Customer Reviews for

Quarterlife Crisis: The Unique Challenges of Life in Your Twenties

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    Fast delivery service

    I ordered this book on May 11, and it was shipped May 12. The on May 28 I received a noticed from our local post office that the book has already arrived and ready to get claimed. I live in the Philippines, and chose the International Priority Airmail for a shipping method. Despite that I was already expecting that it's going to take longer than 14 days before I'd get the delivery. But I was surprised to have the item delivered to me even less than that. This is my first time to order from Barnes and I know this isn't going to be the last. Thanks :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2005

    Excellent

    This book is great. It really describes everything you go through in your 20s so well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    I THOUGHT I WAS THE ONLY TWENTY FOUR YEAR OLD WHO FELT THIS WAY. I GUESS I WAS WRONG:

    What is a quarterlife crisis? What a question I thought to myself when I first saw this book in the book store. I've heard of a midlife crisis before, but a quarterlife crisis? That's when I picked up the book and read the whole thing in a week. What a great book I must say. I am twenty four years old and I truly believed that I was the only person in the world who felt like they were never going to make in the world. All my friends have jobs and they are successful at them. I on the other hand have no idea what I want to do with the rest of my life. This book made me feel better knowing that I am not alone in the world and not the only person who doesn't know what they want out of life. I highly recommend this book to every kid because your dreams change once you graduate and so does your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    CONQUERING YOUR QUARTERLIFE CRISIS IS BETTER

    Yeah, this book didn't really do much for me because there were no solutions. Then I read the sequel, which is Conquering Your Quarterlife Crisis, and that one had solutions that helped. So I would recommend Conquering Your Quarterlife Crisis instead of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2004

    Yeah! I am NOT ALONE in my unhappiness

    I was so desperate to understand why I am unhappy at this point in my life. I no longer fit in with the college crowd, but am not yet an old person. I hate my job and my social situation. This book has helped me tremendously!!! Now at least I am aware of what is making me unhappy and knowing that I am not alone is the best feeling. I have hope that things will get better and life will move on and I can be happy again!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    A good collection of ideas, not such a great guide

    After a life of schooling, it can be difficult to know how to truly make it with nobody looking over your shoulder; In ¿Quarterlife Crisis: The Unique Challenges of Life in Your Twenties,¿ Alexandra Robbins and Abby Wilner write of a largely overlooked phenomena that many people face and must identify. They quote from hundreds of different people from twenty to thirty that spent all their time going to school and preparing for the `real world,¿ and finding themselves lonely, broke, and completely unable to find a job to be passionate about. The over all purpose of the book is to make it obvious the reader that he/she is not alone in their insecurities, as many people in the book say, It seems like everyone knows what they¿re doing with their lives but they themselves. Since this is obviously far from the truth, ¿Quarterlife Crisis¿ strives to help readers identify with their worries and uncertainties about what they should be doing with their lives. As far a self- help guide, ¿Quarterlife Crisis¿ falls short of providing real help and support to readers seeking answers to their questions. It claims to provide assistance in order to help readers make sense of their seemingly pointless lives, but all it really does is make it apparent just how many people struggle at this point. Most feel pressured to find a career, start a family, and buy a suburban house with a white picket fence as soon as possible. The problem arises when these people find that they cannot find a job that they can apply their education to, let alone their heart. It causes feelings of despair, confusion and loneliness. It is compared to a midlife crisis in that it is a period of time where people search for direction and meaning in their unsatisfying lives. When nobody is telling you what is best for your future, it can be difficult to know where to let life take you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    Do not read this unless you want justification to become a teacher!

    It seemed like the majority of people interviewed for this book were wanting justification of why they should become a teacher or go into the field of education. The book read like a late night talk with college kids - a lot of interesting observations and ramblings, but not a whole lot based in actual fact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    Some twentysomethings have not been to college

    I found this book helpful in understanding my feelings, and in knowing that I am not alone. However, It failed to address the twentysomethings that have not been to college.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2001

    Nothing but the truth!

    This is a great documentary on the lives of modern twnetysomethings, myself included. Finally, our real life stories and struggles are documented and discussed. We don't have to feel alone in our doubts, questions, and fears. I'd recommend it to anyone from late teens to mid thirties, or anyone who knows someone going through such a stage in life. They'll nod their heads as they read through the book as I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2001

    What a great book!

    It was like someone was reading through my journals. The book did not present a right and wrong way to do things, that's up to each individual. But it did present numerous scenarios of other twentysomethings in similar situations. It felt good to know that I wasn't the only one struggling with feelings of doubt, anxiety and fear, not just about my career, family and friends, but life in general. After I finished the book, I didn't feel I was any closer to conquering my own demons, but it gave me hope that my depression will not last forever. Thanks for a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2001

    Amen

    These writers obviously know what they are talking about. Several of my friends have discussed this book and their experiences have been the same. There really is a mini-crises after graduation until we 'settle down.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2001

    Great Book for Twentysomethings!

    What a great book! I loved it, and needed to read it. It's just good to know others are going through the same thing. It's a great price and a great read, so I gave it to about 5 people as graduation gifts. HIGHLY recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1