Customer Reviews for

Quarter Share

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    A fabulous change of pace for space opera

    This was probably the most enjoyable book I read in 2010. I was so enthralled that I discovered the joy of audio books as well, in order to get access to the rest of the series. Highly recommended, as are the audio versions; Mr. Lowell is a wonderful story teller, no one should miss this or any of his works. I plan on enjoying those presently unavailable in print again when published, having delighted in listening to Sar reading his own marvelous work.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    I wish there were more books in this series!

    Millions of books are published every year. Many are worth your time. Some are great stories. Few have characters that become a part of you; characters you genuinely care about; characters you wish you knew in real life. Ishmael Horatio Wang (rhymes with gong) is one of those characters.

    The books in this series, by Nathan Lowell--and thankfully there are six, though I still wish there were more--are Quarter Share, Half Share, Full Share, Double Share, Captain's Share, and Owner's Share. A share is just that, a share in the profits of a trading ship. These ships ferry goods between worlds in the not so distant future.

    These are not stories of epic space battles, or alien invasions. These are the stories of a boy becoming a man and facing the sort of personal challenges such a journey entails. He struggles with personal character issues in ways many of us wish we could. He is an imperfect person as are we all. He experiences triumphs, tragedies, love, and loss with a truly unique and endearing style.

    If you are looking to read about epic space battles, these books aren't for you. If, however, you want to go on the journey of a lifetime, with characters you will forever hold dear in your heart, welcome aboard.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly Gifted Storytelling

    Nathan Lowell is a truly gifted storyteller. Quarter Share follows the life of young Ishmael Wang, beginning with boyhood tragedy, then follows him as he joins the crew of a deep space freighter. We ride along as Ishmael starts the exiting, and at times intimidating, journey toward manhood. Nathan masterfully weaves a tapestry capturing the essence of life: society, economy, friendship, sorrow, love, fear, conflict: the big and small adventures that are real life. The story will capture you and you'll even see yourself in the characters.

    Nathan brings the spirit and talent of some of classic Science Fiction's storytelling powerhouses back to us, especially Robert Heinlein. An outstanding read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This book is fantastic. The story follows Ishmael on his quest for work in the stars on a trading ship. Nathan Lowell has quickly become one of my absolute favorite authors. I hope to see more of his books soon on Barnes and Noble. His other works can be found on podiobooks.com

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    A MUST have!

    I like others first found this book on Podiobooks.com AND LOVED IT. This entire series is a must have both in digital form and print. I cannot give this book higher praise. The story itself is unique and fun, the characters can really strike cords in your heart and it is unusual in the way its not some big epic adventure. Even though it is an adventure! The story is more down to earth and really makes you feel like you could be someone on-board the Lois. So looking forward to more books and stories from this fine author!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    A fun bit of space opera read

    This book launches a series of merchant-marine-in-space novels which celebrate everyday initiative, pluck, and compassion towards one's companions. Ishmael Wang's story has a bit of "coming-of-age" novel about it, but works like a cross between a naval career series and a set of Horatio Alger novels brought into the 21st Century. This is all a good read, with interesting characters--a light entertainment to ease a worried mind. I get a bit bored in life of destructor machines eradicating civilization or sword/sorcery/space cliche work. These books mine instead future history sci-fi, thrift-and-pluck novels and the space navy theme in a light-hearted and entirely non-violent way. A refreshing, light read, told with a sure hand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Heart of Classic Science Fiction

    I originally "read" Quarter Share, by Nathan Lowell, in the original podiobook format. I, like many of Nathan's fans, are eagerly awaiting the print release of his fantastic story (and the rest of the 'Golden Age of the Solar Clipper' series) so that I (we) can delve into his fantastic story again (and again).

    If I can give you my quick and dirty recommendation: GIVE THIS ONE A TRY NOW!

    It is a fantastic story that will resonate with you long after you have read the last word. It is a refreshing break from mainstream, "shoot-em-up and save the galaxy in time for dinner" science fiction, showing us the real, human side of our potentially bright future. If you like classic Heinlein (such as the Rolling Stones, Farmer in the Sky, Citizen of the Galaxy), then this one is definitely up your alley.


    Here's my longer, more detailed recommendation:

    Quarter Share is not your typical futuristic sci-fi story. It is not a story based on waring nations or individuals bent on conquest or domination, so it does not easily fit into the mold of what many of us have come to expect from the sci-fi genre. Instead, it breaks the mold by concentrating on the life and experiences of what Nathan refers to as the "common man". Truthfully, as I started listening to this, at first I was very sceptical of this type of sci-fi story for the first couple chapters and was very unsure of where it was going. Then without really realizing it, I was fully immersed in the story and found that I was very interested in where Ish (the main character) was going to end up in his life, or at least where he was going to be by the end of the story... and I couldn't stop listening.

    It was a strange transition for me to suddenly be draw so completely into a story about the simple, average, and often repetitive everyday struggles of a common person. By the end of the story, however, I was more invested emotionally and more interested in the small victories that these common characters were able to accomplish throughout the story than I honestly expected I'd be... in fact, I find that the characters in this story have resonated and stuck in my mind more than most of the other sci-fi books I have read (and I've read hundreds of sci-fi books over the last 25 years). Don't get me wrong, I love a good action oriented hero story set in the sci-fi genre as much as anyone else... it's just that this one is so unlike those other storytelling methods that I thoroughly enjoyed Nathan's Quarter Share as much, if not more, than those mainstream offerings... just in a very different, more meaningful manner.

    The story revolves around Ishmael Wang, known as Ish to his friends and intimates, a young man who is growing up on a corporate-owned planet. After his mother dies in a tragic (fateful) flitter crash, Ish lands a job as a low level crew member (with a "quarter share" of the ship's profits) on an interstellar solar clipper called the Lois McKendrick. Ish begins to see a brighter future unfold as he begins to learn the ins and outs of shipboard life. The story conveys the normal trials and tribulations of a young sailor on an interstellar trading vessel as he finds his place in the grand scheme of things and starts planning to have an active role in the development of his future.

    This one is well worth the time! You won't be sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Mr. Lowell is very good at telling a compelling story built on t

    Mr. Lowell is very good at telling a compelling story built on the small moments in life.  He has created a full wonderfully detailed universe and I grew attached to the characters that populate it.  I'm working my way through the entire series, I'm now on book 4, and I haven't been disappointed yet. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book! I'm tired of simplistic novels with "cho

    I loved this book! I'm tired of simplistic novels with "chosen" or preternaturally "gifted" protagonists and conflicts always framed and driven by destructiveness and war. Lowell's novel was a refreshing change: a coming-of-age tale of a young man finding his gifts and his place in a future where merchant ships ply the star lanes between company planets and other worlds, and where learning to live with and complement others - not fight with and kill them! - is the road to success.

    As soon as I finished this book, I bought all the others currently available in this series. That tells you how much I enjoyed this book. I can't wait to read the rest of the books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1