Customer Reviews for

Pushing the Limits

Average Rating 4.5
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Almost perfect

The only thing that could have made it better would have been some hot sex. Or sex at all for that matter.

posted by 16705724 on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Bad.

Just not a good story. Sorry, author. The characters were two-dimensional and the dialogue totally unrealistic, especially Echo's father. Author tried way too hard to make her characters seem troubled and ostracized from society. Nothing remotely interesting about this ...
Just not a good story. Sorry, author. The characters were two-dimensional and the dialogue totally unrealistic, especially Echo's father. Author tried way too hard to make her characters seem troubled and ostracized from society. Nothing remotely interesting about this book. Waste of money and time. And the cover's really cheesy/hideous.

posted by Cup_of_doom on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Justin here

    Anybody on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Hi

    Im hur for it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Arizona

    Wanna fuq

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    Pushing The Limits was a good book.  Echo is dealing with the em

    Pushing The Limits was a good book.  Echo is dealing with the emotional trauma of a night she can't remember, yet can never forget
    because of the scars it left her with. Noah is dealing with the loss of his parents and trying to keep his brothers safe in foster care while
    he figures out a way to gain custody after turning 18. They both are dealing with new feelings for each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Best book ever!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Absolutely Amazing

    I loved this book! It kept me on my toes with new secrets and past info being revealed. I love the suspense between Noah and Echo. I love the conflicts with their families and their friends. I just love the book.
    I loved how Katie brought in characters from her other books. I found it amazing how she brought the characters to life and how she did it. She did an amazing job with Echo's family and every character.
    If you are thinking about buying this book, DO IT ALREADY.

    SPOILERS
    Loved how Katie included the awesome mysterious event of what happened to Echo and her mom that night. The way she wrote Echo meeting her mom face to face was absolutely a lovely written part.
    I feel that Katie writes and makes the characters' opinion distinctly theirs and yet mine. She convinced me that it was so wrong that Noah's brothers were not allowed to see him along with other opinions. But what I am trying to say is that whatever Noah and Echo felt, I felt it as if it were my own thought and feelings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Sarah

    I am in love with Noah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Valerie Book provided by contest win from The Revolv

    Reviewed by Valerie
    Book provided by contest win from The Revolving Bookcase
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book


    *spoilers in review*

    When I found out I was getting this book, I was excited and could not wait to start reading it. I was intrigued by the good girl/bad boy pairing but this book was SO much more than that and it is so worthy of the highest rating. Yes, it’s young adult, but mature young adult. The author did an excellent job of letting the characters be true to their nature, including drug use, profanity, and sexual situations.

    The author, Katie McGarry, wrote the story in such a way that you learn more and more about the main characters at the same time that they are learning about themselves. High school is confusing enough, but for Echo and Noah, it’s way more than that. They’ve both been hurt beyond belief. He lost his parents in a fire his sophomore year and she has scars running down the length of both arms with no idea how they got there. The only thing they have in common is a social worker at school who plays such an integral part of this story.

    When she pairs Noah and Echo together for tutoring, she’s trying to make sure Noah is keeping his grades up as he wants to get custody of his younger brothers and is also helping Echo make money to fix her dead brother’s car. These two instantly have chemistry but it’s much more than that when they both have such heartbreaking loss and memories in their personal lives.

    As the school year continues, Echo fights to regain her memories of how she got her scars, peer pressure to get back with an old boyfriend, and anger at her stepmother who was previously the family nanny. For Noah, the limited visitations with his brothers are painful and his entire world is focused on working to save money and getting them back as soon as he graduates.

    How they work through their problems, separately and together, equals four hundred pages of joy, despair, loneliness, and above all, hope. The characters will not leave you once you read the last page and I shed many a tear as I spent their senior year with them. A MUST READ for any mature readers who have had to deal with hardship and loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    An Irresistible Contemporary Romance  I love this book! It's th

    An Irresistible Contemporary Romance 

    I love this book! It's the type of contemporary romance I find irresistible. It's not really light, but it's not really depressing. It features two seemingly opposite characters with amazing chemistry who struggle with their feelings for each other throughout the novel. It has a good set of side characters—some add a touch of humor (Beth), and others add a heartwarming feel (Noah's brothers)—and some serious elements that I love to find in contemporary. 

    THE SECOND TIME AROUND

    I didn't write a review the first time I read Pushing the Limits. This was my first time reading it, and I have to admit that it wasn't quite as good the second time as it was the first time. I still loved it and the characters inside it and the story that was told, but after reading both Dare You To and Crash Into You, it didn't seem as good (I'm not changing my original rating, though). After going back to Katie McGarry's first book, I can definitely tell her writing and story telling has improved since she wrote it—which is a pretty darn good thing because she did such a good job with Pushing the Limits. 

    FAMILY ASPECT

    One of my favorite things about this book is the focus on family. Sure, it follows the whole "unsupportive parents" trend, but really, that's a part that is necessary for the story told. I really liked the change in Echo: she started off pretty much hating her dad and her stepmom, but she eventually learned to embrace the family she had and started making an effort to get closer with those who loved her. It was Noah's side of the family focus that I liked most, though. It was so sad seeing him constantly separated from his brothers—they were the only blood family he had left after his parents died, and they were in foster care. Throughout the entire book, I just wanted him to be able to spend five minutes alone with his brothers without someone watching and worrying he would do something wrong! I did like the final outcome of the situation with his brothers, and I really liked what it taught Noah. It taught him that often times, sacrifices are necessary. They are needed to make both himself and his loved ones happy. 

    OVERALL

    Pushing the Limits is my type of book. I often times say that contemporary is my favorite genre, but more specifically, it's this kind of contemporary romance that's my favorite. It's the kind that sweeps me away and makes me get lost in the story until it ends. It's the kind that pulls at my heartstrings, and often times my tear ducts, and makes me really feel for the characters. It's the kind that doesn't just focus on the main couple, but also on serious issues or elments and the growth individual characters' see when they have to face them.

    This book and the rest of Katie McGarry's are definitely worth reading, and I highly recommend them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    I loved this book it was freakin awesome!!!!!

    No words im spechless the words up there say it all:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A great teen read full of real-feeling characters facing their own demons

    Two broken people trying to find a way to put themselves and their world back together again. That, to me, is what Pushing the Limits gives to its readers and it is a sweet, heartbreaking, moving, fun, joyful and terrifying experience. Because no matter how hard you try, you can't change the past...and you have to move beyond it if you want a future. Pushing the Limits is very much a young adult novel rife with the "joys" of high-school drama from clicks to crushes to body image. Thankfully the story dove deeper, portraying both the sinister and sweet side of love and family, the trials of growing up and becoming your own person and the strength it takes to fight for the life you want. It took me a little while to get into the rhythm of reading Pushing the Limits. Having alternating chapters from Echo's and Noah's points of view broke my immersion in story a bit until I had a better handle on each of their personalities and stories. However, once I did get the rhythm down and had them both clicked into my mind, I really enjoyed the depth and byplay that the alternating point of view was able to give me. I feel it added greater complexity both to the story and to the characters themselves seeing the world from two vastly different sets of eyes. I experienced so many different emotions while reading Pushing the Limits it is hard to wrangle them all onto a page. It made me laugh, cry, swear and even took my breath away. With such providence it is easy to understand why I could give in nothing less than four bright and shiny stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome, totally completely beyond Awesome.. I wonder if we coul

    Awesome, totally completely beyond Awesome.. I wonder if we could come up with another term: breathtaking, awe-inspiring, magnificent, wonderful, amazing, stunning.. could we use anymore words??!!
    I knew I was missing out with this series, and I can not wait to start the second book. Hopefully, I can get caught up and be up-to-date with the series. I can not wait to see what will be in store for me as I take the journey to find out about Noah, Echo and all the others.
    The road of emotions you will ride through is so overwhelming, but I can promise you it is worth it. It is worth even the tears that will be shed, and the smiles that will broke through, I promise.
    Echo was pretty amazing. She has flaws, and issues. Throughout this book you will come to realize who she is, find out what black hole has been in her mind, she will also figure out how to find herself.
    Noah has a dark side, but he is also lost for many of reasons. He definitely values his family, and he doesn’t want nothing to stop his love for his brothers. I am glad he got to see the truth before the darkness took everything he ever wanted.
    Everyone in this book has a purpose/importance, and I loved watching the characters come together. I loved that life wasn’t perfect, people made mistakes, and love didn’t just happen. Love did happen, but it wasn’t the “swoon” love at first. I loved how they had to battle each other, and learn to let go before the other one could fall. Falling is not all about falling in love, but it is also about falling into getting to know yourself, your well-being and what makes you whole. Okay, enough of me rambling, just go get this series!

    “Let him be, Beth. Sometimes you can’t help who you fall for.” – Isiah ¿ Katie McGarry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Amazing!

    Heartbreaking and beautiful is the only way to describe the main characters. I read this one after reading crash into you and loved it....even though I prob should have read this one first! Its a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2013

    I have had a really difficult time sitting down and writing th



    I have had a really difficult time sitting down and writing this review because I feel like there's nothing I can say that will do this book justice. It was THAT good. It is gut-wrenching and heartbreaking, but it was such a great book about finding the true meaning of love and learning how to overcome traumatic past events.


    Katie McGarry was definitely not afraid to put her characters through the ringer. Which I found to be refreshing because sometimes life is just hard. Being a teenager who has had to grow up entirely too fast is hard.


    This book is written in both main characters points of view, which was awesome. We really get to see inside both of their heads and find out what they're thinking and feeling, which makes us readers feel that much more connected to these characters.


    We are first introduced to Echo, who has the weight of the world on her shoulders. She is being forced to see a counselor for her PTSD, over an event that she cannot remember. All she has to show for the event are scars on her arms, that make her very self-conscious, which is why she resorts to hiding them.


    Her family situation, while not as bad as others in this book, is still a tricky one. Her father is overbearing and overprotective, and is focused on her doing well in school and doing well on her ACT/SAT's so she can get into a good school. Her step-mother, formerly her baby-sitter, is pregnant and is portrayed as self-absorbed and flighty. Her brother was killed in Afghanistan and her mother is no longer in the picture.


    Echo's social life is also drastically different from the event. Having been popular, involved on the dance team, and dating the school hunk, Echo is now withdrawn and an outsider. Being a high school teacher myself, I see first hand how cruel kids can be to each other and how they talk and gossip about things they couldn't possibly understand. The kids do not know what happened to Echo, just that all of a sudden she disappeared and came back a different person who wears long sleeves or gloves to cover her arms. Of course, their first instincts are that she self-inflicted injuries upon herself or that she tried to commit suicide. Echo's friend Lila, however, has been there for her every step of the way, but I didn't like how she made it such a big deal for Echo to get back in the good graces of kids who should have stood by her regardless.


    Noah, our other main character, is first portrayed as an angry, rebellious teenager who is clearly upset by the system. He is known for using girls as well as drugs. Noah lost both of his parents to a fire and he and his two younger brothers were placed into the foster care system, thus splitting them up. Having gotten into trouble with his first foster family, Noah has not been allowed to see his two younger brothers. He is also seeing the same counselor as Echo, which is how they meet each other. Echo is tasked with tutoring Noah to help him improve his grades. Their relationship is quite rocky at first and it definitely was not an insta-love scenario. Echo knows the reputation Noah has, and Noah knows there's no way he could ever measure up to this smart, beautiful girl.


    McGarry has done an awesome job at slowly chipping away the layers of these two characters and watching them fall in love and learn to trust the other is an incredible journey. Even after they realize their feelings for each other, they both know that things are not as simple as believing that is is enough. Noah is fighting for the two people he loves most on this earth and Echo is battling the war within to help her reclaim her lost memory so she can find some kind of peace.


    You can't help but feel shattered for Echo who, after finally remembering what happened to her, truly feels like there is no one who loves her. My heart completely broke for her.


    As emotionally overloaded as I was at the end of this book, I feel that McGarry leaves you satisfied and full of hope for these two characters.


    Her next novel will be focused on Noah's best friend Beth, who we meet in this novel. Beth is a tough chick, who has a wrecked home life, so I can't wait to see where McGarry takes her in this next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I want to thank Harlequin Teen for providing me with a copy of t

    I want to thank Harlequin Teen for providing me with a copy of this book at BEA to read and review. I had heard such great things about this series, but I was not sure if I wanted to start it as I've had no luck with contemporary YA reads for a very long time. I'm so glad I picked this one up! Receiving this book for free has in no way influenced my opinion or review.




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with freaky scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.
    But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.
    Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again




    As I said, my track record with contemporary reads as of late has not been good. I've read so many and haven't been able to give any of them above a 3. So I went into this tentatively with the hope that I would at least like it and it would hold my interest I am SO glad I did! This book was fabulous! I really got drawn into Echo and Noah's story and was routing for their love though out!




    I love this cover. Not only do I love this cover, but I love that you can take off the dust jacket and it is printed right on the actual book. It's GORGEOUS! I have never seen a book like this before. It makes me just want to touch it!




    What can I say about the characters in this book except that I love them. McGarry does such a great job with developing them and making them so realistic that you just can't help but be drawn in by them!
    Echo, she's an interesting girl. She has her secrets, secrets she doesn't even know because she doesn't remember what they are! She is so complicated. You want her to remember, but at the same time you know it will cause her pain. And she seems to be going through so much pain already you really don't want her to experience it! So she keeps to herself, although she does have a few friends, and doesn't let anyone in. That is until she begins to interact with Noah, and is completely dean to him. But her damage prevents her from opening up to him and letting him in for the most part, despite the fact that he wants to know her and what she's about. I was able to completely connect with her and understand her actions.
    Noah, well he's the good boy gone bad. Also plagued by a tragic past, he allows himself to be seen as this bad boy who does what he wants when he wants without thinking how the consequences will effect others. But he's broken and really his motive is just to mend his wounds by making sure what he has left of his family is ok. He's fiercely protective and this lends to his charm that draws him to echo. He wants to protect her and understand her. His intentions for both his brothers and Echo are pure, even if a bit misguided.
    And the secondary characters are just awesome. I love Isaiah and Beth, even though I don't get much from them. And it would be nice to know more about Echo's friends.




    The plot moves along swiftly. There are no slow spots. No spots where I wanted to put the book down or where I rolled my eyes. Did I think sometimes Echo and Noah's reactions were over the top, maybe a bit. But given their tragic pasts, I can understand how they might react at they do. I'm still not sure this would necessarily happen in real life. I haven't been a teen for a very long time so what do I know of from their reactions? I know they can be very over the top at times, so such reactions would not surprise me. And we see some major growth and development from both characters throughout the book, which lends to their likability. They become stronger and more resilient as the book progresses and this makes you want to see their story through more and more.




    As for McGarry's writing, well, it's really quite phenomenal. There are no information dumps, things are slowly revealed as you need to know them. She unfolds the story in such a way as to keep you interested and totally curious as to where the characters will end up. I enjoyed watching McGarry show Noah and Echo grow and change and realize they have control over their destinies if only they take the reigns. I love that McGarry chose to give us both Noah and Echo's POVs. It was nice to watch them interact that way and really demonstrated how important it is to see each character through more than one set of eyes!




    Overall I truly loved this read. Why the 4 stores, because despite being able to relate to the characters, I did find there was something missing with them, though I can't put my finger on it. Would I recommend this book, absolutely. Would I read other books by this author, no doubt in my mind. McGarry has certainly opened my eyes to what a great contemporary YA read can actually look like!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    great!!!!

    Loved this...im a MAJOR romantic and this book was great!! Loved pretty much everything. Definately get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Great

    This is a very good book. I love how it goes back and forth between the two characters. It doesnt go all the way back to the problem in his or her pov.... I think 13 and up should read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Amazing

    All too often authors force these bad situations to the point it becomes impossible to believe any of it. I didn't feel that way while reading this amazing story. The story was well written and I found that I cared deeply for both Echo and Noah which is as it should be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Ok i am 12 and i luv this book

    Ok so i know that their are some parts that are not for my age but i am on a 10th grade reading level and i am in 6th grade. But i love the romance and i luv how it has so many diffrent turns in it i never will stop rereading this book it is amazing. I enjoyed it so much i am a person that loves love storys i just fall for them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11