Customer Reviews for

Pyramids (Discworld Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    All you thought you knew about pyramids twisted for laughs

    Here we go again on Discworld. Pratchett is mixing an hilarious take on a stiff and unchanging tradition with his blend of twisted logic and magic. All the myths about pyramid power are here- sharpening blades, prolonging life, preserving food and then there are a few Prachett made up himself.

    There is a reluctant king, a beautiful slave girl, a "Zorro" figure and lots of laughs. And don't forget the importance of a thirsty camel.

    Finally, as in all Terry Prachett books there is an underlying social commentary. What should we do with our land and other resources? And is eternal life really something to be sought?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    To anonymos on may first

    I thought the book was wonderful, btw
    Anonymos,
    Not everything has to be funny

    -s.m. peeden

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    Mr. Pratchett, I love you but...

    Pyramids follows the story of young Prince Teppic as he journeys far from his home which is totally not Egypt to train as an Assassin and back again to become the ruler, savior, and living god of his country. For awhile.

    This isn't Pratchett's best humorous work by a long shot. There were a couple of fantastic one liners (and a bit about Homer/ Virgil/ [Insert bard here] that was brilliant) and a smattering of Pratchett's favorite archetypal characters, but overall the book seemed to have a different goal in mind. Where it lacked in humor, it more than made up as a fantastic meditation on physics, camels, the relations between fathers and sons and hereditary businesses, and people who are unable to let go and end up destroying the thing they love.

    The book has several technical flaws, including a slew of undeveloped characters, a love story that is even less than a tacked on afterthought, and a heavy reliance on stock characters. As a casual read, or in comparison to some entries in his earlier body of work, this book might prove less than satisfying. But taken as a meditation on certain social ills related to myopic focus and workaholism, it's a fantastic brain tickler. Unfortunately, that still doesn't quite bring it up to par in a side by side comparison with the rest of his stuff. I don't think there's a Discworld book out there to which I'd be able to give less than three stars (with the exception of the uniformly awful Monstrous Regiment), but take my rating of 3.5 with a hefty dose of salt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    It bites...

    Another timely classic satire on our world! This time the subject is government and the powers behind them. Teppic has been trained in the highly valued skill of assasination, and he will need every bit of that skill to survive leading his kingdom out of the dark grasp of .... Teppic is part hero part accident and all lovable. But I should warn you, silence will never be the same after you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2001

    Well, someone has to write a review for this great book!

    This has to be one of my favorite discworld books. It has some great moments, like when the main character, Tepic, is faced with the Sphinx in some other dimenstion. It's hillarious! The classic riddle of the Sphinx is ripped apart, and you see how dum it really is! The plot of this book is wonderful, and once you start it, you wont be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3