Customer Reviews for

Quarantined

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very good biological thriller

"Quarantined" was a very good scientific and political thriller book. It starts with a murder mystery which serves as the backbone for this novella. It was only 162 Nook Tablet pages, but moved at the right pace for me. The science discussed in the book is plausible and...
"Quarantined" was a very good scientific and political thriller book. It starts with a murder mystery which serves as the backbone for this novella. It was only 162 Nook Tablet pages, but moved at the right pace for me. The science discussed in the book is plausible and possible, and that is what makes it a really scary scenario. However, a quarantine, as described in the book, would not work. And, that is the reason for 4 out of 5 stars rating.

A city-wide quarantine of this variety (the walled-in kind) has not been used since the Black Death ravaged Europe. Even then, it was a voluntary form of seclusion for one city/town/village, to my knowledge. Outsiders left food and water for the townsfolk in exchange for coins soaked in vinegar.

It would not be a practical containment solution here and now. First, no American would agree to live in seclusion and squallor (including poverty and near starvation) for an indeterminate period of time, while dependent on others for food, water, and other basic needs. Meanwhile, an involuntary quarantine would breed discontentment, anger, fear, and riots just like the author described in the story.

I really enjoyed this book. My favorite parts were the murder mystery and the scientific explanations regarding the disease, possible vectors/carriers, and clear symptomology. How do you deal with an enemy that you cannot see? What would I do in a situation like the one that Lily and her family faced? This book caused me to think deeply about these questions and more.

Character development was mostly adequate, except for Lily and Chunk. The story is told from the point of view of the female cop/mother/wife, Detective Lily Harris. She really got under my skin, in a good way. Her cop partner and good friend, Chunk, was a really cool character. The interactions between these two, and the relationship that they was very detailed and interesting. However, the descriptions of Lily's husband and child, the W.H.O. scientists, and Lt. Treager were sketchy, at best.

The writing was good. The plot was interesting. And, the characters were mostly likeable. But, the ending seemed rushed and a little weak. The epilogue was a nice touch, though.

What I learned: 1. Do not trust the government to save you when a major epidemic happens in your town. 2. You and your family can only depend on each other when bad "stuff" happens. 3. Count on a cover up by the government when the problem is really bad. And, expect one, especially, when they decide "that we are all goners".

I highly recommend this book to older readers, because there is one graphic sex scene, a lot of death, and bad language is used throughout.

-AvidReader

posted by AvidReader0 on May 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

not bad, interesting concept.

Okay, I totally got this at first because the authors last name is the same as mine, and the story takes place in San Antonio, Texas, where I used to live. It's a quick murder mystery set during a horrible flu epidemic that has the entire city in quarantine. Interesti...
Okay, I totally got this at first because the authors last name is the same as mine, and the story takes place in San Antonio, Texas, where I used to live. It's a quick murder mystery set during a horrible flu epidemic that has the entire city in quarantine. Interesting story, characters were a little flat, but it was worth the money for a quick read while waiting at the dentist or downtime at work or something.

posted by kmeghan on October 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Very good biological thriller

    "Quarantined" was a very good scientific and political thriller book. It starts with a murder mystery which serves as the backbone for this novella. It was only 162 Nook Tablet pages, but moved at the right pace for me. The science discussed in the book is plausible and possible, and that is what makes it a really scary scenario. However, a quarantine, as described in the book, would not work. And, that is the reason for 4 out of 5 stars rating.

    A city-wide quarantine of this variety (the walled-in kind) has not been used since the Black Death ravaged Europe. Even then, it was a voluntary form of seclusion for one city/town/village, to my knowledge. Outsiders left food and water for the townsfolk in exchange for coins soaked in vinegar.

    It would not be a practical containment solution here and now. First, no American would agree to live in seclusion and squallor (including poverty and near starvation) for an indeterminate period of time, while dependent on others for food, water, and other basic needs. Meanwhile, an involuntary quarantine would breed discontentment, anger, fear, and riots just like the author described in the story.

    I really enjoyed this book. My favorite parts were the murder mystery and the scientific explanations regarding the disease, possible vectors/carriers, and clear symptomology. How do you deal with an enemy that you cannot see? What would I do in a situation like the one that Lily and her family faced? This book caused me to think deeply about these questions and more.

    Character development was mostly adequate, except for Lily and Chunk. The story is told from the point of view of the female cop/mother/wife, Detective Lily Harris. She really got under my skin, in a good way. Her cop partner and good friend, Chunk, was a really cool character. The interactions between these two, and the relationship that they was very detailed and interesting. However, the descriptions of Lily's husband and child, the W.H.O. scientists, and Lt. Treager were sketchy, at best.

    The writing was good. The plot was interesting. And, the characters were mostly likeable. But, the ending seemed rushed and a little weak. The epilogue was a nice touch, though.

    What I learned: 1. Do not trust the government to save you when a major epidemic happens in your town. 2. You and your family can only depend on each other when bad "stuff" happens. 3. Count on a cover up by the government when the problem is really bad. And, expect one, especially, when they decide "that we are all goners".

    I highly recommend this book to older readers, because there is one graphic sex scene, a lot of death, and bad language is used throughout.

    -AvidReader

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Love Joe Mckinney, great storyteller good to see him with permut

    Love Joe Mckinney, great storyteller good to see him with permuted press, Check out his other titles, good zombie reads

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    not bad, interesting concept.

    Okay, I totally got this at first because the authors last name is the same as mine, and the story takes place in San Antonio, Texas, where I used to live. It's a quick murder mystery set during a horrible flu epidemic that has the entire city in quarantine. Interesting story, characters were a little flat, but it was worth the money for a quick read while waiting at the dentist or downtime at work or something.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The story was very well written

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The story was very well written and many times had me wondering what I would do in a situation like this. Joe McKinney is one of favorite authors. I purchase everything he writes and this story does not disappoint. There is humor, fear, action, and mystery all rolled into one. For his zombie fans (I am definately one), this is not a novel about zombies. Although there is a virus, the story is about trying to solve a murder and live a "normal" life in the midst of fear and uncertainty. Check it out I don't think you'll be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    A Must Read - Bring Extra Purell!

    Excellent, fast-paced novel. I cannot imagine having to go through what Lily and the people of San Antonio had to. A++, McKinney delivers yet again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Fantastic!

    Joe never fails to deliver the goods. You can certainly see by his masterful language why he got nominated for a Stoker.

    Any long-time fan of the horror genre should take a peek - just don't think you'll emerge the same on the other side!

    Great job, Mr. McKinney!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    To contaigious

    Hm. I like it, especially all the characters in there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Contagious: Chapter One

    "Run!" I warn to the boy with the bronze hair. He doesn't. What he does is take a trident from his bag and skewers to rambler through the neck but almost gets bitten by a crawler. The other boy with the white and red hair crushes its backbone. "Thanks," the bronze-haired one whispers. The white and red haired one just nods as two shapes wipe the zombie horde out. One is small and green, the other blue and rainbow and flying. "Don't get in Leone's way!" Yet another voice calls as the blue pegasus stops in midair. "Dude, did you see that?" The dark-haired boy stays silent. "Nobody gets in my way!" He mistakenly growls as a tiny rhinoceros with wings almost like mine walks in front of him. A scrawny kid chases it. "No!" A cat slashes viciously and I notice an abandoned bunker. "Get inside!" We duck into shelter. <p>
    "We should really know who everyone is." The dark-haried girl locks fingers with the boy. I stretch my silver wings. "I'm Hanna." The girl with the bow speaks first. "Katniss." And we go around like this. "Peeta." "Prim." "Rue." "Annie." "Finnick." "Twilight." "Rarity." "Rainbow Dash." "Fluttershy..." "Pinkie Pie!" "Applejack." "Henry." "Henrietta." "Gingka." "Ryuga." "Kyoya." "Tsubasa." "Yu." "Tibbi." "Gale." "Hollyleaf." "Squirrelflight." "Ratchet." "Clank." <br>
    "Great. Now, the world has ended. We're the survivors. We need to work together." Somehow, a runner gets into our bunker. Katniss whips out a bow and shoots it in the neck. The rest of the horde's got in, but Rainbow Dash takes care of them. Applejack bucks the door shut. "Ah think that lock seems a tiny bit outta shape," she says. Henry stands. "I'll do it." He pushes the full weight of his body on the door and then lets go. Before I can say that it won't cut it, he breathes in deeply and opens his eyes. His fingertips are literally on fire. He sears the lock, melting it. "How are we going to get out?" Finnick inquires. Henry shoots a cold look at him. "The dandelion fire mingles with my blood. I can undo it." With a bang, Ratchet leaps in. "Or I could mini-nuke the door!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    not so sure

    This book really left me wanting something. It just seemed that there should have been more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    I read four chapters before unable to continue. I was very put o

    I read four chapters before unable to continue. I was very put off by Lily immediately when she was talking with the English man about Emma. I thought the writing was very immature.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Review

    Good read with lots of twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2