Customer Reviews for

The Quants: How a New Breed of Math Whizzes Conquered Wall Street and Nearly Destroyed It

Average Rating 3.5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Read for Yourself

I read Patterson's book awhile ago and enjoyed the combination of its pace and illuminating details. I do not work on Wall Street so the context of this foreign land with its exquisite creatures resembled something almost fictional. Unfortunately this strange world GAMB...
I read Patterson's book awhile ago and enjoyed the combination of its pace and illuminating details. I do not work on Wall Street so the context of this foreign land with its exquisite creatures resembled something almost fictional. Unfortunately this strange world GAMBLES with our retirements. After reading reviews here and elsewhere I have found an interesting reaction. Those with a vested interest (or simply want a cheap kindle version) have bashed the book with knee jerk that if nothing else shows it has struck a cord with those in the know.

Squelch is an obvious industry insider trying to limit the truth in the book

posted by Pentheus on March 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

INTERESTING BUT NOT THAT INTERESTING!!!!!

In so many words, there are so many other books that you could be reading about this sort of stuff. When I read this book, my first thought was that you could be reading something else that really had some meat to it. I am not a professional quant but I do have some tra...
In so many words, there are so many other books that you could be reading about this sort of stuff. When I read this book, my first thought was that you could be reading something else that really had some meat to it. I am not a professional quant but I do have some training in such affairs. The first thing that I thought when reading this is that I preferred the other book on quant mechanics and discrete physics applications to this book. It is called "The Manual of Quants" by John Henry Morel. It is way out in left field but it really packs a punch. It is almost otherworldly, like "Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance," but it has a flavor that really inspires, incites and cultivates true investigation of quantitative analysis from a holistic and intelligent perspective instead of from a purely exploitive wealth or hoarding perspective. It teaches us how to better investigate quantum physics as quants and not as animals or ignorant work slaves of the financial arena. We need to learn how to think outside of the box if we are going to change the world around us for the better and instead of collapsing financial markets we need to learn how to build them from the ground up based on true stochastic models, not sophomoric research hydraulics and investigative techniques. I highly recommend Morel's "The Manual of Quants" if you are going to ever make a name for yourself as a quant!! Switch over the other side and save your career like all the others: "THE MANUAL OF QUANTS"!!!!!

posted by Ken_Smith on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    Read for Yourself

    I read Patterson's book awhile ago and enjoyed the combination of its pace and illuminating details. I do not work on Wall Street so the context of this foreign land with its exquisite creatures resembled something almost fictional. Unfortunately this strange world GAMBLES with our retirements. After reading reviews here and elsewhere I have found an interesting reaction. Those with a vested interest (or simply want a cheap kindle version) have bashed the book with knee jerk that if nothing else shows it has struck a cord with those in the know.

    Squelch is an obvious industry insider trying to limit the truth in the book

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    Quite an accomplishment

    While the cast of characters is hard to follow at times, overall this is an excellent analysis of the "quants" and their dubious contributions to world financial markets. The explanations and defininitions of the mechanisms used by the "quants" and their role in our financial crisis should be required reading to any investor who doesn't spend eight hours a day working in the real financial world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    Great read....

    Very insightful and informative. Lots of info that makes you appreciate the near disaster we saw in 2008!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    A great overview of the influx of mathematical talent to Wall Street

    An extremely entertaining account the rise of math geniuses into the world of finance, and how they believed their mathematical models and theories were working to stabilise the world economy while in fact they were fueling the fire of the credit meltdown. It is a little difficult to follow due to the narrative format and number of different companies/people involved in the story, but the financial jargon isn't excessive and it includes some simply worded examples for the concepts that any layperson can follow. it is extremely relevant, and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to understand more about how the modern economy is structured and the financial instruments behind the current recession.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    An outstanding book

    I started in my quuest to understand how as an innocent investor, my net worth had crumbled with Charles Gasparini's book (the first one out) which really focused on the risk taking "genes" inherent in many of the Wall Street Players. They were often international level poker players and took on enormous risks and horrendous leverage.

    I then read Sec. Henry Paulson's book which was a little like being dropped into a Rugby scrum without knowing the rules - he did often define terms, but gave you no idea of the range of values. He is a defender of the "free market" (the market is all knowing and will correct itself unaided). In 2005, before he accepted the Secreatary of Treatury position, Goldman Sachs led the credit default swap popularization. He was a CEO, but like so many of them, not truly knowledgable about what his company was doing. His book shows how close we came to a depression, but is somewhat insensitive and self-serving in my opinion.

    Scott's book focuses on the mathematics which mathematicians, statisticians and physicists used to try to find the "Truth". What they failed to comprehend was that their idealized equations are not well connected to reality. Their equations failed to handle the "rare" event in the tail of bell shaped curves, which is exactly what happened. I have seen this for years in my scientific careers.

    This book does an excellent job of explaining what happened. It follows the key characters within the companies, explains how Lehman did itself in, not Paulson as some suggest, and describes his internal battle to save the finanical system which had frozen up, despited deeply held beliefs that this was not how government should act. I still don't understand, however, having AIG receive 100 cents on the dollar. I still think that should have taken some of their lumps for their stupidity rather than have the taxpayer salvage them to the tune of billions of dollars. In a true Free Market society, the losers fail, not be rescued by the taxpayer while the taxpayer's net worth crumbles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Awesome

    Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Highly Recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Highly Recommended! Very relevant to today's debt crises

    Very well written account of the subprime mortgage crisis that led us to the situation we are in today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Excellent Book!!

    One of the best books I've read. The author does a tremendous job of detailing events that most of us would never have realized occurred and how close some of the biggest names in quant investing almost took each other down! This is the first book since Lowenstein's 'When Genius Failed' that I literally couldn't put down. Great read...would highly recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3