, DC politics, and how they all work with and especially, against each other. "Pursuit of Honor", as fast-paced an fun as it is, seems to have taken very little time to plan, research, and write. Earlier Mitch Rapp adventures were epic in spectacle and scope, playing like a spectacular big-budget film. This one seems like a fun one-hour episode of a "24". When I finished this book, I realized that I probably wasn't going to read it again, and I probably wouldn't read his other works either, so I'm going to ebay my Vince Flynn hardcovers, and "Nook" his future releases. ("Nook" means that I'll be buying a Barnes & Noble Nook and download the them instead of filling up my bookshelves with something I wouldn't read twice.)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Decent, but not great...

    Not a bad read, but definitely not one of Flynn's best. At times it seemed to drag out. Other times, it did turn into a page turner. All in all, decent, but just not enough to draw me in for 400+ pages. I think it's about time for Flynn to branch out into something beyond Mitch Rapp. For the time being, I think he's taken him about as far as he can.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    The thrill is gone. This is by far the least exciting book of the series for me. I've read the whole series and now I'm wondering if that's the problem.

    Flynn made Kennedy a great character but in the last two books she's barely in the background. Nash first seemed like a bit of a typical wishy-washy pain in the ass, then built up to have the makings of another Rapp, and now...

    The character of Rapp is getting to be too much of the same old thing and so is the storyline. It's getting old.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not too bad for the first time I've read a Vince Flynn Book

    I am a big fan of John Grisham, David Baldacci, Clive Cussler. So this was the first time I've read Vince Flynn. It was OK. I didn't like the ending though. All in all not a bad read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Flynn's best

    I am a HUGE Vince Flynn fan, but if I am being honest, this is not his best work. Although it was still easy to read, I did not find myself wanting to burn through the book in one sitting like I usually do with his books. The book does tie up some loose ends left from the previous book and therefor is still worth reading if you are a Flynn fan. If this is your first Vince Flynn book, try starting with his first book (Term Limits), although you don't necessarily have to read them in order. If you are just looking for one good book, I think Memorial Day was one of his best...possibly because it was the first one I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    Boxed into a Corner

    The characters, plot, writing style, and grammar are deteriorating with each new book. Our main character is "past feeling" and has little else to experience unless he is dramatically humanized by a torrid love affair with his director.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Good story poorly told

    Mr. Flynn's characters are flat, unimaginative and badly cliched' to a point of being cartoonish, while the story line is interesting the ending and climax are predictable which takes away any suspense the author was trying to achieve. All in all this is a mediocre made for TV movie in book form, good for a couple of night's viewing but utterly forget-able.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    Vehicle for Political View

    I have always enjoyed Vince Flynn's books. This one was not as good as previous books. He spent too much effort in getting his political views across that in writing a good story. I am happy that I didn't pay good money for this book, but read it through my public library.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5