Customer Reviews for

Pushing the Limits

Average Rating 4.5
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Almost perfect

The only thing that could have made it better would have been some hot sex. Or sex at all for that matter.

posted by 16705724 on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Bad.

Just not a good story. Sorry, author. The characters were two-dimensional and the dialogue totally unrealistic, especially Echo's father. Author tried way too hard to make her characters seem troubled and ostracized from society. Nothing remotely interesting about this ...
Just not a good story. Sorry, author. The characters were two-dimensional and the dialogue totally unrealistic, especially Echo's father. Author tried way too hard to make her characters seem troubled and ostracized from society. Nothing remotely interesting about this book. Waste of money and time. And the cover's really cheesy/hideous.

posted by Cup_of_doom on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2014

    i love this book!!!!!!! there is NO SEX in the book but it does

    i love this book!!!!!!! there is NO SEX in the book but it does have sad/emotional parts, its a great book but I would have loved an epilogue. other than that it was a PERFECT BOOK. this is one of those books I could not put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    Dawnlight

    "Ok." She smiles. Brb i rp a lot of places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    Rebekstar

    Gtgtbbbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Best book I've ever read! I would recommend to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    :-)

    ASFGYRHKCRJSHTSXBWAGUECNUQSJOKFRCNWKI


    Lets face it, that is the most accuarte review for this book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Don't let the cover fool you...

    This is not a typical teen romance. Katie McGarry is an exceptional storyteller whose characters face such real-life issues as family dysfunction, foster care, abuse, and drug usage, yet still retain their humanity in the face of darkness. I enjoyed reading Pushing the Limits and look forward to reading more from Mrs. McGarry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Wonderful

    A great summer read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    5/5 stars

    5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Really AWESOME

    I got a free copy that was uncorrected and the summary on the back is a little different. Otherwise, the story is really good, i am trying to look for Katie McGarry's book: Dare you to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2014

    I read Dare You To back in June 2013, a little over a year go an

    I read Dare You To back in June 2013, a little over a year go and absolutely loved it. I couldn't put it down and it added Katie to my insta-buy list. So why did it take me over a year to read Pushing the Limits? I wish I knew, but it was definitely not one of my smartest decisions.




    Katie knows how to write! There's absolutely no question in my mind about that. Her characters are realistic, their issues are heartbreaking, and the romance is beyond swoon worthy. One of the things I love deeply about her characters is that they're flawed. I've read a couple contemporary romances where our MCs could do no wrong, but not these guys. I mean this in a good way! There were definitely scenes where I was yelling at Echo and/or Noah to not do what they were doing, but that's what makes them so real!




    Both Noah and Echo's backstories are hard to read. Noah's parents died in a fire and he and his two younger brother's (who are freaking adorable!) have been separated; Echo is suffering from being ostracized from her former friends (with the exception of Lila - love!) because of the scars on her arm and a lack of memory from what happened to her. It's a slow going process, in a good way, as these two slowly put each other back together.




    Katie really knows how to pull at your heartstrings and make you grin like an idiot at the smallest things in her novels - I know I look like a crazy person when I'm reading them, but I don't care. I love the romance between Noah and Echo and I cannot wait to read Breaking the Rules this December!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Justin here

    Anybody on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Hi

    Im hur for it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Arizona

    Wanna fuq

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    Pushing The Limits was a good book.  Echo is dealing with the em

    Pushing The Limits was a good book.  Echo is dealing with the emotional trauma of a night she can't remember, yet can never forget
    because of the scars it left her with. Noah is dealing with the loss of his parents and trying to keep his brothers safe in foster care while
    he figures out a way to gain custody after turning 18. They both are dealing with new feelings for each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Best book ever!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Absolutely Amazing

    I loved this book! It kept me on my toes with new secrets and past info being revealed. I love the suspense between Noah and Echo. I love the conflicts with their families and their friends. I just love the book.
    I loved how Katie brought in characters from her other books. I found it amazing how she brought the characters to life and how she did it. She did an amazing job with Echo's family and every character.
    If you are thinking about buying this book, DO IT ALREADY.

    SPOILERS
    Loved how Katie included the awesome mysterious event of what happened to Echo and her mom that night. The way she wrote Echo meeting her mom face to face was absolutely a lovely written part.
    I feel that Katie writes and makes the characters' opinion distinctly theirs and yet mine. She convinced me that it was so wrong that Noah's brothers were not allowed to see him along with other opinions. But what I am trying to say is that whatever Noah and Echo felt, I felt it as if it were my own thought and feelings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Sarah

    I am in love with Noah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Valerie Book provided by contest win from The Revolv

    Reviewed by Valerie
    Book provided by contest win from The Revolving Bookcase
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book


    *spoilers in review*

    When I found out I was getting this book, I was excited and could not wait to start reading it. I was intrigued by the good girl/bad boy pairing but this book was SO much more than that and it is so worthy of the highest rating. Yes, it’s young adult, but mature young adult. The author did an excellent job of letting the characters be true to their nature, including drug use, profanity, and sexual situations.

    The author, Katie McGarry, wrote the story in such a way that you learn more and more about the main characters at the same time that they are learning about themselves. High school is confusing enough, but for Echo and Noah, it’s way more than that. They’ve both been hurt beyond belief. He lost his parents in a fire his sophomore year and she has scars running down the length of both arms with no idea how they got there. The only thing they have in common is a social worker at school who plays such an integral part of this story.

    When she pairs Noah and Echo together for tutoring, she’s trying to make sure Noah is keeping his grades up as he wants to get custody of his younger brothers and is also helping Echo make money to fix her dead brother’s car. These two instantly have chemistry but it’s much more than that when they both have such heartbreaking loss and memories in their personal lives.

    As the school year continues, Echo fights to regain her memories of how she got her scars, peer pressure to get back with an old boyfriend, and anger at her stepmother who was previously the family nanny. For Noah, the limited visitations with his brothers are painful and his entire world is focused on working to save money and getting them back as soon as he graduates.

    How they work through their problems, separately and together, equals four hundred pages of joy, despair, loneliness, and above all, hope. The characters will not leave you once you read the last page and I shed many a tear as I spent their senior year with them. A MUST READ for any mature readers who have had to deal with hardship and loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    An Irresistible Contemporary Romance  I love this book! It's th

    An Irresistible Contemporary Romance 

    I love this book! It's the type of contemporary romance I find irresistible. It's not really light, but it's not really depressing. It features two seemingly opposite characters with amazing chemistry who struggle with their feelings for each other throughout the novel. It has a good set of side characters—some add a touch of humor (Beth), and others add a heartwarming feel (Noah's brothers)—and some serious elements that I love to find in contemporary. 

    THE SECOND TIME AROUND

    I didn't write a review the first time I read Pushing the Limits. This was my first time reading it, and I have to admit that it wasn't quite as good the second time as it was the first time. I still loved it and the characters inside it and the story that was told, but after reading both Dare You To and Crash Into You, it didn't seem as good (I'm not changing my original rating, though). After going back to Katie McGarry's first book, I can definitely tell her writing and story telling has improved since she wrote it—which is a pretty darn good thing because she did such a good job with Pushing the Limits. 

    FAMILY ASPECT

    One of my favorite things about this book is the focus on family. Sure, it follows the whole "unsupportive parents" trend, but really, that's a part that is necessary for the story told. I really liked the change in Echo: she started off pretty much hating her dad and her stepmom, but she eventually learned to embrace the family she had and started making an effort to get closer with those who loved her. It was Noah's side of the family focus that I liked most, though. It was so sad seeing him constantly separated from his brothers—they were the only blood family he had left after his parents died, and they were in foster care. Throughout the entire book, I just wanted him to be able to spend five minutes alone with his brothers without someone watching and worrying he would do something wrong! I did like the final outcome of the situation with his brothers, and I really liked what it taught Noah. It taught him that often times, sacrifices are necessary. They are needed to make both himself and his loved ones happy. 

    OVERALL

    Pushing the Limits is my type of book. I often times say that contemporary is my favorite genre, but more specifically, it's this kind of contemporary romance that's my favorite. It's the kind that sweeps me away and makes me get lost in the story until it ends. It's the kind that pulls at my heartstrings, and often times my tear ducts, and makes me really feel for the characters. It's the kind that doesn't just focus on the main couple, but also on serious issues or elments and the growth individual characters' see when they have to face them.

    This book and the rest of Katie McGarry's are definitely worth reading, and I highly recommend them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    I loved this book it was freakin awesome!!!!!

    No words im spechless the words up there say it all:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12