Customer Reviews for

The Queen Bee of Bridgeton

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing story! Absolutely love it

    I absolutely loved this book! It was a refreshing and beautiful read. I previously read Priscilla the Great and loved it, so I had high expectations for The Queen Bee of Bridgeton. I caught myself laughing out loud, crying, and in shock of the twists and turns in the story.

    Sonya Garrison's life is on repeat with dance, school, dance, and more dance. Her dream is to be the next big ballerina and she works so hard at that dream and is afraid of any distractions. Especially dangerous distractions in her neighborhood of Venton Heights. Although Sonya loves to dance, she feels as if she's failing in comparison to her brilliant sister Sasha. To her, things for Sasha seem to always run smoothly.

    Sonya has heard a rumor around school, that for generations, The Queen Bee title has been passed down behind the scenes at Bridgeton Academy. Never did she think it would be true until she catches the eye of the star, white basketball player, Will Maddox. Will is weird and creepily honest with Sonya and first, but when Sonya gives him a chance she ends up falling in love with Will.

    To be honest, I expected the novel to be more about Sonya learning to overcome a racial relationship issue. The best part about this story was that Sonya just wanted a place to belong and NOT to Venton Heights' dangerous schemes and deals around the streets. She knows she doesn't belong there and just wants to make it out alive.

    I really enjoyed Sonya's character and personality. She was funny, kind, beautiful, hard-working, and smart and she just gets better after falling for Will. This story has so many heart-wrenching, good and bad, situations and I was constantly hoping for all to work out and rooting for Sonya. Not to mention I was constantly on edge, because of the insane drama going down with The (psycho) Queen Bees at school!

    Overall this story was perfect. A fantastic novel about finding a place and how love, no matter who it is with, can change your life. Leslie DuBois's writing was crisp and clear and hooked me from the beginning. I recommend this novel to anyone and I guarantee you won't be sorry you picked it up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    great story

    Sonya lives in a poor neighborhood with her older sister and her mom. She won 2 tickets to balet in elementry school and wanted to dance. Her mom could not afford to give her lessons but did buy a old pair of dance shoes for her. She found a dance studio that was the close as she could and watched from the windows and tried to copy them. When she got caught she offered to clean in exchange for dance lessons. Has continued now before school which she got into on scholarship and her sister has been thier after trying out 6 times. Sonya tries to be invisible to the students thier she does not fit in only a few black students go their. one day she forgot her dance shoes in her locker and hurried back to get them and a door crashes into her face. will and girl were making out and she realized this was second time she seen him after making out with someone. Sonja looks at him and said you have sad eyes.
    Will has been watching her for a while and asks her out and shes says no. She has no idea who he is or even his name. her sister cant believe she said no to him. between her dance lessons and when she gives lessons she has an hour and will shows up at studio with flowers and gets her to go to eat.
    Thier is a bunch of girls running the school and sets kids up that are in thier way or just for fun. No one knows exactly whos doing it. They dont like Sonja dating the basketball star and try to set her up and break them apart.
    It is a good story and you want to root for sonja and will and see everything work out for the best. I enjoyed the book. I recieved it in exchange for honest review from librarything

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Review: The Queen Bee of Bridgeton

    When I saw The Queen Bee of Bridgeton, it was love at first sight. I fell in love with the cover before I even started reading. And then I started reading, and I fell even more in love with this novel. And to give you a heads-up now: This is probably going to be one of my longer reviews.
    Three things I loved about this novel:
    1. It's not about the rich girl who gets whatever she wants, except for maybe the guy she actually likes or the car she wants. To clarify: As much as I enjoy novels about rich girls, like Gossip Girl and the Pretty Little Liars series, I like novels about the regular, middle- and lower-class girls more.
    2. I like it that it's told from a black girl's perspective. Most of the novels I read are told from a white character's perspective, and as much as I enjoy those novels, it's nice to read something that's not about someone who is the same ethnicity as myself.
    3. Speaking of ethnicity, I loved it that the concept of not being black enough for black people but too black for white people showed up in this novel. It actually reminded me of the movie Selena, when Selena's dad talks about having to be Hispanic enough for the Hispanics, but white enough for white people, and how it's a really fine line and a difficult thing to achieve. I've never seen this concept discussed in a novel other than The Queen Bee of Bridgeton, and I think it's an incredibly important issue. Race in general is an incredibly important issue, so I'm glad it's in the novel, and I think DuBois did a great job with exploring different ideas when it comes to race.
    Aside from those things, there are so many things to love about this novel. Though it tackles some serious issues, it's not without humor. I can't possibly write down every sentence that made me laugh, because there are too many, but there were moments where I was definitely cracking up.
    The writing is amazing, and there is one sentence in particular that I absolutely have to quote: "To see her dance was like having an exquisite ocean wave of loveliness pound against the walls of my heart" (page 36). I read that, and it blew me away. It is easily the best simile I have read in a long time. It's one of those sentences that resonates so well with me because that is exactly how I feel when I listen to certain songs and read certain poems. Later, Sonya, the narrator, also says that she dances because she can't not dance. She describes it as a stream of life-giving water that nourishes her soul. Her friend/crush Will says that he feels the same way about basketball. That resonated with me as well, because that's how I feel about reading, writing, and running. I love it that I can relate to this novel in some way, even though Sonya and I are completely different in so many ways.
    I adore Sonya. I wanted things to work out for her. I wanted her to get everything she wanted. My heart ached for her in places. I was happy and excited for her in other places. And the ending of the novel? It made me cry. . . . And that is something that rarely happens when I read. The Queen Bee of Bridgeton is now one of my favorite novels. Reading it is a huge emotional investment. It's beautiful, serious, funny, sad, happy. It's everything I want in a novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    Words can not DESCRIBE how much I love this book. The story is s

    Words can not DESCRIBE how much I love this book. The story is
    so...beautiful, shocking, and there was a lot of work put into the
    writing. I didn't know there was a 2nd or 3rd book when I finished it,
    so I was crying that this perfect story was over (not to mention the
    beauty of the ending :D). I just found the 2nd and 3rd and I am now
    having a party, hopping around like crazy. Sonya was such a great
    character. She was very dynamic, and a well-rounded person, that I fell
    in love with her from the beginning. And Will was like...the human
    version of Edward Cullen. Seriously. He wasn't perfect, and that's what
    MADE him perfect (if that makes any sense. READ THIS BOOK. You have too.
    You'll fall in love with it. The plot was amazing, the characters were
    brilliant, and the dance was well involved. The setting seemed nice, and
    I love the ending. Getting ready to read The Devil of DiRisio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Wonderful book!

    A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!!!

    I have never been a fan of books that have any racial content. However each book thus far that I have read by Leslie DuBois have been phenomenal. The Queen Bee of Bridgeton was sensational I could not wait to see the outcome. As the other readers have said this was a true pager turner and you rallied for Sonya to be triumphant in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LESLIE DUBOIS' "THE QUEEN BEE OF BRIDGETON" (A REVIEW)

    I must say the Leslie DuBois is fast becoming one of my favorite authors. Her ability with writing stories about teens that are riveting, inspiring, and in depth is simply amazing. This story is about an African American teen that has had to overcome so much in her life to gain her true place in the world only to see it almost destroyed by a group of girls with a jealous streak. Unlike any other story of this kind that I have ever read, Leslie once again brings her characters to life and pulls the reader in placing them into the shoes of this young girl and making them realize just how hard it is to be a teenager.
    I commend her on her writing skills and her seemingly effortless flow. I will be sure to pick up more of her works in the near future.
    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    highly reccomended, a gr8 book xD

    amazing read, definitely reccomended to young adult readers and teens,the story evolves around sonya and sasha, two sisters who go are the new students at Bridgetown. 3 girls are the queens of bridgetown and are jealous of sonya cause she's dating the basketball star.They try to turn them against each other, and you'llhave to read the book to find out what happens :D
    Great writing too, looking forwart to reading more books by the author :))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Queen Bee of Bridgeton

    Sonya and Sasha are sisters who live in a rough neighborhood. After many years of persistance Sasha gets admitted to Bridgeton, a well known and highly elite school. Sasha encourages her sister to apply and Sonya ends up attending Bridgeton as well, but never really fits in. Sasha and Sonya hide from their classmates that they are poor and even go so far as to hide where they live from everyone, even their boyfriends. When Sonya crosses the elite and highly secretive group of girls who essentially run the school they do everything in their power to destroy everything that is important to her, her boyfriend, her dancing, and her future. This book is a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    Entertaining Quick Read

    I enjoyed the book. The main character is Sonya and she got accepted to a prestigious high school full of white people while she's from the slums.

    The book is quick and really easy to follow. Sonya's character is fun, shy, and innocent which makes the book all the easier to read since the book is written in first person.

    Sonya is very dependent on her older sister and it reminds me of my relationship with mine. I haven't read a book with such accuracy in sisterly relationships in a while.

    Theres a great lot of romance which will make you sigh and swoon over. It's a cute story.

    The ending was a little rushed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    Well Recommended!

    This is a book that follows an old stheme and yet it keeps you engrossed till the end. The book focusses on the issue of high school cliques and the story of a girl who tries to fight back. The story line is similar to novels/movies that use this theme. Yet, it is well written and the main character is interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Great story! Fun and entertaining

    I really enjoyed this exciting story. Keeps you interested all the way through the end. Great price too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2