Customer Reviews for

Pygmy

Average Rating 3.5
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Palahniuk's newest is nothing short of amazing...what else would one expect?

I was pleasantly surprised with "Pygmy!" it is easily one of the funniest and most entertaining books i've ever read! The writing style is genius and fun, the satire is spot on, and the humor is hilarious!

What this book does is it looks at just about every aspect of...
I was pleasantly surprised with "Pygmy!" it is easily one of the funniest and most entertaining books i've ever read! The writing style is genius and fun, the satire is spot on, and the humor is hilarious!

What this book does is it looks at just about every aspect of American culture and looks at it through a foreigner's eyes making everything look...well, stupid. Funny, funny, funny and pure fun! Palahniuk-you're a God!

posted by D-Ives on May 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Quickly becomes more of a chore than a gratifying read.

This book is written in broken english, know this before buying it. The narrative, which reads like its been fed through an online translator several times, quickly becomes a chore. The writing has some humor in it but in the end is not gratifying. This seems like Chuck...
This book is written in broken english, know this before buying it. The narrative, which reads like its been fed through an online translator several times, quickly becomes a chore. The writing has some humor in it but in the end is not gratifying. This seems like Chuck just sort of ailed it in and through in an ending with an attempt to retract some of his innumerable criticisms of society. Certainly not worth buying in hardcover.

posted by CheebaHawk999 on June 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Most top priority....

    Pygmy" isn't for everyone!

    Chuck's new book is different, much, much different. As you have already read on every other review, its written in broken English, the way a foreign exchange student with very little knowledge of the English language might speak. It does'nt take long to get used to, if your a big fan of Palahniuk, don't let it scare you off, it's not that bad.

    I love Chuck's books, I haven't read them all, but "Pygmy" is ten times funnier and better than "Snuff", but not as good as "Fight Club" or "Haunted"!

    "Pygmy" has alot of laughs, a little rape, a little terrorism, love, school violence and a whole lot of death.

    Pygmy is quite the main character, the names he calls his host family throughout the book are great- Cow father, Chicken mother, Cat sister & Pig Dog brother. His karate moves are sharp, their names are sharper -"lashing lynx", "monkey mash", "punching panda", "striking cobra quick kill", "barracuda deadly eye gouge" and my favorite the "cobra one strike no blood" and so, so many more.

    Within the first three chapters, Pygmy himself teaches a school bully or as he calls him (clear yellow bully) a "hard" lesson after he abuses Pig Dog Brother at Walmart!

    Another very funny, shocking good, not great read from Palahniuk. I think he took a big chance with this book and it paid off, it is definitely original! Chuck is a great writer and as always I now await the arrival of his next book....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting book! Writing style can get annoying!

    If your a fan of the Chuck Palahniuk books then of corse this is a must read for you! The plot was very original and creative. I enjoyed the characters, and of corse the author added the oddest things about them. I did not like the writing style at first, then I got use to it. There were points in the book where it would just be nice to read normally, but the way he wrote I'd never seen it like that, so props for his originality! Overall this is a intesting story and at times makes you shocked at what happens due to its; graphic and funny events you never saw coming! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Palahniuk's Best

    I just really could not get past the extremely odd writing style. It was just flat out not enjoyable to read. I tried to push through, tried to get into it. But after 100 pages, I gave up. Maybe poppin' out a book a year isn't going to work out for Palahniuk. I consider Rant his last really good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Happily Ever After?

    I never thought I'd live to see a Chuck P book with a happy ending...until Pygmy. After reading Snuff, I was done with Chuck but several positive reviews changed my mind. I was impressed with how he was able to write in broken English (but that takes a little while to get used to). There were parts that actually made me laugh out loud because of Pygmy's creative description and interpretation of events.

    I was almost ready to forgive Chuck for Snuff until the last few chapters. The plot makes an unneeded left turn towards the end and goes back to his calling card of complete absurdity that doesn't make any sense. He almost had it this time, but it looks like he maybe under some contract to write totally ridiculous books (I've read all his works). The level of gore in this book is pretty tame compared to his other works, which really helped to move the story along at a somewhat believable rate. The accounts of Pygmy and his and his country's view on America and plan to destroy it are thought provoking and interesting most of the time. But being Chuck, he makes Pygmy into some super-human operative that can smell a person's ills, medicines and drugs which are in his/her body by their exhalations. I know its fiction but come on! You learn this early on and can adjust for this throughout the book. I really tried, but it just doesn't really get any better at any point. He really could have cut out the last chapter and said "And Pygmy lived happily ever after. The end."

    If this book was written by just about anyone else, I may be more impressed. Maybe Chuck is past his prime and I'm expecting too much from him? I wouldn't say don't read this book, but I also can't say its a must read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loads and loads and loads of fun!

    As I started reading Pygmy, I though something was wrong with me. I had to read the first page twice, then as I moved on my eyes felt like scrambled eggs. HOWEVER, once I picked up on the broken English language and read with more fluidity I couldn't put it down. Pygmy was so much fun and an outright riot. I love that little dude! I laughed so hard at Palahniuk's description of Cat Sister's science experiment gone awry that tears were rolling down my cheeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Palahniuk book with a happy ending?! (kind of...)

    Thank God, Chuck. I was worried for a while. An actual, unique plotline; interesting, somewhat believable, in-depth characters; plenty of f*ed-up-itiness (yeah it's a word, what of it?). Once you get good at translating the broken English, Pygmy will elate you with laughter, and then throw you against the nearest wall. It's freaking wonderful.

    Madam Funbags

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    loved it

    With me loving it being said this book is not for everyone.It seems as though this will be another book of chucks where half the people love it and the rest hate it.As I'm sure you know the entire book is written in broken English which after a few chapter i found myself breezing right through it with the occasional triple glance to figure out a sentence.The story is interesting and down right laugh out loud funny from his outsider views on Walmart, mega churches, school dances, spelling bees, and my favorite Colonel Sanders! Just like Chuck said on the Pygmy tour i went to, this is not a politically motivated book it is a coming of age story. Over all great book but if you are new to the world of chuck i would advise this one to not be your first i think it would be more enjoyable to the veteran Palahniuk reader. Great first starters are Fight Club, Survivor, Invisible Monsters, and Choke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Chuck's Redemption

    I was about to give up on Mr. Palahniuk after the awful tripe that was his last "novel" Snuff.

    With Pygmy, he is back to delivering an actual storyline, and in quite a different fashion. The book is written, as has been said, in broken English. I did not find this difficult at all to read. It only made the book more humorous.

    There is sodomy, murder of teens, martial arts and an overall sense of...life about the entire book. No matter where we're taken on Pygmy's journey, it never feels dark or tragic. It's almost always funny, or sad, but in a "Maybe Pygmy's not so bad after all..." way.

    I don't think Chuck Palahniuk is a literary genius. He is clever and funny, and a good writer. He's like Vonnegut, except Vonnegut was a genius. He's a pale Vonnegut.

    I don't know.

    Anyway, Pygmy is great. Palahniuk has redeemed himself as one of my favorite authors. Buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Palahniuk's best works . . .

    Pygmy is another masterpiece from Chuck Palahniuk. In my humble opinion, Pygmy is one of Palahniuk's top three books, Fight Club and Survivor being the other two. Yes, the fragmented and disjointed writing style of this story is difficult, and that may turn people away from the book. I recommend reading this book slowly to fully appreciate the creativity of Palahniuk in creating these "broken-English" sentences. I found myself getting accustomed to the writing style as I kept reading, it makes more sense and it actually started to flow. This book will make you laugh, it will make you feel nauseous, and it will make you laugh while feeling nauseous. Yet it still delivers keen observations on life. I don't know how Palahniuk does it but it makes for a great and entertaining story.

    For those of you who have felt that Palahniuk has "been off his game" with some of his recent releases, I assure you that Palahniuk is back on top of his "game" with Pygmy. I will definitely be reading Pygmy again. If you enjoy a unique and creative story then Pygmy is the book for you. Chuck Palahniuk truly is a literary genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9