Customer Reviews for

Pushed: The Painful Truth About Childbirth and Modern Maternity Care

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Should be required reading for every woman

    I'm sad to see the above reviewer, Ms. Ob/Gyn, stoop so low as to accuse Block of enslaving women. It's another disgusting attempt on the part of institutionalized medicine to prevent women from learning the truth behind modern medical practices. This book educates women on the medical concerns regarding common obstetrics practice. It will benefit any woman giving birth in modern America regardless of whether she desires a hospital birth or a homebirth. It gives women knowledge and knowledge is power. That may sound cliche, but this book empowers women to participate in choices regarding their own body rather than blindly following the doctor's orders. Birth is not an illness or a medical procedure, it's a biological function. I found this book too late. I hope other women find it and use it to have the birth they deserve.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    VERY INTERESTING!

    If you are a woman who has had or ever plans to have a baby this is a must read. This book contains a lot of information on the past and current practices for childbirth. It definitely makes you think about your rights as a woman and patient. Block provides plenty of research while still being easily comprehendible for any reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW! INCREDIBLY ENLIGHTENING

    Jennifer Block did a wonderful job exposing the sad truth about maternity care without bias.
    This book is a MUST READ for any woman who is pregnant or plans to have a baby. It shows the history of obstetrics and how far from "normal" all of the medical technology has taken maternity care.
    Most doctors are no longer using evidence-based practices, but have liability driven (CYA) practices ... and women and babies are paying the price.
    It also sheds light on the fact that, in most cases, a healthy woman is better off having her baby delivered by a midwife than by an OB doctor in a hospital. There are even obstetricians who agree.
    I am a nurse and doula and work with doctors and midwives on a regular basis and the amount of intervention in this "natural body process" is very sad and frustrating, not to mention dangerous!
    But it is not just the doctors ... women are allowing and even choosing these dangerous interventions because our society is so obsessed with convenience and instant gratification that no one wants to wait until the baby and their body are ready for birth.
    It is an easy read with very factual content based on legitimate reasearch and "the evidence".
    I highly recommend this book if you're looking for answers about choices and childbirth ... or if you are just interested in some of the history about how we got to this point in our treatment of pregnancy and childbirth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    real ob/gyn impressions

    This book is in conflict with the desired feminist stand of this author. She in a very round about way enslaves modern women to the pains of natural labor despite her many statements about the empowering and freedom of women. She also misses the many monumentous points in history that breought about the legal interuptions between a pt and her doctor. The last 30% of this book is the best written part. As an ob/gyn, I would believe that at least 50-75% of women reading this book would be left feeling inadequate as they would prefer,NOT THEIR DOCTOR, some relief of pain. The most important point in this book is the obvious lack of sensitivity of this feminist to the choices of women today. This all coming from an ob/gyn who believes in a woman's choice in the way that they deliver: completely natural or with the help of modern medicine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended, especially if you are pregnant!

    This was a great book to read, and I wish I had read it sooner! It was very informative and shed a lot of light on how doctor's "push" women to have c-sections. I think every pregnant woman or any woman wanting to become pregnant should read this book, and listen and understand what it is saying. You were made to have a baby, your body knows what it is doing, only under extreme circumstance should you need surgery. Otherwise, let your body do what it was made to do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Recommend Reading

    This was a book that I read for a women & health class, I am not expecting anytime soon. I would recommend it though for expecting mothers, it helps to inform women of the issues surrounding child birth today. It is quite bias against the medical field but it you read it knowing that then I think that you can look past it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    An Absolute must read for all women

    It is time for women to know the truth about birth in the United States.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Eye opening

    After reading this book, I felt better equiped to handle my next pregnancy and my rights. Wish I'd read it earlier. Block shares her opinion by uses facts to illustrate her points. This book is a must read for women to understand their rights and options during pregnancy and birth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1