Customer Reviews for

Pygmy

Average Rating 3.5
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Palahniuk's newest is nothing short of amazing...what else would one expect?

I was pleasantly surprised with "Pygmy!" it is easily one of the funniest and most entertaining books i've ever read! The writing style is genius and fun, the satire is spot on, and the humor is hilarious!

What this book does is it looks at just about every aspect of...
I was pleasantly surprised with "Pygmy!" it is easily one of the funniest and most entertaining books i've ever read! The writing style is genius and fun, the satire is spot on, and the humor is hilarious!

What this book does is it looks at just about every aspect of American culture and looks at it through a foreigner's eyes making everything look...well, stupid. Funny, funny, funny and pure fun! Palahniuk-you're a God!

posted by D-Ives on May 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Quickly becomes more of a chore than a gratifying read.

This book is written in broken english, know this before buying it. The narrative, which reads like its been fed through an online translator several times, quickly becomes a chore. The writing has some humor in it but in the end is not gratifying. This seems like Chuck...
This book is written in broken english, know this before buying it. The narrative, which reads like its been fed through an online translator several times, quickly becomes a chore. The writing has some humor in it but in the end is not gratifying. This seems like Chuck just sort of ailed it in and through in an ending with an attempt to retract some of his innumerable criticisms of society. Certainly not worth buying in hardcover.

posted by CheebaHawk999 on June 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A wellspring of bizarre quotes and ideas.

    This novel has many pitfalls, meaning many opportunities for disappointment by the reader. If those pitfalls are avoided, however, you can enjoy a very fresh kind of novel that's loaded with hilarious quotes and observations.

    With regard to the pitfalls, you have Pygmy's dialogue to contend with and the absurdity of the plot. Pygmy's English vocabulary is insanely high, but his grammar and syntax are totally alien. Once you get used to Pygmy's speech, you can begin to enjoy his distorted way of describing American life. As for the plot... you must understand you are reading a comedy and not a political thriller. If you can continue to raise your suspension of disbelief and go with the inherent absurdity, you'll love the flow of the book.

    The real joy of this novel comes from Pygmy's observations of America by way of his home country's bias. His indoctrinated hatred of capitalism and American consumerism lead to page after page of hilarious descriptions as Pygmy attempts to make sense of this foreign nation he's residing in. Those features that evoke envy in many are viewed with bitter disgust- and written in a way that makes you feel both emotions while laughing most of the way through it.

    With my caveat about the "pitfalls" of this book, I highly recommend it as something new and fascinating. I've read all of Palahniuk's fiction, but Pygmy has a special place of it's own for me. Though maybe not my all time favorite of Palahniuk's (Invisible Monsters), it's a unique kind of romantic comedy that gets you thinking about ideology without making any real political statements.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not his best, but certainly not as bad as Snuff!

    Certainly not Chuck's best book, but far better than Snuff. The English is "broken," yes, Pygmy's vocabulary is stellar... but haven't you ever noticed most non-native speakers have incredible vocabularies? Learning vocabulary is easy, syntax is not! Yes, the satire was a little heavy handed at times, but Chuck gives us so much to think about in this novel. The great thing about reading any of his books are the connections one makes in their head AFTER they have read the book and thinks about all the small connections and turns you didn't quite notice until you sit back and think it all over. Are some of the scenarios far fetched? Of course! It's Chuck. I don't think there aren't scenarios in ANY of his books that aren't far fetched, including Fight Club (sorry, it's true). Then, there is the "happy" ending, a twist all its own as Chuck rarely ends a book like that. However, as "happy" as it ends, I think most would agree it isn't the best outcome for Pygmy. The genius lies in how the ending is both "pro" and "anti" American all at once. As always, Chuck is not for everyone, but this novel is by far not nearly "Chuck's worst" in any shape or form, as some other reviewers claim. It does not beat the genius of Rant, Choke, or Survivor, but it is a must read for Chuck fans and anyone interested in him at all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    as ever, Mr. P delivers

    if you're an avid Palahniuk fan, add this to your collection. great read, if you're used to his style of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worth Reading

    Great story but reading the broken English made it a little tiring to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An unexpected treat

    This was my first book by Palahniuk, so I wan't sure what to expect. I was delighted. This book is satirical, witty and definitely not run-of-the-mill. The characters are outstanding, I loved them all. The plot isn't very complicated, but that is never a problem. The way it's worded (in the broken english of the main character) can be distracting. However, it is also hilarious at times. Mr. Palahniuk pokes a sharp stick into the side of the American lifestyle. I definitely will read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting book! Writing style can get annoying!

    If your a fan of the Chuck Palahniuk books then of corse this is a must read for you! The plot was very original and creative. I enjoyed the characters, and of corse the author added the oddest things about them. I did not like the writing style at first, then I got use to it. There were points in the book where it would just be nice to read normally, but the way he wrote I'd never seen it like that, so props for his originality! Overall this is a intesting story and at times makes you shocked at what happens due to its; graphic and funny events you never saw coming! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Palahniuk book with a happy ending?! (kind of...)

    Thank God, Chuck. I was worried for a while. An actual, unique plotline; interesting, somewhat believable, in-depth characters; plenty of f*ed-up-itiness (yeah it's a word, what of it?). Once you get good at translating the broken English, Pygmy will elate you with laughter, and then throw you against the nearest wall. It's freaking wonderful.

    Madam Funbags

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Chuck's Redemption

    I was about to give up on Mr. Palahniuk after the awful tripe that was his last "novel" Snuff.

    With Pygmy, he is back to delivering an actual storyline, and in quite a different fashion. The book is written, as has been said, in broken English. I did not find this difficult at all to read. It only made the book more humorous.

    There is sodomy, murder of teens, martial arts and an overall sense of...life about the entire book. No matter where we're taken on Pygmy's journey, it never feels dark or tragic. It's almost always funny, or sad, but in a "Maybe Pygmy's not so bad after all..." way.

    I don't think Chuck Palahniuk is a literary genius. He is clever and funny, and a good writer. He's like Vonnegut, except Vonnegut was a genius. He's a pale Vonnegut.

    I don't know.

    Anyway, Pygmy is great. Palahniuk has redeemed himself as one of my favorite authors. Buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3