BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Queen (Patrick Bowers Files Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Great!

    Awesome series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Very good read!

    The books are good..but am I the only one who thinks Tessa sounds and acts more like a child than a teenager? Very annoying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    The Quees

    I have really enjoyed the Patrick Bowers series, they are well written, interesting and enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Highly Recommenened

    I loved reading these books could not put them down . I could not wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Great reads

    I found The Pawn in our church library and got hooked on the series.. Have read The Rook and The Bishop, and just finished The Queen. Great reads. Keeps me up late at night and hungry for more when I finish a book. The complete series - five stars all the way. I just purchased The King and can't wait to delve into it. Actually I dread finishing The King. What will I read next?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Wow.

    I think instead of "the queen", this book should be called "the masterpiece." It was just that good...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Great Writer

    Steven James is a wonderful mystery writer. This book ties into previous books well and leaves a great opening for the next one. Ends in a truly unexpected twist!! I only give this book 4 stars instead of 5 because it wasn't as gripping as the previous four, but was still amazing! Can't wait to read the next in the series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Great as usual

    This series has been a real surprise. The Pawn was originally offered as a Free Friday nook book and I have been hooked ever since....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Great!

    I've really been enjoying this series and am looking forward to the next book.

    They are a pretty quick and easy read. Great summer reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Outstanding

    Great book. Kept me on my toes what happens. And the ending is.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    In my mind I'm reviewing all the names of chess pieces and prayi

    In my mind I'm reviewing all the names of chess pieces and praying James switches to Monopoly to ensure that this series will not end. Patrick Bowers and his step-daughter Tessa are like old friends by now, and I want to keep reading about them for years to come. I love how James tells Patrick's story in first-person, but all the other characters are third-person. It keeps the pace of the story quick, while reminding us who it's about. This book, like his others, reads like a high-adventure action movie. I had my suspicions about how the book would end, but the very last page left me speechless. I only have 2 problems with the stories: there have been so many "bad guys" in his books that it's hard to remember "now, which one was that?" and from the information given, Patrick was really, REALLY young when he worked his first big case, and I find that a bit hard to believe. But then, what do I know? All that aside, this book is one of James' best and will leave you salivating for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Good read.

    First book I've read by Steven James, loved it and will read more from him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    I loved the Patrick Bowers series!

    Each and every book drew me in and held my interest to the end. This last book in the series was everything you would expect and much more! Steven James brings up some very interesting and scary points to think about throughout the book. Can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    A must read! Absolutly keeps you guessing

    I love this series! Kept me interested all the way though each book, couldn't wait to start the next one and now waiting for the next one to be released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Wow!

    This book was amazing. I'm sorry to see it end. There was enough about the series that was wrapped up, that I am hoping it's not goodbye to these characters. Now that I have flown through the five books in this series, I'm going to have to be patient and wait for Steven James' next book in the fall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Winner

    This past summer I attended a writer¿s conference in Tennessee. Steven James was one of the main speakers, so I picked up The Bishop to read before I went. After all, I wanted to be familiar with the authors who would be leading the conference. After reading the first few chapters I had to ask myself ¿ ¿How in the world did I miss this guy?¿ The writing was tight, the plot complex, the pacing accelerating like a hopped-up Ferrari. However, the story was not for the faint of heart. Graphic and unnerving descriptions of serial murders were front and center. But the protagonist, FBI agent and geospatial intelligence specialist Dr. Patrick Bowers doggedly tracked down the killers as he handled problems on the home front with his intelligent and perceptive stepdaughter, Tessa. Since then I have read all James¿ Patrick Bowers novels. Each one keeping me up late at night turning those pages, although toward the end of each novel I purposely slowed down, not wanting to finish such a well-written book too quickly. The Queen, the latest in the series, does not disappoint. In fact, it¿s the best Bowers book so far. Bowers finds himself in the wintery woods of northern Wisconsin investigating a double homicide, chasing an international assassin, and dealing with an estranged brother. As the snow drifts deeper, Bowser faces eco-terrorists and criminal masterminds with evil agendas all their own. As with all his novels, James expertly weaves the characters from previous books into the plot. If you¿ve read all the books from The Pawn through The Bishop you are definitely familiar with James¿ heroes and villains and the battle of good vs. evil. This conflict is what I appreciate the most. Bowers is indeed the ¿Good Guy¿ and the bad guys are, well, evil and yet James is not willing to allow us to settle for simple solutions, for black and white answers. James¿ characters fight the evil in others and in themselves. Concepts of the evil within each human heart, guilt, and forgiveness are wrestled with sincerely but never heavy-handedly. The Queen is not just a good read, but a well-crafted story with multi-faceted characters, a storyline with a good many hairpin turns, and a plot that not afraid to explore our darker nature and yet unashamedly holds out hope. Steven James has certainly moved this queen into the checkmate position. It is a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Great reads!!

    I've read all of this series and loved them! Wish he'd write more!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    Highly Recommend the entire series

    WOW, this did not disappoint. Love the whole Patrick Bowers series and its characters. What a plot twister Steven James is. Awaiting the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I've read all of the Patrick Bowers Files series. All are excellent. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    Gotta Have It!!!!

    Any Patrick Bowers fan has got to have this book! Keeps you on the edge of your seat and leaves you dying for the next book. Keep them coming!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7