Customer Reviews for

Putting Makeup on the Fat Boy

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it! Carlos is often over-the-top flamboyant, a gay teen w

    Loved it! Carlos is often over-the-top flamboyant, a gay teen who knows who he is and is ok with others knowing it. He has a dream of being a makeup artist to the stars and there is a possibility of a job at Macys that will lead him toward that goal. His antics made me laugh. The storyline with his friend, Soroya, seems to end abrubtly--was there no making up between the two? Although things really fell into place for Carlos and his career, they seemed to do so a bit too conveniently. However, the book is definitely one of my favorite reads this summer and I am sure my students will check it out immediately. Well done, Mr. Wright!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Anonymous

    Carlos has sass, a friend I wish I had. This book is inspirational im a quiet, cheerful way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Be who you are, wear what you want, just learn how to run real fast

    I thought the title too irresistable to give this book a chance - and I will have to say that it was a rather delightful sort of read. Imagine if Marc St. James from Ugly Betty gave his own backstory - and I think you will be able to picture Carlos perfectly! He was sassy, confident, and just a perfect blend of ambitious and niceness to make for a likeable main character.

    I am not a makeup fiend (.well, maybe I dabble in eyeshadows like a regular Bob Ross), but the enthusiasm that exudes from Carlos as he lands a job at a Macy's cosmetics counter is all but infectious. I think anyone who has any retail experience can appreciate the challenge of handling a moody, self-centered boss and learning how to make ornery customers feel beautiful again.

    I did appreciate that Carlos came from a low-income family, and he struggled to help his family make ends meet. So many books seem to have characters who live charmed lives where they don't have to worry about food or meeting rent, and this story element brought more tension to Putting Makeup On The Fat Boy than what would have been if Carlos had been born to riches.

    As enjoyable as watching Carlos walk the path toward his dream career, there were a few bumps in the road that seemed a little too disconnected with the ultimate goal. Of course, no road traveled should be without detours and obstructions, but I did not think enough time had been spent on them - and these projects were left unfinished or else with an less-than-desirable ending. Perhaps I have read too many happy-ever-afters, but even the unhappy-ever-afters seemed not fully realized when I reached the end.

    Putting Makeup On The Fat Boy is a charming read, despite the title that sounds a bit rude, and Carlos embraces himself with as much joie de vivre as the cast of Ugly Betty does. A sequel would be very welcomed in my mind since there were a few loose ties that I thought still needed closure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Bad book

    Not good

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Carlos Duarte is a 15 year old that is very talented in the make

    Carlos Duarte is a 15 year old that is very talented in the makeup department. He started at the age of twelve, when he was doing his mother’s makeup for a parent-teacher conference. His mom never wanted to tell other that her son did her makeup. Rosalia his sister, though he had a talent that needed to be shared. He always helped others in school with their makeup; Rosalia is not the only one that thought he was gifted in the arts of cosmetics. Carlos has a best friend Angie who had the bright idea that he would be able to get a job as a makeup artist at the Feature Face counter at Macy’s. He had only thought of that in his wildest of dreams, but he helped everyone with their makeup from girls to Goths. But the only way he was to obtain this job was with a fake reference.
    The fake reference was the least of his trouble. His conflicts arise when he was fooling around with his friend. He was trying to cook for them and was flipping food in all types of fancy ways. The last time the pancake went into the air it landed on his eye and left a really bad burn. His mom had warned him before to stay away from the stove and skillet. He begged his sister Rosalia to borrow some makeup of hers to cover up his burn. She refused to help him deceive their mother. He ended up stealing makeup from his job in broad daylight. The amount he attempted to steal amounted up to hundreds of dollars. On top of that, he was placed in the school newspaper and it spoke on how high school employee steals makeup. He had a scandal on his hands.
    On chapter thirty-five page 112. Shows the title of the article he was in. “HIGH SCHOOL EMPLOYEE EMBEZZLES SEVERL HUNDRED DOLLARS OF MERCHANDISE! WALKS OUT OF THE STORE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DAY!” It states “I was hyperventilating. I’d pictured trying to calm a screaming Valentino, but I’d never pictured Valentino smirking over Craig Denton’s shoulder as they waited for me to be arrested and dragged through the store in handcuffs” which speaks on how they hauled Carlos away and the reporters from school were laughing
    Carlos usually thinks on the bright side off things even when something is going terribly wrong. “ It’s better than the cops coming to the school to arrest me or the apartment and having all the neighbors see. Poor Ma”, it also shows he cares for his mother. In the beginning of the book Carlos talks about how their father walked out on their mother. He told her she was too good for him, and they were doing just fine with or without him.

    Carlos always seems to have a positive view on things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Fabulous and Fun

    Carlos Duarte knows exactly who he is and what he wants from life. When he hears about a chance to apply at Macy's to work at one of their make-up counters, he knows this is going to open the doors to his dreams of becoming a famous make-up artist. Carlos soon learns that this may prove to be more difficult than he had first though. Throw in problems with his sisters, a crush, and dealing with severe homophobia , and Carlos soon has more on his plate than he thought he'd have to deal with.

    Carlos is a fun person! He is so sure of himself, and you can't help but feel positive while reading about him. I have no doubt that he would be everything he wants to be in life. He had a lot of things to deal with in this book, and he did it all with a fabulous sense of grace. I had two small complaints. One was that Carlos could seem a little bit too much like a stereotype. It just seemed to pull me out of the story and didn't really fit who I felt Carlos was. The other has to do with the homophobia directed at him. He just seemed a little too passive about it for me. I really didn't feel a reaction about it one way or the other from him. I just wanted a little more there.

    Those issues aside, I thought this was a fun book. I think it's great to have a book like this with an out and proud teen. While coming of age type coming out stories have their place, it's awesome to just have a fluffy book. While some serious issues are dealt with, over all this book is just plain fun. It helps to emphasize the "normal-ness" of Carlos. So overall I thought this was an enjoyable book.


    Galley provided by publisher for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Imaginations Review of Putting Makeup on the Fat Boy

    I think this is probably the first GLBT book I've read. I'm not 100% positive, but I'm pretty sure. It's not like I haven't read books with gay or lesbian characters in them before, but I've never read a book where the protagonist is gay. And I loved it. I've worked with a lot of gay people and had a few as friends, and I thought the characterization of the protagonist was pretty well done because he reminded me of a few of them. And I loved them all.

    The thing I most admired about Carlos Duarte was his perseverance. He had a dream and a plan and he stuck to it. Along the way he dealt with homophobia, catty coworkers, family instability, etc. and he never once wavered on his path or stopped believing in himself. That's admirable. Especially since so often it's simpler to take the easy road. But the easy road rarely, if ever, leads to true happiness.

    Honestly Putting Makeup on the Fat Boy was a pretty fluffy read. Of course there were a few things that happened that were difficult for me to get through. But for the most part it was a fun story about a teenager that really loves and has a passion for being a makeup artist. And he really wants to make a career out of it. Starting by working at Macy's. Now why anyone would look at working at Macy's as part of a dream fulfillment is beyond my understanding. I worked at Dillard's and nightmare I can understand. Dream, no. But I digress.

    Carlos was a pretty amazing character. He was flawed in that he was a bit selfish, but he was still a pretty awesome guy. I liked that he was comfortable in his own skin and that he really didn't let what other people thought get to him. And he was funny too. He had a great sense of humor. In fact, the entire book was pretty funny. Being that I have worked in retail before, I totally cracked up at some of his customer situations. I've been there. It's worth a read just if you've worked in retail alone. But if you want to laugh, if you want a quick and enjoyable read, I think you will find that here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1