BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pushing the Limits

Average Rating 4.5
( 216 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Almost perfect

The only thing that could have made it better would have been some hot sex. Or sex at all for that matter.

posted by 16705724 on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Bad.

Just not a good story. Sorry, author. The characters were two-dimensional and the dialogue totally unrealistic, especially Echo's father. Author tried way too hard to make her characters seem troubled and ostracized from society. Nothing remotely interesting about this ...
Just not a good story. Sorry, author. The characters were two-dimensional and the dialogue totally unrealistic, especially Echo's father. Author tried way too hard to make her characters seem troubled and ostracized from society. Nothing remotely interesting about this book. Waste of money and time. And the cover's really cheesy/hideous.

posted by Cup_of_doom on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Pushing the Limits

    The story follows teenagers Echo and Noah who have both have had traumas. Echo can't remember the night where she got her scars on her arms from. Noah is a foster kid who just wants his brothers back. They both just want to be normal. Throughout the story, they grow close, fall in love, and try to help one another with their problems. Pushing the Limits is about love, loss, forgiveness, and moving forward with life.

    This book is a quick read. Pretty good book, although it lacked in the sense of getting me to feel what was happening with the characters. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a quicck read or is bored. I'd also recommend it to anyone who is going througgh a bad time in their life and wants to read about how two people get through their problems. This book is NOT for younger kids. It contains bad lauguage, drugs, and mentions sex throught the story. The narrirator switched between Echo and Noah throughout the story, which made it confusing at times but overall it was nice to see from both of their prospectives.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Pushing the Limits is a very very good book. Kate McGarry was ab

    Pushing the Limits is a very very good book. Kate McGarry was able to bring two broken people together in a way that really worked. you know that feeling where you're reading a book, but you don't even feel like you're reading anymore because the story is so vivid in your mind ? well, that's what happened to me and Pushing the Limits. Echo is such a fitting name and Noah Hutchins is a perfect "bad boy" type of person. I only wish I could portray my characters as well as McGarry did. I'm really glad I was able to read this =D

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog [Ka

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    [Katie McGarry has] got the NA voice down and with her little sarcastic remarks here and there, she totally nailed the tortured teen voice. ~ Under the Covers

    Echo Emerson (what a name!) went from being the popular girl at school to an outsider. After one horrible night, she wakes up in a hospital, not remembering the details of the past night’s events or what has happened to her body. Scars riddle her arms but the experience was so traumatic that her mind shut down. Now, partially recovered and hoping to settle into school again, Echo tempers her demons with regular visits to a Clinical Social Worker, who coaxes her to remember that night’s events and also help her with day-to-day life.

    It just so happens that Noah Hutchins is also another student who visits Mrs. Collins as well. Though totally opposite in personality, both feels like freaks in an otherwise normal community. They have been through so much already that despite how much they try to fit in, they don’t. As Noah is bring tutored by Echo, they come to notice this attraction to one another that is slowly explored in this book. The path to their recovery and romance is a slow one. It’s more toned down than some of the other NA books I’ve read, though that doesn’t mean it’s any less touching or romantic. As Noah and Echo try to help each other, their attraction for one another just grows and grows until it almost seems evitable that they will get together. There were times when I thought the relationship moved to quickly, like when Echo leaves Luke and jumps right into a relationship with Noah and sometimes when it also moved at a glacier pace. Overall, it was a well-done, believable story.

    Noah’s story was particularly touching. I loved that he felt almost bursting with love for his brothers. It made him such an endearing character and made it so easy to fall in love with him.

    There was one person that I didn’t exactly like and that was Lila, Echo’s friend. She seemed to annoy me and I didn’t like how she kept trying to force her opinions on Echo on matters that weren’t really her business. Beth and Isisah, on the other hand, were great and I’m eager to know more about them both!

    Another thing I have to mention is McGarry’s writing. I love the way this book was written, with the alternating POVs between Noah and Echo, but I also really loved how she wrote both of their perspectives. I think she got the NA voice down and with her little sarcastic remarks here and there, she totally nailed the tortured teen voice. I look forward to reading more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    Pushing The Limits was a good book.  Echo is dealing with the em

    Pushing The Limits was a good book.  Echo is dealing with the emotional trauma of a night she can't remember, yet can never forget
    because of the scars it left her with. Noah is dealing with the loss of his parents and trying to keep his brothers safe in foster care while
    he figures out a way to gain custody after turning 18. They both are dealing with new feelings for each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Absolutely Amazing

    I loved this book! It kept me on my toes with new secrets and past info being revealed. I love the suspense between Noah and Echo. I love the conflicts with their families and their friends. I just love the book.
    I loved how Katie brought in characters from her other books. I found it amazing how she brought the characters to life and how she did it. She did an amazing job with Echo's family and every character.
    If you are thinking about buying this book, DO IT ALREADY.

    SPOILERS
    Loved how Katie included the awesome mysterious event of what happened to Echo and her mom that night. The way she wrote Echo meeting her mom face to face was absolutely a lovely written part.
    I feel that Katie writes and makes the characters' opinion distinctly theirs and yet mine. She convinced me that it was so wrong that Noah's brothers were not allowed to see him along with other opinions. But what I am trying to say is that whatever Noah and Echo felt, I felt it as if it were my own thought and feelings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A great teen read full of real-feeling characters facing their own demons

    Two broken people trying to find a way to put themselves and their world back together again. That, to me, is what Pushing the Limits gives to its readers and it is a sweet, heartbreaking, moving, fun, joyful and terrifying experience. Because no matter how hard you try, you can't change the past...and you have to move beyond it if you want a future. Pushing the Limits is very much a young adult novel rife with the "joys" of high-school drama from clicks to crushes to body image. Thankfully the story dove deeper, portraying both the sinister and sweet side of love and family, the trials of growing up and becoming your own person and the strength it takes to fight for the life you want. It took me a little while to get into the rhythm of reading Pushing the Limits. Having alternating chapters from Echo's and Noah's points of view broke my immersion in story a bit until I had a better handle on each of their personalities and stories. However, once I did get the rhythm down and had them both clicked into my mind, I really enjoyed the depth and byplay that the alternating point of view was able to give me. I feel it added greater complexity both to the story and to the characters themselves seeing the world from two vastly different sets of eyes. I experienced so many different emotions while reading Pushing the Limits it is hard to wrangle them all onto a page. It made me laugh, cry, swear and even took my breath away. With such providence it is easy to understand why I could give in nothing less than four bright and shiny stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I want to thank Harlequin Teen for providing me with a copy of t

    I want to thank Harlequin Teen for providing me with a copy of this book at BEA to read and review. I had heard such great things about this series, but I was not sure if I wanted to start it as I've had no luck with contemporary YA reads for a very long time. I'm so glad I picked this one up! Receiving this book for free has in no way influenced my opinion or review.




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with freaky scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.
    But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.
    Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again




    As I said, my track record with contemporary reads as of late has not been good. I've read so many and haven't been able to give any of them above a 3. So I went into this tentatively with the hope that I would at least like it and it would hold my interest I am SO glad I did! This book was fabulous! I really got drawn into Echo and Noah's story and was routing for their love though out!




    I love this cover. Not only do I love this cover, but I love that you can take off the dust jacket and it is printed right on the actual book. It's GORGEOUS! I have never seen a book like this before. It makes me just want to touch it!




    What can I say about the characters in this book except that I love them. McGarry does such a great job with developing them and making them so realistic that you just can't help but be drawn in by them!
    Echo, she's an interesting girl. She has her secrets, secrets she doesn't even know because she doesn't remember what they are! She is so complicated. You want her to remember, but at the same time you know it will cause her pain. And she seems to be going through so much pain already you really don't want her to experience it! So she keeps to herself, although she does have a few friends, and doesn't let anyone in. That is until she begins to interact with Noah, and is completely dean to him. But her damage prevents her from opening up to him and letting him in for the most part, despite the fact that he wants to know her and what she's about. I was able to completely connect with her and understand her actions.
    Noah, well he's the good boy gone bad. Also plagued by a tragic past, he allows himself to be seen as this bad boy who does what he wants when he wants without thinking how the consequences will effect others. But he's broken and really his motive is just to mend his wounds by making sure what he has left of his family is ok. He's fiercely protective and this lends to his charm that draws him to echo. He wants to protect her and understand her. His intentions for both his brothers and Echo are pure, even if a bit misguided.
    And the secondary characters are just awesome. I love Isaiah and Beth, even though I don't get much from them. And it would be nice to know more about Echo's friends.




    The plot moves along swiftly. There are no slow spots. No spots where I wanted to put the book down or where I rolled my eyes. Did I think sometimes Echo and Noah's reactions were over the top, maybe a bit. But given their tragic pasts, I can understand how they might react at they do. I'm still not sure this would necessarily happen in real life. I haven't been a teen for a very long time so what do I know of from their reactions? I know they can be very over the top at times, so such reactions would not surprise me. And we see some major growth and development from both characters throughout the book, which lends to their likability. They become stronger and more resilient as the book progresses and this makes you want to see their story through more and more.




    As for McGarry's writing, well, it's really quite phenomenal. There are no information dumps, things are slowly revealed as you need to know them. She unfolds the story in such a way as to keep you interested and totally curious as to where the characters will end up. I enjoyed watching McGarry show Noah and Echo grow and change and realize they have control over their destinies if only they take the reigns. I love that McGarry chose to give us both Noah and Echo's POVs. It was nice to watch them interact that way and really demonstrated how important it is to see each character through more than one set of eyes!




    Overall I truly loved this read. Why the 4 stores, because despite being able to relate to the characters, I did find there was something missing with them, though I can't put my finger on it. Would I recommend this book, absolutely. Would I read other books by this author, no doubt in my mind. McGarry has certainly opened my eyes to what a great contemporary YA read can actually look like!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    great!!!!

    Loved this...im a MAJOR romantic and this book was great!! Loved pretty much everything. Definately get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book!

    This book was a great young adult read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Echo Emerson used to be one of the popular girls. Talented in ar

    Echo Emerson used to be one of the popular girls. Talented in art, with long gorgeous red hair, the tall girl with the interesting name had the quarterback boyfriend and everything it seemed.
    Then there was the night her mother tried to kill her. Echo has no memories of the evening, but the scars that grace her arms will never let her forget. Now an outcast, with an even more over bearing father, due to have a new baby with Echo’s former babysitter – yeah- it’s not as if her life could get any worse.
    Noah Hutchins is a product of the foster care system. Dark and foreboding, he’s shed his basketball star rep for drugs and looking every evening for a new one night stand. His only pressure for getting on the straight and narrow are his younger brothers, taken from him after his parent’s tragic death.
    Brought together but their pesky guidance counsellor, Echo and Noah try to repel each other until they discover how much they’ve lost. Both have secrets, both are so alone. But together they could find the answers that will help them move on from their haunting past.
    This is fantastic romance YA! A round of applause for McGarry and Harlequin! I loved how this book was the perfect blend of teenage angst and toned down traditional adult romance novel. Only disclaimer – lots of foul language, so not for tweens.
    This is a romance with heart. This is falling in love that isn’t clichéd, cheesy or unrealistic. There is vulnerability with both of the characters and their back-stories are engagingly brilliant! Ridiculous and fantastic – Pushing the Limits is a true romance book that is so much more than just the love of two lead characters. The love of family is stronger and I can’t recommend this book enough for romance junkies!
    The rest of the series follows Noah’s best friends lives in separate books. I love the idea and can’t wait for the last book to be published in the fall!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Great book!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    :)

    I really enjoyed this book. It would have been a 5 star for me if it had a little heat to it. Over all a very good book! I loved Noah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    If I could count the books I¿ve read that actually had realistic

    If I could count the books I’ve read that actually had realistic events, events about everyday life, and heartbreaking moments between family, friends, and lovers. They can be counted with both my hands. Yes, I tend to stay away from books that show you how life is for some people because well, I read to escape reality and to dive into fantasy and the supernatural. Because I know they’re not real and they rarely remind me of how hard life is for other people.

    So, I took a chance and read Pushing the Limits, which is about Echo who almost lost her life to her mentally ill mother and Noah who is thrown into the foster system that separated him and his brothers when his parents past away in a fire.

    Honestly, it’s refreshing to read something new once in a while, though this is still teen. But it's a book with depth and raw emotion. It’s not really teenage angst caused by petty things like a break-up with a week relationship. But real depression caused by memory loss, death, and posttraumatic stress disorder.

    I loved the main characters, they were easy to like and form an attachment to. Then there are the antagonists they have in their normal lives, which were their parents, the foster system, teachers, etc.

    The best thing about this book was that it was captivating. No matter how many times I had to put it down because of work or the need to sleep. I just couldn’t and the facts that held touchy topics like a bi-polar parent, death in the family, the foster system, mental illnesses and many other themes.

    I absolutely loved the writing style; it was clean, crisp and had a perfect balance of detail and dialogue. The parts of the books that really touched me, was the scenes between Noah and his brothers. They were separated by the foster system and Noah wants nothing more than to take back his brothers from their foster parents before they force his brothers to forget about him. If I was separated from my younger and older sibling, I wouldn’t know what to do.

    Overall, I loved the book. It was a Contemporary Romances that really stood out amongst hundreds that were released in 2012. It is heart-wrenching and beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    I give this book a solid 4.5 review. This book had me moved to t

    I give this book a solid 4.5 review. This book had me moved to tears at certain points, blushing, laughing out loud, and just outright made my heart swell. The ending was brilliant and didnt leave me feeling sad that the story was done, like most book, but instead left me enormously satisfied with how things were left. I expected to be very depressed and upset after finishing this book because most books about these types of problems usually end with very a bittersweet type of feeling, but if anything, you'll be giving something realistic yet hopeful without the sadness that comes with knowing that you won't be reading about these characters anymore. The plot was pretty good, it kept me on my toes in a sense and had a bit of an aura of mystery, and the character development could have been worked on a little more, but it was better than many other books ive read lately. The only thing i would truly critique about the book would be that the author made things a little too overly dramatic for my taste. It felt like everything was forgiven and forgotten a little too conveniently, but not in a way that made me cringe. The romance is absolutely going to make you blush and giggle and wonder if there are Noahs out there in the world and where you can go out and buy one. I also liked that the author did it from Noah's point of view, which really addad a little flare to the story. Overall, great storyline and plot, the message at the end was clearly received, the romance is off the charts hot and definitely worth getting into, and the characters are likable and relatable throughout most of the book. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Loved it

    Very emotional read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Loved it!

    Very enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Pushing the limits

    This was a great book. This is coming from someone who reads all the time. I am completley in love with Echo and Noah.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Awesome

    Easy read that tugs about your heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Echo and Noah are two prickly characters. Yet, I ended up loving

    Echo and Noah are two prickly characters. Yet, I ended up loving them both. They’ve both endured unspeakable tragedy. Making their circumstances even more tragic, Echo can’t remember the details of the night her life really changed and Noah’s life keeps punching him in the gut again and again. Neither wants anyone to get close because that can only lead to hurt. So Echo tries to be invisible and Noah lives up to his pothead/love ‘em, leave ‘em reputation. However, as they get to know one another they find allies and confidants, plus an undeniable attraction. 




    Ms. McGarry covers a lot of topics in this novel. There is bipolarism, the war in Afghanistan, death, and issues within child protective services. She does so beautifully. I was drawn into these characters’ lives and felt emotionally invested in them. I cheered for Echo and Noah. In each other they’ve found a person they can trust which enables them to move on with their lives. I was happy that Echo found her truths and survived them. They were some extremely difficult truths and memories. I was also pleased with the resolution between Noah and his brothers. I think what resonates with me most is Echo’s and Noah’s willingness to endure so much, even the unknown, to feel normal and to know love. 




    And, of course, I can’t go without mentioning the supporting cast of characters. Even though they weren’t all likeable, they were all well developed and added a lot of depth to the story. I will definitely read more of Katie McGarry’s work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3