Customer Reviews for

Pygmy

Average Rating 3.5
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Palahniuk's newest is nothing short of amazing...what else would one expect?

I was pleasantly surprised with "Pygmy!" it is easily one of the funniest and most entertaining books i've ever read! The writing style is genius and fun, the satire is spot on, and the humor is hilarious!

What this book does is it looks at just about every aspect of...
I was pleasantly surprised with "Pygmy!" it is easily one of the funniest and most entertaining books i've ever read! The writing style is genius and fun, the satire is spot on, and the humor is hilarious!

What this book does is it looks at just about every aspect of American culture and looks at it through a foreigner's eyes making everything look...well, stupid. Funny, funny, funny and pure fun! Palahniuk-you're a God!

posted by D-Ives on May 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Quickly becomes more of a chore than a gratifying read.

This book is written in broken english, know this before buying it. The narrative, which reads like its been fed through an online translator several times, quickly becomes a chore. The writing has some humor in it but in the end is not gratifying. This seems like Chuck...
This book is written in broken english, know this before buying it. The narrative, which reads like its been fed through an online translator several times, quickly becomes a chore. The writing has some humor in it but in the end is not gratifying. This seems like Chuck just sort of ailed it in and through in an ending with an attempt to retract some of his innumerable criticisms of society. Certainly not worth buying in hardcover.

posted by CheebaHawk999 on June 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Begins Here Book Review From Moderately Entertained Reader

    I am a big fan of Chuck Palahniuk. I enjoyed the the hysterical satire of this book and I thought the fresh writing style was unique and fun (once I got used to it, which if you stick it out and read the first few chapters, you WILL get use to it - I promise) I especially enjoyed the flashbacks to the training that "Pygmy" underwent - brutal stuff. The reason I've only rated it 3 stars is because I did not feel it was his best writing or even close to his best writing. At times, the writing style gets a little mundane and I actually ended up putting this book down for 2 months! I just finished it the other day and I am very glad I did. Over all, I would rate it slightly above average. Still a good read if you love Chuck's writing. Don't expect it to be the same syle though. I would suggest reading a chapter or two at the bookstore to better decide if it is something you will be into.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My least favorite Palahniuk book

    I'm a huge Palahniuk fan - I own and have read all of his books. He's an incredible author, and is definitely my favorite modern day writer - but Pygmy is my least favorite out of all of his novels. It's not that the story is bad - the characters are interesting, and the concept is intriguing. It's just that the broken english is very hard to get used to. In books such as Welsh's Trainspotting, the strange language used can be a fun experience for the reader - but in Pygmy, it's a bit of work at the beginning. Normally, I'm a fast reader - but this book took me a few days to get through because of the broken english. Once you get used to it, though, a lot of it is very funny. For example, Pygmy refers to church as "religion propaganda distribution outlet." Also, when at a school dance, the way that Pygmy asks a girl to dance with him is: "Request demonstrate superior anatomy as condition to receive generous deposit of alive male seed." These, along with Pygmy's way of addressing the elderly and his frequent quoting of dictators, prove to be amusing elements. The book in itself is an amusing and thought-provoking read, and is worth checking out if you're a hardcore Palahniuk fan. However, if you're new to Palahniuk, I would suggest starting somewhere else [Choke, Survivor]. The book was good, but it is my least favorite of all of Palahniuk's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pygmy - decent but difficult

    Pygmy is a difficult book to read. The narrator, Pygmy, is a foreign-born thirteen year old terrorist. He does not have a complete command of the English language. The entire novel is written in his pseudo-English speech pattern. If you can overcome this experimental prose, then you will discover a decent story inside. There is a a superb description of high school dodge ball, but the rest of the school scenes are familiar and cliche. Pygmy's history, his descent from an individual to a member of his State, and learning to become an individual again are the truly interesting bits. If you've never read a novel by Chuck Palahnuik, don't start here. Go pick up Invisible Monsters, Lullaby, or Choke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Happily Ever After?

    I never thought I'd live to see a Chuck P book with a happy ending...until Pygmy. After reading Snuff, I was done with Chuck but several positive reviews changed my mind. I was impressed with how he was able to write in broken English (but that takes a little while to get used to). There were parts that actually made me laugh out loud because of Pygmy's creative description and interpretation of events.

    I was almost ready to forgive Chuck for Snuff until the last few chapters. The plot makes an unneeded left turn towards the end and goes back to his calling card of complete absurdity that doesn't make any sense. He almost had it this time, but it looks like he maybe under some contract to write totally ridiculous books (I've read all his works). The level of gore in this book is pretty tame compared to his other works, which really helped to move the story along at a somewhat believable rate. The accounts of Pygmy and his and his country's view on America and plan to destroy it are thought provoking and interesting most of the time. But being Chuck, he makes Pygmy into some super-human operative that can smell a person's ills, medicines and drugs which are in his/her body by their exhalations. I know its fiction but come on! You learn this early on and can adjust for this throughout the book. I really tried, but it just doesn't really get any better at any point. He really could have cut out the last chapter and said "And Pygmy lived happily ever after. The end."

    If this book was written by just about anyone else, I may be more impressed. Maybe Chuck is past his prime and I'm expecting too much from him? I wouldn't say don't read this book, but I also can't say its a must read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3