Customer Reviews for

Put on Your Crown: Life-Changing Moments on the Path to Queendom

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Moments

    Queen Latifah's "Put On Your Crown - Life Changing Moments on the Path to Queendom" is an impressive read geared towards young ladies. I love how Queen shares tidbits from her personal life and experiences in order to help not only inspire and uplift, but teach others how imperative it is for them to take pride in who they are.

    Parents, mentors and neighbors who are looking for something positive to share with their daughters, nieces, cousins and other young women, I highly recommend "Put On Your Crown."

    Celebrate. Make every moment count. Walk tall. Wear your crown with pride.

    Reviewed by: Crystal

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Act Like the Queen You Are

    Oscar-nominated, Grammy-award-winning actress and hip hop royalty Queen Latifah just released her second self-help book, Put On Your Crown: Life-Changing Moments on the Path to Queendom, last month (Ladies First was her first book, with Karen Hunter). In it, the first hip hop artist on the Walk of Fame takes just under 200 pages to discuss her career strides and life lessons as "a series of moments." I agree with the sentiments mentioned in her introduction about how young women seem to have low morale and self-esteem in this country. I hope that this book combined with her celebrity will lift some of the negativity that females inflict on themselves and other females, especially Black females.

    I read this book in a few hours, and enjoyed its conversational tone and simplistic chapter titles (e.g., "Beauty," "Money," "Joy"). Latifah covers several topics, relating her own career and experiences to life lessons that we all can apply.

    The recurring theme I took from this book overall is to enjoy the simple pleasures of life and not take them for granted-especially when it comes to everyday moments with loved ones. If you want to read some more highlights, thoughts and spoilers about this book, check out my blog, dareesinsights [dot] wordpress [dot] com.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Very Inspirational

    This is a great book! Could be very useful in working with young women.
    Some great lesson for all ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Incredible 5 star

    Even though you are not perfect god made you to be perfect and he giving you these moments to find out who you are and how you let people challenge you. Give yourself a chance in your one lifetime and see if you can set examples for others because you have learned from yours. This will really keep the disease rate down. Especially for the young teenagers( girls)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Good book

    And good actor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ!

    The Queen has done it--written a book which will inspire us all to take what we are given in life and use those things to do our best, be our best, and look for the best in other people. While the book may be marketed as an autobiography or memoir, I see it more as a self-help manual. Queen Latifah lets us into the dark corners of her life, from living in the projects to having no money even after she had achieved greatness in her musical career to the death of her beloved brother. She also tells us of the joys in her life and reminds us that the joys are the things we need to hold on to. While the book is aimed at females, men can benefit from reading it as well. There is such an uplifting message that we all CAN be queens; we just need to believe in ourselves. Although there is language in the story which may be inappropriate for some readers, Queen Latifah's words can make a big impact on teen girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Most encouraging book i have ever read

    Most encouraging book i have ever read. It really speaks out to all women. Lets you know that no matter what everythign will work itself out and everything happens for a reason! Would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    A good short book

    This is a good short read for the ladys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Life lessons that we can all use!

    While I don't necessarily think of myself as a young woman anymore (which is who the book is geared towards) I do think that this book contains lessons that any woman, and even men, should learn. The basic ideas of the book are love yourself for who you are, take time to care for yourself first, and love the people around you for who they are.

    I've always liked Queen Latifah. She's always seemed to me to be fairly grounded. I think my favorite thing about this book is that she proves to the reader that she's just a normal person. She makes mistakes, she's not perfect, and she realizes that. I think she's a great role model. (Side note I LOVE her fashion sense. I have for a while, but my love for her eye was solidified when I read How to Never Look Fat Again and it says something to the effect that if you're a plus size woman dress like Queen Latifah, she knows what she's doing.)

    I've been going through some tough times mentally in the last year or so and reading this book did help me. While it's mostly stuff I already knew (like I said it's geared for young women, and I have left that arena a bit ago) it was information that I needed to remind myself. Somehow reading that "The Queen" was and had been going through some of the same things really helped me find the strength I needed to kick my own butt and get myself back on track again.

    If you're having some self doubt, about anything in your life pick this one up. If you know a young woman pass it along. It can't hurt to try and teach a young woman the lessons we've all had to learn the hard way! It also could be beneficial for some young men. It's written for a woman, but I think the lessons are great for men or women.

    A review copy of this book was provided by the publisher. This is not a paid review and is a truthful and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    AAMBC Book Reviews

    We all know and love Queen latifah from inspiring lyrics, funny movies, and ground breaking work in front of and behind the camera. Proudly we can extraordinary and inspirational author to her list of accomplishments. Latifah paints a vivid picture of trail and tribulation by us through her personal journal. Tackling issues such as body image, becoming a female MC, fling for bankruptcy, lover her mother, and learning to lover herself. Latifah doesnt sugar coat her life and keeps it real and relatable. A great read for all ages.

    Minolta White
    AAMBC Reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2