Customer Reviews for

The Quantum Thief

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Extremely Interesting

    This was a pretty great book with a lot of interesting concepts. It was so full of new ideas that often there wasnt enough time to explore all the implications of the ideas fully

    New and interesting author who takes science fiction to the limit. Often the new vocabulary takes some time to internalize, but once done was a pretty great read. Definitely worth trying

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Space Opera with LOTS of bling

    I'm in neither in the "My god; it's brilliant!" or the "It's too complicated to read/too brilliant for me to comprehend." camp. Briefly, and under the bling, which is considerable, it's a fairly straightforward story of a man who is valuable to someone very powerful, who therefore springs him from prison, using an unwilling cat's paw to do the job and also ride herd on him. However, before the project for which he was freed can go forth, the prisoner must return to his old stomping grounds and recover his memory. Shenanigans ensue; a mystery is solved; and the set-up for the next book is put into place. The characters are understated, but perfectly comprehensible and sympathetic. I found the thief to be annoying, but not unbearably so. Yes, the author uses made-up words and doesn't explain them; it's not really a problem, doesn't impede the story, and I can't imagine that an adult reader of science fiction would be put off by the vocabulary. So, not a bad read; I'm not sorry I read it, and I would recommend it to readers of science fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Pure Science Fiction

    Space is to places in paces here. The characters may have some past, present and future issues to work out in some variations of that order but the book itself is linear.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Stay with it

    This book is good, but can be frustrating for a while. You are not really given any explanation for the first 100 pgs or so, just thrown in and have to learn...however i think, after finishing, that this helps the reader identify with the main character more (he is just as confused for a while and cant remember some important stuff) I did not give it a full five stars because for me, i wanted to keep reading, but also wanted to be done because i could be frustrating. Im sure i missed a ton. Great book though...def worth a read...good start to a trillogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    A Fantastic, Complex Story

    It took some time, but in the end I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The first third can be difficult because of the amount of unexplained vocabulary, but once you get the terms down (or at least the gist of it) it's pretty much straight forward from there. There are also some online dictionaries to help as well, which I highly recommend.

    Since this is going to be a trilogy, I'll forgive the author for the complex foundation, but would have likes a few explanations here and there; which is what kept me from giving it five stars.

    I loved the concepts, the technology, the structure and the story line. Also, I appreciated how the author didn't give too much depth to the characters. Some hard sci-fi novels work better this way.

    If you have an open mind and some patience, this is well worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    RogerZelazny would be proud....

    Wonderfully mystery novel set in a hyper technological future. Like Zelazny in Lord of Light, the reader is dragged into the byzantine milieu of the solar system some centuries hence. We are anchored by the familiar humanity of relationships, murder, and greed as the protagonist literally discovers himself as the plot is unwound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Good read, be ready for dense terminology

    Quantum Thief is a fun if at times dense read with a good mix of action, sci-fi and intrigue. LOTS of complex terminolgy and physis references, so be prepared to do some lookups or daze out through descriptions of technology. Far enough in the future to feel more science fantasy than hard science fiction, but fun nonetheless. Will probably be reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    This book is a lot like a classic video game. The learning curve

    This book is a lot like a classic video game. The learning curve when you start reading it is high, but once you start to figure out the terminology and the concept it becomes addictive.
    The book almost forces you to keep reading it. It hints at happenings and has as many twists as a well made roller coaster. 
    Anybody who like books like Snow Crash, Necromancer, or Ready Player One I'm pretty sure will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Most unique book I have ever read

    I thoroughly enjoyed it. And the sequel comes out in 3 days :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Unreadable

    Seemed like an interesting concept but simply could not plod though it with no reward in sight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Astonishing!

    This book rocked my world! I'm already waiting for THE FRACTAL PRINCE, Rajaniemi's sequel to this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Wrap your mind around this

    A different view of the future that is difficult to understand until you get the concepts involved due to its concepts are discribed by terms the author has made. Once you get the gist of things it develops a life of its own on and is compelling to read. The characters are compelled to act as they do from the events they lived in the past but need to complete the things they must in the future. The use of the quantum universe is as enlightining and other worldly as Gibson and the concepts as fresh as Dick. The quantim concepts used are an entirely new idea and the way they are presentd in a novel of this scope are refreshing. Truely a new force in Sci Fi has arrived and I welcome him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    WTF ?

    This book reminds me of something written while at the peak of a really intense acid trip where thoughts and meanings get so blown out of proportion that they loose their ability to form a cohessive picture of what you are trying to communicate. Yeah. That's exactly the way this author's thoughts come across. And, aside from that distraction, the story line and chatacters were really cheesy and overblown. Hated just about every minute of it. I don't think I've read a crappier book in a very long time. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Don't read this book...

    Quantum Thief. Bahh. He tosses out buzzwords for no particular reason.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2011

    Highly Addictive, Edge-of-your-seat thrill ride!

    Great book that keeps you captivated from page one! In-depth characters, fantastic story, and detailed description that puts you right there in the action. A must read for any science fiction reader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Fantastic!

    Absolutely fantastic! It¿s always wonderful to find new Science Fiction books that introduce you to new concepts and ideas, and go beyond the ¿warp drive and ray gun¿ genre. This book requires you to stretch your brain around new concepts. Loved it. Can¿t wait for more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Imaginative and fresh

    It can be a little hard to follow as the story is told as it happens with no stops for notes on how the tech of this world works. It unravels like a riddle as you pick up the nature of the world as it is revealed through the story. Really enjoyable, end with a too be continued open end for a series so I'll keep my eyes open for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great intelligent science fiction thriller

    Mysterious Mieli breaks out master thief Jean le Flambeur from the infamous Dilemma Prison run by the Archons of the Sobernost collective of the Inner Solar System. Flambeur never thought he would escape from the eternal mind boggling incarceration in which he was deftly mentally tortured into participating in games against himself in which he either killed or was killed by Flambeur.

    His liberator takes a grateful Flambeur on her sentient ship to the Martian moving city Oubliette where the commodity markets include the selling and buying of time. The Tzaddiks law enforcers send Detective Isidore Beautrelet to do grunt field work on Mars. Soon the thief and the cop intersect with neither any longer sure of their past or present as memory is sold along side of time on the exchange.

    This is a great intelligent science fiction thriller that uses quantum physics theories fueled by the seven deadly sins to take a fabulous tale. The story line is convoluted and difficult initially to grasp as Flambeur competes in deadly games against himself; he even conceals his most significant secret from himself. This may be the best quantum spin which grasps the scientific theoretical complexities inside of an exhilarating thriller since Vanna Bonta's 1998 Flight or perhaps the 1980s Professor Q books of Trevor Hoyle.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4