Customer Reviews for

Pushing the Limits

Average Rating 4.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Almost perfect

The only thing that could have made it better would have been some hot sex. Or sex at all for that matter.

posted by 16705724 on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Bad.

Just not a good story. Sorry, author. The characters were two-dimensional and the dialogue totally unrealistic, especially Echo's father. Author tried way too hard to make her characters seem troubled and ostracized from society. Nothing remotely interesting about this ...
Just not a good story. Sorry, author. The characters were two-dimensional and the dialogue totally unrealistic, especially Echo's father. Author tried way too hard to make her characters seem troubled and ostracized from society. Nothing remotely interesting about this book. Waste of money and time. And the cover's really cheesy/hideous.

posted by Cup_of_doom on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Almost perfect

    The only thing that could have made it better would have been some hot sex. Or sex at all for that matter.

    15 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am crushing on Noah Hutchins in a big way. Nothing gets me lik

    I am crushing on Noah Hutchins in a big way. Nothing gets me like a bad boys who's really a good guy at heart. The best of both worlds. But I loved Echo too. (And her name and what it meant to the story) She tugged at my heart strings and I was constantly rooting for her, so sympathetic to her pain. What a fabulous, well spun story. It never shied away from very dark topics, yet left me smiling more times than I can count with it's smartly placed humor. I couldn't put this book down and I can't wait to get my hands on DARE YOU TO because the supporting characters in PUSHING THE LIMITS were wonderful and I absolutely want to learn more about them.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Bad.

    Just not a good story. Sorry, author. The characters were two-dimensional and the dialogue totally unrealistic, especially Echo's father. Author tried way too hard to make her characters seem troubled and ostracized from society. Nothing remotely interesting about this book. Waste of money and time. And the cover's really cheesy/hideous.

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I finished Reading Pushing the Limits in the wee hours of this m

    I finished Reading Pushing the Limits in the wee hours of this morning, allotting me 4 precious hours of sleep, but it was so worth it! I finished this book in one sitting, unable to put it down, completely swept up in the story and all of the emotion it brought to out of me. And believe me, the box of tissues I stopped reading to retrieve were quite necessary.




    Each character fit so precisely into the plot, was so relatable, that I either loved them or hated them. There was no middle ground for me, but I did change my mind about one or two of them throughout the story. I very much enjoyed how each characters place had been revealed and distinguished a bit more throughout the story, as opposed to all up front, giving me a chance to feel involved in the story line. A beautiful plot, beautifully executed.




    Katie McGarry touched my heart throughout the book. She had a firm grasp on the subject matter, it was all so possible and believable. Anyone who has ever lived even a smidgen of this story would have to agree. Anyone who understands the intensity of young true love and how it can change one at the core of their being will understand and love this book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great contemporary novel

    Pushing the Limits is a beautiful story of love, loss, and forgiveness. Told in alternating points of view, switching between first-person Noah and first-person Echo, Pushing the Limits tells the story of two broken teenagers who find strength within each other. Both Echo and Noah have their own unique, tragic, and heartbreaking stories of loss. McGarry switches from one POV to the next smoothly, and all of the characters are well-developed. There is just enough suspense and mystery to keep the book interesting, but not so much that it overwhelms the romance between Noah and Echo. This is truly a story for everyone.

    I think that almost everyone has been picked on in high school. Because of that, Echo is easy to relate to. You can't help but feel bad for her. She used to have it all, then after something horrible happened to her, she lost everything. Her desire for normalcy annoyed me, but that is only because I know (now that I'm an old woman of 30) that normal is overrated and doesn't actually exist. It seems to be one of those things that most people strive for, but no one can achieve. However, she's a likable character, and she grows so much over the course of the novel. I really enjoyed watching her come to terms with her past and figure out her future.

    Noah is a bit frustrating, too, but also likable. He's definitely a flawed hero. He's extremely emotionally damaged from the death of his parents and loss of his brothers to the foster system. He's in the system, too, and has had awful luck with foster parents. Because of this, he tends to lash out at people and be a jerk for no reason. He, also, wanted to get his version of normal and wanted to rebuild his family. I wanted to shake him at times and tell him that you can't go back in time. He grows as much as Echo does throughout the novel, and I also enjoyed watching him come to terms with everything.

    The plot itself is beautiful, and the romance is sweet. The way Noah and Echo supported each other and never judged one another is touching. The story line is intriguing. Echo lost her memory of the night she received her scars, and throughout the book she remembers more and more from that fateful day. Because of that, I was engaged throughout the novel, putting the pieces together, right along with Echo. Everyone in her family, and her counselor, knew what happened, but they wouldn't tell her. She'd tried to remember once before, and she had a mental breakdown. It was extremely suspenseful every time she remembered something. It was almost as if I felt her worry of another mental breakdown, right along with her. While this is going on, we also get to witness Noah trying to put his life back together, even though he was labeled as "emotionally unstable" by the foster system after he hit his first foster father. I enjoyed learning his reasoning behind his actions and watching him try to be the person he wants to be. The pacing for the story was perfect, and the ending ties everything up wonderfully.

    Warnings: Drug use, underage drinking, obscenities, and a sex scene (though it's barely skimmed over. Nothing smutty or trashy, and no detail) do occur in the novel, so this book may be best for 14+. The drug use isn't glamorized, though. I appreciated that.

    Overall, I'd recommend Pushing the Limits to almost anyone. If you enjoy good contemporary romances that have characters who are trying to overcome extreme obstacles, then this book is definitely for you.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Pushing the Limits

    The story follows teenagers Echo and Noah who have both have had traumas. Echo can't remember the night where she got her scars on her arms from. Noah is a foster kid who just wants his brothers back. They both just want to be normal. Throughout the story, they grow close, fall in love, and try to help one another with their problems. Pushing the Limits is about love, loss, forgiveness, and moving forward with life.

    This book is a quick read. Pretty good book, although it lacked in the sense of getting me to feel what was happening with the characters. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a quicck read or is bored. I'd also recommend it to anyone who is going througgh a bad time in their life and wants to read about how two people get through their problems. This book is NOT for younger kids. It contains bad lauguage, drugs, and mentions sex throught the story. The narrirator switched between Echo and Noah throughout the story, which made it confusing at times but overall it was nice to see from both of their prospectives.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book deserves more than five stars! It was simply amazing!

    This book deserves more than five stars! It was simply amazing!




    From the beginning to the very end, this book had me hooked from the start. I absolutely love Noah! he is the guy that everyone runs away from, but can't get their eyes off of him due to his god-like looks. Echo on the other hand, is a girl who's trying to find a piece of her life that has been missing for years. The both have problems, and yet they both thought that they were different, but as they go to know each other the sparks between them got them closer together. From the very beginning, I loved how the author was able to pull me in with all the mystery surrounding Noah and Echo. I found myself addicted to the book and couldn't wait to read more of them. This amazing story is very well-written and the plot is just fantastic. The way the book is set up made it easier for me to see both sides the the story; one through Echo and another from Noah's side. Their attraction towards each other wasn't evident at first, but as these two plot a plan to make them both find the solution to their problems, they end up in a mess that will tear everything from them. McGarry does a good job describing the characters and their back story while at the same time focusing on Echo and Noah. One of my favorite characters was Mrs. Collins, she definitely made everything better for both of them and it's because of her that they were able to be with each other in the first place. The ending left me feeling excited, (because things got resolved) and sad (because I wished I could see what happens to them in the future). The ending brings everything together and it works very well. I'm definitely ready to read more of this author, it's going to be awesome! I recommend everyone to read this book, you won't be disappointed. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Pushing the Limits is a very very good book. Kate McGarry was ab

    Pushing the Limits is a very very good book. Kate McGarry was able to bring two broken people together in a way that really worked. you know that feeling where you're reading a book, but you don't even feel like you're reading anymore because the story is so vivid in your mind ? well, that's what happened to me and Pushing the Limits. Echo is such a fitting name and Noah Hutchins is a perfect "bad boy" type of person. I only wish I could portray my characters as well as McGarry did. I'm really glad I was able to read this =D

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Chase to arizona

    Yep *strips down and shows hus eight inch hard cock*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Great read

    Really liked how this was written looking forward to mor

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    When I first read the synopsis for this story, I thought that it

    When I first read the synopsis for this story, I thought that it would be a typical YA contemporary romance-which I didn't mind because sometimes I do crave a little contemporary novel here of there. I figured that the romance between Noah and Echo would be the center of this story, but I was proven wrong and to be honest...I'm kind of happy about that.




    This novel made me cry...a lot. It was so emotional, and what Noah and Echo went through was as empowering to read as it was heart wrenching. For Noah's story-being someone that is very close to my family, I cannot imagine us never being together again. I understood his anger at the world, and the feeling of helplessness he felt without having his parents there to guide him. Being only seventeen, he had to worry and stress over things that he shouldn't have. His life has been nothing but difficult, and all the scenes he had with his brother pulled at my heart strings. Katie McGarry did such a wonderful job narrating Noah, and made me feel his pain for his loss and helped me understand why he is the person that he is. With Echo, her story is also painful-having gone through such a traumatic experience that her mind suppressed certain memories. It was suspenseful finding out what happened to her, little by little, piece by piece, until the puzzle finally showed itself. 




    I really enjoyed both narration, and I like that Echo and Noah their own lives, worries, and friends, and their thoughts didn't revolve around one another 24/7. A lot of romance stories focus more on the two characters getting together, instead of developing them each individually-and I like that Noah and Echo aren't two parts of one whole figure, but two independent pieces that are just better together.








    I was so surprised that I liked this book so much because it is so thought provoking, emotional, raw, and very honest. A story about how important it is to move forward, and not allow ourselves to be stuck in the ways of the past. 




    Cannot wait to read more books from this author, definitely recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    THIS BOOK IS AAAAWWWWWEEEESSSSOOOOMMMEEEE!!!!

    Read this BOOK!!! Great character and depth. Makes you laugh, mad, sad, and cry so you know it's good lol! READ IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog [Ka

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    [Katie McGarry has] got the NA voice down and with her little sarcastic remarks here and there, she totally nailed the tortured teen voice. ~ Under the Covers

    Echo Emerson (what a name!) went from being the popular girl at school to an outsider. After one horrible night, she wakes up in a hospital, not remembering the details of the past night’s events or what has happened to her body. Scars riddle her arms but the experience was so traumatic that her mind shut down. Now, partially recovered and hoping to settle into school again, Echo tempers her demons with regular visits to a Clinical Social Worker, who coaxes her to remember that night’s events and also help her with day-to-day life.

    It just so happens that Noah Hutchins is also another student who visits Mrs. Collins as well. Though totally opposite in personality, both feels like freaks in an otherwise normal community. They have been through so much already that despite how much they try to fit in, they don’t. As Noah is bring tutored by Echo, they come to notice this attraction to one another that is slowly explored in this book. The path to their recovery and romance is a slow one. It’s more toned down than some of the other NA books I’ve read, though that doesn’t mean it’s any less touching or romantic. As Noah and Echo try to help each other, their attraction for one another just grows and grows until it almost seems evitable that they will get together. There were times when I thought the relationship moved to quickly, like when Echo leaves Luke and jumps right into a relationship with Noah and sometimes when it also moved at a glacier pace. Overall, it was a well-done, believable story.

    Noah’s story was particularly touching. I loved that he felt almost bursting with love for his brothers. It made him such an endearing character and made it so easy to fall in love with him.

    There was one person that I didn’t exactly like and that was Lila, Echo’s friend. She seemed to annoy me and I didn’t like how she kept trying to force her opinions on Echo on matters that weren’t really her business. Beth and Isisah, on the other hand, were great and I’m eager to know more about them both!

    Another thing I have to mention is McGarry’s writing. I love the way this book was written, with the alternating POVs between Noah and Echo, but I also really loved how she wrote both of their perspectives. I think she got the NA voice down and with her little sarcastic remarks here and there, she totally nailed the tortured teen voice. I look forward to reading more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    This review was originally posted on my blog Written By Brittan

    This review was originally posted on my blog Written By Brittan

    Pushing the Limits is a tear-jerking hypnotic book, that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the end of the book. Katie McGarry did a beautiful job writing this book. The story line and writing will blow you away.

    The point of view alternates between the two main characters, Echo and Noah. Echo and Noah's families and lives are in pieces. Echo's brother is dead, her parents are divorced, her mother is bi-polar, and her ex-babysitter is her step-mom. One horrible night at the end of her sophomore year that Echo can't even remember left her with scars on both of her arms. Noah's parents died in a fire the summer before his sophomore year, leaving him and his two younger brother in foster care. His brothers are in a different home then him, and he has limited visitation. After he graduates Noah is going to sue for custody of his brothers to put his family back together. Echo starts to tutor Noah the second semester of their senior year, and they fall for each other. But how do they fit in each others messed up lives?

    Katie McGarry's writing was so captivating. She traps you in the book and it's like you are right there in the book. The emotions of what the characters are going through is packed under each word. The alternating point of view was balanced perfectly, I was never wanting to go back to the other character after it switched.

    I loved everything about this book. Pushing the Limits is a beautiful and heartbreaking book, that is also beautifully written. I recommend this book to everyone who likes YA.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    5/5 stars

    5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Really AWESOME

    I got a free copy that was uncorrected and the summary on the back is a little different. Otherwise, the story is really good, i am trying to look for Katie McGarry's book: Dare you to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2014

    I read Dare You To back in June 2013, a little over a year go an

    I read Dare You To back in June 2013, a little over a year go and absolutely loved it. I couldn't put it down and it added Katie to my insta-buy list. So why did it take me over a year to read Pushing the Limits? I wish I knew, but it was definitely not one of my smartest decisions.




    Katie knows how to write! There's absolutely no question in my mind about that. Her characters are realistic, their issues are heartbreaking, and the romance is beyond swoon worthy. One of the things I love deeply about her characters is that they're flawed. I've read a couple contemporary romances where our MCs could do no wrong, but not these guys. I mean this in a good way! There were definitely scenes where I was yelling at Echo and/or Noah to not do what they were doing, but that's what makes them so real!




    Both Noah and Echo's backstories are hard to read. Noah's parents died in a fire and he and his two younger brother's (who are freaking adorable!) have been separated; Echo is suffering from being ostracized from her former friends (with the exception of Lila - love!) because of the scars on her arm and a lack of memory from what happened to her. It's a slow going process, in a good way, as these two slowly put each other back together.




    Katie really knows how to pull at your heartstrings and make you grin like an idiot at the smallest things in her novels - I know I look like a crazy person when I'm reading them, but I don't care. I love the romance between Noah and Echo and I cannot wait to read Breaking the Rules this December!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Justin here

    Anybody on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Hi

    Im hur for it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Arizona

    Wanna fuq

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11