Customer Reviews for

Pygmy

Average Rating 3.5
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Palahniuk's newest is nothing short of amazing...what else would one expect?

I was pleasantly surprised with "Pygmy!" it is easily one of the funniest and most entertaining books i've ever read! The writing style is genius and fun, the satire is spot on, and the humor is hilarious!

What this book does is it looks at just about every aspect of...
I was pleasantly surprised with "Pygmy!" it is easily one of the funniest and most entertaining books i've ever read! The writing style is genius and fun, the satire is spot on, and the humor is hilarious!

What this book does is it looks at just about every aspect of American culture and looks at it through a foreigner's eyes making everything look...well, stupid. Funny, funny, funny and pure fun! Palahniuk-you're a God!

posted by D-Ives on May 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Quickly becomes more of a chore than a gratifying read.

This book is written in broken english, know this before buying it. The narrative, which reads like its been fed through an online translator several times, quickly becomes a chore. The writing has some humor in it but in the end is not gratifying. This seems like Chuck...
This book is written in broken english, know this before buying it. The narrative, which reads like its been fed through an online translator several times, quickly becomes a chore. The writing has some humor in it but in the end is not gratifying. This seems like Chuck just sort of ailed it in and through in an ending with an attempt to retract some of his innumerable criticisms of society. Certainly not worth buying in hardcover.

posted by CheebaHawk999 on June 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Palahniuk's newest is nothing short of amazing...what else would one expect?

    I was pleasantly surprised with "Pygmy!" it is easily one of the funniest and most entertaining books i've ever read! The writing style is genius and fun, the satire is spot on, and the humor is hilarious!

    What this book does is it looks at just about every aspect of American culture and looks at it through a foreigner's eyes making everything look...well, stupid. Funny, funny, funny and pure fun! Palahniuk-you're a God!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Laugh out loud funny!

    I think that all of the "haters" of this one just found it too hard to read, but anything worthwhile is worth working for, to paraphrase...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    another Palahniuk classic

    great book, very funny and gives good view of how somebody not from america might view us. Chuck Palahniuk proves once again he is one of best writters today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific slice of Palahniuk's mind

    The most satisfying Palahniuk since Diary. Takes America and (ostensibly) China equally to task with a fast-paced, wry, satirical Lashing Lynx to the reader's gut and mind. The initial inscrutability of the language (you get accustomed to it, really, just as with Shakespeare, for example) and central character throw you off-balance, but leave you in the end enjoying them all the more as a result.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Most top priority....

    Pygmy" isn't for everyone!

    Chuck's new book is different, much, much different. As you have already read on every other review, its written in broken English, the way a foreign exchange student with very little knowledge of the English language might speak. It does'nt take long to get used to, if your a big fan of Palahniuk, don't let it scare you off, it's not that bad.

    I love Chuck's books, I haven't read them all, but "Pygmy" is ten times funnier and better than "Snuff", but not as good as "Fight Club" or "Haunted"!

    "Pygmy" has alot of laughs, a little rape, a little terrorism, love, school violence and a whole lot of death.

    Pygmy is quite the main character, the names he calls his host family throughout the book are great- Cow father, Chicken mother, Cat sister & Pig Dog brother. His karate moves are sharp, their names are sharper -"lashing lynx", "monkey mash", "punching panda", "striking cobra quick kill", "barracuda deadly eye gouge" and my favorite the "cobra one strike no blood" and so, so many more.

    Within the first three chapters, Pygmy himself teaches a school bully or as he calls him (clear yellow bully) a "hard" lesson after he abuses Pig Dog Brother at Walmart!

    Another very funny, shocking good, not great read from Palahniuk. I think he took a big chance with this book and it paid off, it is definitely original! Chuck is a great writer and as always I now await the arrival of his next book....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loads and loads and loads of fun!

    As I started reading Pygmy, I though something was wrong with me. I had to read the first page twice, then as I moved on my eyes felt like scrambled eggs. HOWEVER, once I picked up on the broken English language and read with more fluidity I couldn't put it down. Pygmy was so much fun and an outright riot. I love that little dude! I laughed so hard at Palahniuk's description of Cat Sister's science experiment gone awry that tears were rolling down my cheeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    loved it

    With me loving it being said this book is not for everyone.It seems as though this will be another book of chucks where half the people love it and the rest hate it.As I'm sure you know the entire book is written in broken English which after a few chapter i found myself breezing right through it with the occasional triple glance to figure out a sentence.The story is interesting and down right laugh out loud funny from his outsider views on Walmart, mega churches, school dances, spelling bees, and my favorite Colonel Sanders! Just like Chuck said on the Pygmy tour i went to, this is not a politically motivated book it is a coming of age story. Over all great book but if you are new to the world of chuck i would advise this one to not be your first i think it would be more enjoyable to the veteran Palahniuk reader. Great first starters are Fight Club, Survivor, Invisible Monsters, and Choke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Palahniuk's best works . . .

    Pygmy is another masterpiece from Chuck Palahniuk. In my humble opinion, Pygmy is one of Palahniuk's top three books, Fight Club and Survivor being the other two. Yes, the fragmented and disjointed writing style of this story is difficult, and that may turn people away from the book. I recommend reading this book slowly to fully appreciate the creativity of Palahniuk in creating these "broken-English" sentences. I found myself getting accustomed to the writing style as I kept reading, it makes more sense and it actually started to flow. This book will make you laugh, it will make you feel nauseous, and it will make you laugh while feeling nauseous. Yet it still delivers keen observations on life. I don't know how Palahniuk does it but it makes for a great and entertaining story.

    For those of you who have felt that Palahniuk has "been off his game" with some of his recent releases, I assure you that Palahniuk is back on top of his "game" with Pygmy. I will definitely be reading Pygmy again. If you enjoy a unique and creative story then Pygmy is the book for you. Chuck Palahniuk truly is a literary genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3