Customer Reviews for

Q Is For Quarry

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

If she writes it, you will read it!

Grafton is the ultimate mystery writer. She blends intrigue with a twist here and a turn there and I love her gimmick! Very clever lady. What's up after the alpabet series???

posted by Anonymous on June 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Q is for Quiet

I thought this was the slowest read of any of the 'alphabet' books. The end seemed machinated to me. I liked the idea of linking the story to some real open case, but the character development was poor and the story lagged. I guess even a great series of books (and I...
I thought this was the slowest read of any of the 'alphabet' books. The end seemed machinated to me. I liked the idea of linking the story to some real open case, but the character development was poor and the story lagged. I guess even a great series of books (and I love this one) has a clunker now and then.

posted by Anonymous on December 28, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Q is for Quarry

    This book was a lot better then the last. It had a good ending and broght me back to why I love these books. Even though the murderer was obvious after it was disclosed for some reason I was suspecting someone else and was impressed how it played out. I loved that the idea behind this book was a true story. This is probably my favorite so far.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Great as usual!

    Each book gets better. Love this book series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Another Great Installment

    This Alphabet Series by Sue Grafton just keeps getting better and better. Worth the read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Slow burner this time, but excellent as always

    Q is for Quarry.
    In my ongoing re-read /inspiration/learning quest (and in anticipation of the soon to be released V is for Violence in November of this year) I picked up Q is for Quarry over the weekend. This is 17th book in the Kinsey Milhone series and while I adore Sue Grafton's work, this was not exactly my favorite of the series. Grafton is a master of pacing, giving both Kinsey and the reader just enough time to catch our breath in between scenes. I found this one just a tad slower than the usual pace of the books. That being said, this is still excellently crafted. The plot is complicated, with players coming and going throughout, but no end is left loose. Misdirection and mounting frustration build throughout the book until I wanted to throw it around the room (fortunately calmer senses prevailed and I didn't propel my Nook across the room.). Even if I had though, I would have picked it right up again. Only one complaint, there is a subplot involving Henry that seems a little less gracefully worked than usual. The answers are found later in the series, but it is a bit confusing if you were a first time reader. I also found myself getting a little annoyed with Kinsey and her attitude toward family. She has questions and there are living relatives to answer them. Perhaps I am projecting my own adoption issues onto Kinsey, but I wanted to tell Kinsey, stop whining, just sit down and have a talk already, it won't kill you. Fortunately, 17 books into the series, I think that Grafton has earned the right to extend her questions across books, and even let her characters while just a little bit.

    My review: 4 of 5 tars this time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    amazing read

    I have read all the other books in this series, this one is amazing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    Its real life...

    I have read that a few readers are really upset about "Q" is for Quarry. Well I must say that I am too excited and going out to buy "Q" today. I am a loyal reader and can never wait for the next letter. I've read most of the books in one day! I understand you guys want Kinsey to have a "good man" and be happy. But if you think about it, how often does a girl find true love? This is real life, you go thru life meeting different men that teach you different things about yourself and life. I believe that Kinsey is at the prime of her life and career. A man would really only slow her down. She will find love, like we all do. I'm sure that is a plan of Sues in the near future. But it's usually a long road to happiness. Sue keep up the good work, you're the best. And I must say that out of 21 books, there's bound to be one that isn't as exciting or fast-paced as the one before. But to have caught national attention and keep the same character going for so long....is truly talented!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    If she writes it, you will read it!

    Grafton is the ultimate mystery writer. She blends intrigue with a twist here and a turn there and I love her gimmick! Very clever lady. What's up after the alpabet series???

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2003

    Q is for Quiet

    I thought this was the slowest read of any of the 'alphabet' books. The end seemed machinated to me. I liked the idea of linking the story to some real open case, but the character development was poor and the story lagged. I guess even a great series of books (and I love this one) has a clunker now and then.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Fire mountain

    It is a giant ruby jutting out of the earth with hot lava rolling down its walls. A statue of a great white dragon rests at the top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Very different - good read.

    Being hooked on this series I like the continuing saga of Kinsey Millhone, detective. Just wish they would get up in times and have a cell phone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Hu

    &hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Yvybninibuvtxry

    Vyvuiniihtfrdbuninyrdrcninuhtfrfybin

















    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Stalker

    Stalker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked this one.

    The core tale, based on fact, is as unsettling as it is gripping: Eighteen years ago, the unidentified body of a young girl was discovered decomposing in Grayson Quarry of Santa Teresa, California. Detective Stacey Oliphant and Lt. Con Dolan, two driven cops who've hung with the case for most of their careers, have never been able to learn who the woman was or catch her killer. Battling age and health issues, they ask Kinsey to take a crack at solving the "Jane Doe" mystery. Although all leads are long-cold by now, Kinsey follows every one of them up, interviewing witnesses whose memories of events have either dwindled or become wholly fictitious with time. One of her only clues is the woman's prominent teeth, which she hopes will spark someone's recollection. At the center of the puzzle lies not only a killer but also a link to Kinsey's own troubled past.

    Q Is for Quarry eases you into its plot with Grafton's smooth writing style and swift plotting. Grafton knows her characters and their situations and explores them thoroughly -- it's those relationships that become the cornerstone of the novel as the mystery grows more intriguing and the investigation progresses. This is an author who understands how to let police procedure form the gist of the story while never allowing it to overshadow the humanity of her cast. The result is another impossible-to-put-down Grafton mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    The main character in the novel Q is for Quarry is Kinsey Millhone who is a private detective in the Santa Teresa, California. She teams up with an old detective named Con Dolan who asks Kinsey for some help with an old case that he and his old partn

    Kinsey Millhone- A private detective in California who is still trying to find out what exactly she wants to do with her life. She has an office in the area of Santa Teresa and is starting to settle down when Con Dolan asks her for help with an old case that had never been solved.
    Con Dolan- A lieutenant who was out for a health disability after a series of heart attacks had knocked him out. For most of this professional life, he had headed up the homicide unit of the Santa Teresa Police Department. He still smokes and drinks a lot even though his doctors have told him specifically not to.
    Stacey Oliphant- An old partner of Dolan who was diagnosed with cancer in the beginning of the book that hinders him throughout the book. He was the original detective on the case of the body in the quarry and was never able to solve it or identify the body and it has haunted him ever since.
    "He placed the curling sheaf on the table in front of me. I finished my sandwich in one last bite and wiped my hands on a napkin before I reached for the papers. I knew at a glance it was a copy of a Sheriff Departments' file. The cover page was marked 187 pc, indicating it was a homicide, with a case number following. The pages were held together with a fastener, 65-70 sheets in all, with a set of handwritten notes inserted in the back. I returned to the cover page."
    Victim: Jane Doe
    Found: Sunday, August 3rd, 1969
    Location: Grayson Quarry, Highway 1, Lompoc

    I chose this passage because it is one of the most important parts of the book. Dolan and Kinsey are sitting in a restaurant eating when Dolan tells Kinsey of the idea he has to surprise Stacey to get him feeling better. Dolan presents Kinsey with this big folder of the homicide that Stacey was never able to solve or even identify the body. This is a turning point in the book because before this the characters in the story are not connected at all but this gives them a common goal to share. Kinsey immediately goes for the idea because she is struggling with her business and with what she wants to do with her life.

    The point of this book is the fact that two old detectives and one young one are trying to solve a homicide that went cold many years ago with one hope being that Stacey will benefit from it and recover. I agree that people should help their friends when their in need of it because we all need some help sometimes. There are no serious errors in the book that I picked up on while reading. The new ideas are that when older people need help they can ask and not feel threatened. Kinsey is an extraordinary help to Dolan and Stacey throughout the book with the work in the field because sometimes they end up in the hospital and can't be out there. This bo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2006

    Must confess......

    I am a HUGE fan of Kinsey and Ms. Grafton. I am a loyal reader and will read each book that is released. That being said, I am having trouble with Q is for Quarry. I will admit, as much as I love Kinsey's independence and incredible sense of herself as a P.I., I also was CRAZY about her with Cheney Phillips in 'K', so I was pretty upset before I had read far into this book. Sure we want to see Kinsey succeed on her own, and she is doing that. However, I, for one, want her happy, loved, AND professionally successful. I thought Cheney would do nicely in the her life and was looking foward to seeing if their relationship would progress. Dietz is fine, and if it's him, so be it. I don't mean to dwell on the love life her, but for some reason, the beginning of Q just made me feel like I had been kicked in the stomach. I feel it is slow as well, but give Ms. Grafton great kudos for the message she imparts about Jane Doe. That being said, 'Q' has depressed me somewhat. I am almost done with it, but this time, too many aspects of our girl's personal life have left me wanting to cry for her. I have been loath to mention Detective Phillips until now because that is not what the series is about. I just had to say it this time. I want Kinsey to have it all. That includes a great man who is strong enough to hang around and let Kinsey be Kinsey. That way Kinsey gets is all and so do we!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2004

    Slow and boring

    Q is for Quarry is a disappointing novel at best. The ending was predictable and lame. I had heard great things about the Kinsey Millhone mysteries, but after reading three I can easily say I will never read another. Only the second book I've ever seriously considered not finishing. The idea of writing about a real unsolved case was good, but the plot was slow-moving and mundane.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    highly anticipated but not her best

    perhaps kinsey needed to do her runs more in this book. slow. i love sue but my anticiptation was for not. one important ? i do have tho is i waited for the paperback in october 2003, any word on the missing jane doe in that year since hardcover publishing??

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    Please speed up the next volume!

    Wonderful read. The facts and background detail intense. Grafton has done her homework and than some. Please don't make us wait too long for the rest of the series. Have read all A - Q!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2003

    Like Fine Wine, Grafton Just Gets Better & Better

    Kinsey's back and renewing an old friendship, making a new friend, and finally bringing closure to an eighteen year old murder. She is worrying over what to do with her office situation, eating junk food since Rosie and William and his siblings (including Harry) have gone on a cruise, but is happily without a man. You can hear the gears in her brain as Con Dolan has talked her into a scheme to get his best buddy, Stacey Oliphant, back into enjoying life (or at least what he has left). There is even a little more of her family of origin--and a new ambivelence (maybe she does want to get to know them a little? Or just wants to satisfy her own curiosity?) In other words, Kinsey is growing and evolving as a real person would, professionally, and personally. Let's hope we see more of Con Dolan and Stacey Oliphant--they're great surrogate uncles and it's nice to know that Con Dolan has developed a great respect for Kinsey's talents. I am eagerly awaiting R-Z!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4