BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Push

Average Rating 4.5
( 443 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(245)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

PUSH By SAPPHIRE

For all persons in the Humane Race this is an explosive piece of writing that tugs at the inner core of the heart strings of dysfunction, poverty, incest, depression, determination and resiliency. If you are in the human services as a clinical social worker, case worker...
For all persons in the Humane Race this is an explosive piece of writing that tugs at the inner core of the heart strings of dysfunction, poverty, incest, depression, determination and resiliency. If you are in the human services as a clinical social worker, case worker, psychiatrist or psychologist, PUSH stitches and threads together an excellent knitting of literary work that begins with the foundation of family brokenness. Erickson's stages of development never encountered a Precious Jones, but provides the framework for scientist seeking to complete a picture without benefit of all the necessary puzzle pieces.
SAPPHIRE draws you in with a her melodic writing as you cheer for the main character on the sidelines screaming PUSH Precious PUSH.
A must read for anyone who has ever considered waving the white flag!

posted by MSWInMe on May 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Started good but......

I was really excited about reading this book when I read that Tyler and Oprah were making a movie about it. Unfortunately, the book started good but ended bad. I was eager to pick it up and finish where I left off thinking that the end would be excellent. I was sad t...
I was really excited about reading this book when I read that Tyler and Oprah were making a movie about it. Unfortunately, the book started good but ended bad. I was eager to pick it up and finish where I left off thinking that the end would be excellent. I was sad to see the story end at a point that seemed more like the middle of the book. I think this story could have been much better had the author carried the story a little further and provide some closure. Perhaps the movie will give me what I feel I missed with the book.

posted by 1615459 on July 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    Started good but......

    I was really excited about reading this book when I read that Tyler and Oprah were making a movie about it. Unfortunately, the book started good but ended bad. I was eager to pick it up and finish where I left off thinking that the end would be excellent. I was sad to see the story end at a point that seemed more like the middle of the book. I think this story could have been much better had the author carried the story a little further and provide some closure. Perhaps the movie will give me what I feel I missed with the book.

    14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    OK

    This book had an great story line but it was hard to read.
    I understand that the main character was unable to read and write and some of the book showing that would have been fine but it was hard to process the reading as it was written in her dialect.
    It was OK.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    How did they ever make a movie from this?????

    I really didn't get it. The story is not new. Is it believable? Absolutely. This story is probably far more common than one can imagine. And the story could cover all races. But what am I to take away from this? How can I stop this abuse? There is a beginning, a middle & no end. What will happen to the Precious' of the world? I'm not sure what the message was meant to be taken from this story. And how a movie could be made from this sliver of a plot is beyond me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    So-So

    Is there an ending to this story?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Absolutely HORRIBLE. While it's true that children get sexually

    Absolutely HORRIBLE. While it's true that children get sexually abused in group/ residential homes, Saphhire should have toned it down a bit. Abdul is lusting after other kids in nearly every chapter -- you actually start to wonder where is the supervision? Also unclear is whether Abdul is STRAIGHT or GAY. It's also so confusing and inconsistent you almost have to FORCE yourself to keep reading. The ending was a total NIGHTMARE -- you're wondering WHAT JUST HAPPENED ...? Was there supposed to be a MESSAGE here ...?My advice -- head to your local library and check this book out for FREE. And to Saphhire -- sex DOES sell nowadays, but a good, engaging PLOT is even BETTER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    Sad commentary on society today

    This story is so depressing and deeply troubling that it is difficult to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    mixed review

    i actually seen the movie first and thought that it was not a horrible movie but i was quiet disturbed by it. at the end of the movie i was more depressed than anything else. i couldn't believe that one person went through so much. i had to pick up the book because the movie didnt give me closer at the end. then there is the book, one thing i can say about the book is that you can tell how illiterate precious really was and just a little bit more detail about the relationship between her and her parents. by the time i got to the end of the novel i still had no closer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    Glad I didn't buy it.

    A coworker was reading it and told me it was a good read. I borrowed it from her read it and was glad that I didn't buy it. It was an ok book. The topic was controversial but I couldn't get into the book. I don't see where all the hype is coming from. I guess I'll wait until the movie comes out on video. I'll get it on red box for $1.00.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Overrated

    It was OK. I read it 12 years ago when it first came out and loved it. Now I was like "whatever" and couldn't wait for it to be over with. I read it in 3 days beause it is a short read, but I had to PUSH myself to read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    NO

    Did not like the way this book was written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    college student

    I was really looking forward to reading this book it took me almost 1 year to find it because everyone had it check out in the libaries or on hold. When I finally got the chance to read it. I was very upset. This was not a good book at all. It was very long and boring. I feel I just wasted my time on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    A Headache

    This book took me almost three days to read because of the illiteracy. I had to stop and go over it to make sure I was I reading it correctly it was just a mess. Yes the book was said but I wouldn't recommend you go out and buy it just borrow it from your friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    A dissapointment

    I had read great reviews about this book and I just had to go out and buy it. I sat down, read it in about 3hrs and was pretty dissapointed. True, it was a sad story, but it wasn't as good as other books I had read. It didn't make me NOT want to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2003

    Definitely overrated.

    When this book was added to the New York City Board of Education's required reading list I was very dissappointed. Yes, the book does approach topics that often go unmentioned in most urban literature but I question whether this book would have been better if it had been written in another format. Though the language used is indicative of the character I questioned whether the force of the emotions involved in the story were lessened by the character's 'voice'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2