BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pursuit of Justice

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    Pursuit of Justice - a thriller with many twists!

    Like everyone else I am sure, I check the cover and resume before I decide to read a book. In this instance I must admit I was intrigued by both as I had not heard of the author but the resume started with the following: "For centuries, the legend of the Spider Rock treasure has lured people to West Texas with promises of unimaginable wealth. And it just claimed three more victims." Pursuit of Justice promised to be a thriller, filled with all sorts of twists with faith and romance to boot. I was hooked! Special Agent Bella Jordan is called to investigate the murders on High Butte ranch near Ballinger, Texas. Carr Sullivan the rancher, is in fact a suspect because he threatened the men who wanted to dig on his land. Carr wants to run a ranch for troubled teens and murders could ruin his plans. According to the legend of Spider Rock Spanish gold is believed to be buried there and someone in Bella's past she has tried very hard to forget might just resurface. This is a story about treasure, the men who are obsessed with a legend that will make them rich. It is also the story of a young woman who finds the strength to face her past with a father who actually sold her to his partner, a man on the FBI Wanted list, and ultimately will discover love and faith. Pursuit of Justice is the kind of suspense novel you just want to pass on to family and friends. This is also a story about love and faith the whole family will enjoy reading! This Christian novel has many twists and characters you just cannot quite figure out. Deception, redemption, suspense, inspiration and excitement in a fast paced action packed novel yet also a story of faith that will climax and leave you breathless. This is my first DiAnn Mills novel and it definitively will not be my last! I give it a resounding 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Pursuit of Justice is the third book in the Call of Duty series.

    Pursuit of Justice is the third book in the Call of Duty series.  I have not read the other books and didn’t feel that I missed anything, however I do want to go back and get them now.  Bella is a pint size FBI agent working a murder case with three bodies.  Carr is a reformed partier with anger issues who has become a Christian.  The bodies are found on his property and he is the main suspect.  Bella also has to deal with her past.  She is assigned to this case because she grew up the area.  The scenes between her and her aunt Debbie were adorable.  The author did a great job building up the relationship between Bella and Carr.  Realistic relationship between Bella and her coworkers.  Great suspense, lots of suspects and sweet romance.  
    You can see my full review at More Than a Review dot com where I rate the level of sex, violence, language and drug/alcohol use in books.  



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    You won't be able to put it down!

    One thing I really enjoy about reviewing books for publishers is that I have the opportunity to expand and read outside the normal genres that I'm usually drawn to. A few months ago, I reviewed two of DiAnn Mills books and quickly added her to my favorite authors list. DiAnn Mills' Call to Duty series has just the right touch of romance, mystery, suspense and Christian faith to ensure a great reading experience. The newest book, Pursuit of Justice is the third book in this series and it is great! The twist and turns of the plot as well as the suspense of the story just pulled me in. I couldn't put it down till I had read the last word of the last sentence of this book. Yep, the story is THAT GOOD! Want a great weekend afternoon? Read this book! Many thanks to Kim M. at Nancy Berland Public Relations, Inc for the opportunity to review this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pursuit of Justice

    God has a good purpose for everything that happens to those who love him. Or does He? Carr Sullivan is starting to wonder. Three men have turned up dead on his property and he is the prime suspect. The FBI has sent in Special Agent Bella Jordan to investigate Carr, the murders and the possible link to the Spider Rock Treasure hidden in West Texas. Agent Jordan is determined, smart and prides herself on her discernment. She spent the first 15 years of her life in the Runnels County area of West Texas and is thrilled to be the investigation's lead agent. However, when Agent Jordan's past, including the reason she left the area, emerges, she realizes that she can no longer run from the past if she ever wants to embrace the future. Revisiting the past may lead her to the truth, the Spider Rock Treasure and true love - if the killer doesn't get to her first. Pursuit of Justice by DiAnn Mills is a fast-paced, adventure with high stakes. Both Carr and Bella are grasping for a new, beautiful future while constantly eluding death. The plot consists of mystery, adventure, romance and spirituality. These elements combine to create a story that will keep drawing the reader back until the end. I enjoyed reading this book and I liked the fact that the author wrapped up the loose ends and mysteries. I've read books where the reader is just left to wonder about some things and I much prefer this style. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pursuit of Justice- A Thrilling read

    I just received this book from Tyndale House Publishers for an advance reading as part of their bloggers review program . I was not required to write a positive review and therefore, the book review is 100% my own opinion.

    I was really excited to receive my first free book from Tyndale House Publishers, and therefore, I devoured the book in question quickly as soon as I received it.

    Pursuit of Justice by DiAnn Mills is about Bella Jordan. She's a Special Agent and is assigned to investigate a series of murders in West Texas that are linked to the Spider Rock Treasure.

    The FBI authorities are confident that since she spent the first fifteen years of her life in West Texas, she can get the job done. What the FBI doesn't know is that they don't know is that one of their prime suspects, a man who's been on their wanted list for years is deeply connected to Bella's past.

    There's also another primes suspect in the FBI's list. Carr Sullivan, the wealthy man whose ranch is the crime of scene. Carr Sullivan. while a wealthy man, is also a man with a dark past, and as Bella investigated and gets involved deeper in the case, she was threatened and another murder happened. This makes Bella think that she knows the murderer and the murderer is not working alone.

    Pursuit of Justice is a delicious suspense thriller, and the readers will be hurled into the world of Bella where there's constant running for evidence to catch the suspect before the suspect catches her and kill her. This is a book of not only mystery, but it's also action packed and will leave you breathless, wanting for more.

    So, is this book good? Oh yes, definitely a good book. DiAnn Mills really delivers the blow and does not disappoint. The book is definitely engaging, and will give you adrenaline rush.

    I rate this book, 4 stars out of 5. I thought the cover ought to be given a more thrilling improvement. Content wise, though. the book is really exhilarating and I recommend this book to all avid suspense reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    Great choice!

    In her third installment in the Call of Dusty series, DiAnn Mills introduces us to Special Agent Bella Jordan. Bella has traveled from Houston to West Texas to investigate the murders of three treasure hunters. To perform this investigation, Bella must return to the home she fled fourteen years earlier and the memories held there.

    The murders occurred at a ranch owned by Carr Sullivan, a man who had escaped his own troubled past in Dallas. This makes Carr the prime suspect, a position that he is none-too-happy about. Carr has given his lift to Christ and has moved to West Texas to try to start fresh.

    Together, Bella and Carr must work together to find the killer (or killers) and will also find redemption in each other.

    I will be honest, this is the first book of Mills' that I have read. I had not read the other books in her series. However, the books have more of a common theme (law enforcement as the background) as opposed to a connection to one another, so this book was able to stand alone.

    There are many things that I liked about this novel. First, it really did keep me guessing until the end. I am not the type of person who tries to work out the details. I like to follow where the author takes me and watch the story unfold. Mills does an amazing job of keeping the story in place while giving just enough in the area of twists and turns to keep you guessing.

    Secondly, with regards to the faith aspect, Mills doesn't make life perfect for the Christians and difficult for those who have not yet followed Christ. She realistically depicts the struggles that come both as a person is seeking Christ and those that can occur even after a person comes to a saving knowledge of Him. She gives the reader characters to whom a person can relate.

    Which brings me to the third thing I liked about this novel: a strong lead female character. Sometimes, women in Christian novels are seen in situations where they are almost whithering under pressure and stress. Not in Mills' novel. Bella is a character who is strong and determined (and a little stubborn). She and Carr work through their feelings for one another the way it really happens: slowly, methodically.

    The only issue I can really say I have with the novel is that it does drag along at some points. There is a lot of back story and action going on throughout the novel. Once the peak of the novel hits, the novel runs out of steam. There are 339 pages until the pieces fall into place, and then the novel ends at 368. That is essentially just under 30 pages to tie up all of the loose ends that are inevitably created in a novel like this one.

    All in all, though, I really did enjoy reading this novel. I am certainly going to see about getting the first two, so that I can enjoy more of DiAnn Mills' writing. I would certainly recommend taking the time out to read this novel. You won't be disappointed.

    This book was provided free of charge as a review copy. The publisher had no editorial rights or claims over the content or the conclusions made in this review. No payment was provided in return for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a wonderful whodunit

    In the Ballinger area of Runnels County in West Texas, three bodies were found on a High Butte Ranch owned by Carr Sullivan. Houston FBI Bureau Chief Swartzer explains to Special Agent Bella Jordan the case is hers as she comes from the area and there is a link to Brandt Richardson on the fugitive list. The corpses (Professor Forrest Miller, geologist Daniel Kegley and retired oilman Walt Higgins) were seeking the Spider Rock treasure; Jordan remarks that the location was not even remotely considered an option.

    The two suspects are obviously the rancher with a criminal past who refused access to the treasure seekers and Richardson. Ambitious for a promotion, Bella conceals her connection to the latter from her boss as she heads to West Texas. However, as Bella digs for clues, she soon receives threats to back off or else. The warnings seem too personal so she concludes whoever this individual is he or she knows her.

    The third Call of Duty police procedural (see Breach of Trust and Sworn To Protect) is a wonderful whodunit. The heroine trusts no one before she arrives and affirms her feelings of depending on herself only after she begins her inquiry though she is attracted to Carr and has family nearby as the culprit obviously knows her. The story line is fast-paced from start to finish as an unknown adversary plays a game of cat and mouse with the returning home FBI agent.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1