Customer Reviews for

Quantum Wellness: A Practical and Spiritual Guide to Health and Happiness

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Take Small Steps

    I expect that this new book by Kathy Freston is going to make some big waves. Not only because of the foreword written by #1 New York Times bestselling author Dr. Mehmet C. Oz. And not even because of the author's appearance at Oprah Show today. It is because makeovers is a very popular topic and Kathy Freston seems to have a good grip on it. As the title 'Quantum Wellness' suggests, our health, and our wellbeing can be achieved by focusing on small steps in our everyday life. Kathy offers for the readers the following eight Pillars of Wellness 1. Meditation. It is important for everyone to get some quiet time everyday, become really still, and look inside yourself. Connect with your 'inner light' and just be present). 2. Conscious eating. This not only mean eating less, or showing your food well. Conscious eating means most of all being aware of where your food comes from, how the animals are treated and how the environment is affected by the foods that you eat. To be healthy and happy about yourself you need have more integrity and to be conscious about what you eat. 3. Exercise. Many books have been written about it and this is nothing new for anyone. We just need to devote at least half an hour a day for moving our bodies. In my opinion taking Yoga classes is a great option, especially that it combines physical exercise with deep breathing and meditation. 4. Visualization. As suggested in The Secret, visualization is the mother of all achievements. 'It's like creating a blueprint for the way I want to become and setting down the intention,' Kathy says. 5. Spiritual practice. For some people it can mean prayer. For Kathy it is mainly about compassion, being aware of suffering that's all around and to be compassionate about it. 6. Self-work. Educate yourself - learn about your physical body, about your spirituality or emotional well-being.. For Kathy that means 'means going inside and learning where you're stuck and pushing yourself past what's comfortable.' 7. Service. Don't be stuck in your own world, reach out, help others. This will bring about great feeling of fulfillment. 8. Fun activities. It is important in everyone's live to have some fun. For some it could be listing to the good music, or dancing, or spending some time in a great company. You just need to get away from it all... To jump start the program Kathy suggests 21 day cleansing program to get rid of Caffeine, Sugar, Alcohol, Gluten, Animal Products. I suggest Complete Body Cleansing that is so well described in one of my favorite wellness books titled 'Can We Live 150 Years?'

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Important Steps to Transformation

    Ms. Freston has created a wonderful book that is focused on transforming our health and the relationship we have with the world. She writes about '8 Pillars' of wellness: Meditation, Visualization, Fun activities, Conscious eating, Exercise, Self-work, Spiritual practice and Service. Her idea is that by taking a series of small but important steps, we will eventually achieve 'Quantum Wellness.' It's an approach that involves compassion, not just for yourself, but for every living creature and the earth itself. Adopting a completely vegan lifestyle is challenging for me, both because I'm allergic to soy and I've got years of eating habits ingrained in me, but I'm taking it one day at a time and being kind with myself rather than an all or nothing approach. My emotional eating is improving tremendously, which was a major roadblock for me. This is a wonderful book that I think anyone could benefit from.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Oprah is right--this is a spectacular book!

    This book changed my life. I was exercising and eating right, but I was still living life in a more stressed out zone than is healthy. This book offered a wake-up call. Oprah's endorsement will help the book, and everyone who reads it will profit for the rest of their lives, I believe.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Great book for a healthy lifestyle

    I like to feel I am constantly evolving, mind and body, and Kathy Freston's book is another helpful step in that process for me. As an ethical vegan, reading her book reinforces my lifestyle choices as positive, not only for myself, but for the animals and the environment as well. I think everyone should pick up a copy, and start your own personal evolution.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    Kathy Freston believes that just one small thing you do (or several small things) can yield big results, and I think she's right. Looking back, I realize that it has worked that way for me many times in the past, I just never really thought about it until now. If you need motivation to do something--anything--to improve your life or even just the way you feel about yourself, this book is for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Life-changing!

    Until we start connecting to our food in a more meaningful way, real change within us can not happen. What an inspiring read - it's never too late to make a healthy and humane change to make our lives and the planet a better place. As an animal lover, the message of this book rings true!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "A Practical and Spiritual Guide" to Life and Conscious Living

    QUANTUM WELLNESS is such an amazing and beautiful gift to the world. By writing in an elegant, conversational way, Kathy Freston connects instantly to the reader and offers a simple and easy way to not only raise your own awareness of the way you conduct your life, but how to take simple steps to ease into a higher consciousness. Unlike some other spiritual books I have read in the past, nothing is forced upon you and simple suggestions are merely made as to bring awareness to your everyday living and how to "lean" into change. Freston has a lovely way with words and I was instantly pulled into her book and her guidance towards making a happy and healthier life for myself and the world.

    This book is truly a blessing and I thank you for writing this, Kathy! You have inspired me to contribute better to the world around me and to be conscious of the little things I do that can affect others.

    A must-read for anyone looking to better themselves and our planet around us!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    you have to read this book

    I can't recommend high enough this wonderful book. Quantum Wellness is one of those books you'll remember reading for the rest of your life. I am getting a copy for every family member I have -- it is a must read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Mind, Body, Spiti and the Environment

    Body-mind-spirit, and , most recently--environment 'eco-friendly' is the new mantra to living a full and complete and healthy life, as shown in Quantum Wellness and dozens of other new and not so new books. This is a good thing--seeing books on personal transformation extend beyond the self and into caring for the environment and all its inhabitants. The way we think, feel and act is interconnected with the planet and the animals--with all of life. For example, Kathy Freston supports vegan diets 'or at the very least vegetarian' not only because of the health benefits of a meat-free diet, but because eating most meat available in this country means eating animals that have been treated inhumanely. Additionally, raising animals for slaughter takes a toll on the environment. Freston calls this conscious eating and that means that nobody is harmed by what she puts into her body. Freston also supports using eco-friendly body care products and household cleaners--good for the environment and you.To name one of many books that support optimal health, veganism/vegetarianism and the green lifestyle is Growing Up Green: Baby and Child Care: Volume 2 in the Bestselling Green This! Series 'Green This!'. Quantum Wellness, according to Kathy Freston, is an achievable higher state if being. Freston writes: 'Quantum wellness is not about imposing big changes but about leaning into wellness, comfortably, adding things here and there to the thrust and taking baby steps toward the changes we want to achieve.' The quantum leap--or shift to quantum wellness occurs, according to Freston, as a result of many small steps. For example, Freston suggests baby steps to a more healthful diet--not meat eating one day and vegan the next. According to Freston, there are The Eight Pillars of Wellness: * Meditation * Visualization * Fun activities * Conscious eating * Exercise * Self-work * Spiritual practice * Service As an eco-friendly interior designer and feng shui practitioner, I was delighted to see Freston write about the importance of home in supporting our health. She tells us to remove clutter, resist buying new stuff unless we either love it or truly need it, and to use as little chemicals 'cleaning products, personal care products,' as possible. This is very good advice, as the home definitely affects our well-being. For a complete guide to greening your home 'as well as making it beautiful and energetically vibrant' for optimal wellness, read, Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify and Energize Your Life, Your Home and Your Planet. As previously mentioned, Freston supports veganism for optimal health. Understanding that the transition from omnivore to vegetarian can be difficult and that veganism is almost impossible for many of us to comprehend, she describes her own process and offers many helpful tips for the reader to adapt. According to Freston, living the vegan lifestyle is empowering. The book also contains vegetarian and vegan recipes to help us make the transition in our diets. Freston covers a lot of ground in Quantum Wellness, including dealing with addictions and fears and questions to ask yourself when you aren't feeling 100%. As an extroverted person, I have a hard time with some of these sections. Some people love to ask themselves questions and ponder...I either meditate or take a hike when I'm feeling sad, mad or whatever and that generally works for me. because of this, I got overwhelmed with all the suggestions of things to do to achieve perfect wellness. On the other hand, I love that she suggests having some fun everyday. Overall, a very good and inspirational book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Simply the Best

    Thank you to Oprah for guiding me to this inspirational treasure. Thank you for taking the challenge as well. This book and its contents will change lives for the better. It is a must read. I know what my friends and family will be getting for gifts soon. :-)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Quantum Wellness: A Practical and Spiritual Guide to Health and Happiness

    The effectiveness in a book is inarguably how it affects others. So rather than my telling how well written this book is and how much I enjoyed reading it, the real coup is that it reached Oprah's Heart. What more can one say for this must-read?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Quantum Wellness: A Practical and Spiritual Guide to Health and Happiness

    Having a bit of fun along the way to Quantum Wellness, Freston's book encourages each of us to take steps along the road to living a healthy, spiritual lifestyle. That she has encouraged animal loving, compassionate Oprah to understand that being spiritual means not eating the animals that one profeeses to love is just wonderful. Readers will surely take a step, whether it is large or small, along the passageway to happiness. A powerful book for sure!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Vital Information for Health

    This wonderful book provides vital information on how to be healthy, on a physical, emotional, and spiritual level. Great advice for anyone wanting to improve your own health as well as the health of our planet and the treatment of billions of animals.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Kathy Freston is a great writer with a great vision!

    She has even convinced Oprah to try a vegan diet! While I haven't finished the book, I love the optimistic tone and the realistic advice--I am a vegan and I know that a vegan diet is better for the planet, people, and animals. I can't wait to read more of Freston's work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Striving to do more

    As a vegan who constantly strives to be a better, well-rounded person, Freston¿s book looks exactly like the direction I need. The Eight Pillars of Wellness are actually understandable and very achievable. Overall, the point seems to be to stop and actually think. Think about what you eat, think about your body, life, and soul. Plus, and this I find to be extremely important, don¿t forget to have fun. I heard Oprah will be attempting this transformation, and I am not far behind. I know how much better I feel just being a vegan, I can¿t wait to read this book and continue down that path.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    'A Practical and Spiritual Guide' to Life and Conscious Living

    QUANTUM WELLNESS is such an amazing and beautiful gift to the world. By writing in an elegant, conversational way, Kathy Freston connects instantly to the reader and offers a simple and easy way to not only raise your own awareness of the way you conduct your life, but how to take simple steps to ease into a higher consciousness. Unlike some other spiritual books I have read in the past, nothing is forced upon you and simple suggestions are merely made as to bring awareness to your everyday living and how to 'lean' into change. Freston has a lovely way with words and I was instantly pulled into her book and her guidance towards making a happy and healthier life for myself and the world. This book is truly a blessing and I thank you for writing this, Kathy! You have inspired me to contribute better to the world around me and to be conscious of the little things I do that can affect others. A must-read for anyone looking to better themselves and our planet around us!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Amazing book!

    I learned so much about how to live a spirtual, compassion filled life from this book. This is one of my "go to" books, I have read this book many times. I love the recipes in the back, many of them i make over & over. I recommend this to anyone who wonders why they feel empty and are searching for some peace in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Falls short of expectation...

    Save your money and go get Keeping aBreast Ways to Prevent Breast cancer instead. As a therapist I research what I read before I recommend and Dr. Mahmud has proven results from what I've seen in his articles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    A wonderful book!

    I have this book in paperback and also the audio CD. I have listened to Kathy's CD book many times during my long commutes home. She is wonderful and full of healing knowledge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book changed my life in a QUANTUM way!!!

    I have always been someone who tries to take care of myself in the mental, physical, and emotional way, but I have never really recognized the true connection of the 3 until Kathy Freston's book, Quantum Wellness. Kathy talks of so many tiny things that we take for granted, since we tend to live in our routines without taking account for things, and reminds us to live consciously---in SUCH a kind and easy way. She recommends "leaning" into things and not take on too much, just what you can now, to make yourself and the world a better place. I am in week 1 of her cleanse and I have truly never FELT BETTER in my entire life. It's just too easy and too great and I am SO thankful to Kathy and this book! A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3