Customer Reviews for

Queen Bee of Mimosa Branch: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    fun read!

    Haywood Smith is one of those authors that you like to come back too and that's just what I did. This is not a new book but is well worth checking out if you have not read anything by Haywood Smith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Darkness territort

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Gale

    What do you think of it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    So funny....

    I had a great time with this book, couldn't put it down and it made me laugh so much.... Liked the sayings there like: 'Where the mind goes the body follows...' Really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2005

    Totally Addictive

    From the first page, I was totally captivated with the characters and read this book in three sittings. I hated to put it down. The characters are strong and comfortable, they were familiar and wonderful. Queen Bee Of Mimosa Branch shows that yes you can go home again. This book is a wonderful, funny, warm & fuzzy book that allows you to curl up in your easy chair and escape into a nice, safe world of southern genteel society. Queen Bee Of Mimosa Branch has left me hungry for more. Let's hope Ms. Smith writes a sequel to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2004

    Hilarious!

    What a hoot! This is one of the funniest books I've ever read. I either know or am personally related to EVERY character in this book, AND being from the South made it all the more real and funny. My whole family has read it, and we have laughed together. It's one of those you'll like to read along with a close girlfriend or sister so you can hoot, holler, cry & celebrate with the main character! It's also very real and touching - Lin has a lot to teach us! And when you get frustrated, just say the triple mantra of your choice (mine is Sh--,Sh--,Sh--!!)ha-HA!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    Boring

    I was disappointed with this book. Maybe I couldn't relate since I haven't been through divorce or middle age, but I thought it was full of shallow dialogue and cliches.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    Hysterical!

    Strong, funny book that shows life is full of wonderful surprises. Beautifully written characters, absolutely loved all the relationships between the characters, and shows that you can go home again. Rich background that just comes to life. Had plenty of chuckles reading this one as well as 'The Red Hat Club'. Wonderful for a lazy day in the sun. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    Welcome home to small town USA!

    This was a delightfully funny book with homespun wit that had me laughing out loud. Haywood Smith puts the characters in your face with all the charm and grace of a firey southern woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    Women this book is so much Fun!

    I can not believe there are no reviews yet for this book! This is a great southern women book. The characters are hilarious and the story but funny and heart breakingly sweet. Runaway husbands, crazy relatives, best friends and new flames. That is a good combination and it reads wonderfully in this entertaining story. Can't wait to read Red Hat Club. Way to go Ms. Smith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2003

    Great Book!

    It was a wonderful blend of humor, small town quirks and the joy of family. I enjoyed this book, it made me laugh, and touched my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    Great book

    I really enjoyed the bit of romance in the book that, in the beginning, made you want for more but then stopped short just at the right time. I love stories set in the south and this goes down as one of my favorites. Will turn others on to this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    A fun and entertaining read, perfect beach book!

    A enjoyable breath of fresh air! Loved the little twists and turns, is there anything more satisfying than a book about a good southeren woman? But really a great book would recommend and will now buy for my older, single friends, for inspiration!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2003

    What a delightful book!

    I love reading southern fiction and found this to be a wonderful slice of life. I laughed and I cheered for Linwood.I am a realtor and remember that feeling of anticipation waiting for the test results. I measure a book by how much I hate to finish it, this was one I did not want to end. Mimosa Branch represents all that I love about the South. Thanks for the pleasure of this great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2003

    A Wonderful Read

    Being a 24 year old woman, who has never been married, never had children, and who has just left home with no thought of turning, I would probably say I am the perfect example of a reader that has nothing in common with the Lin, the main character, yet still felt wonderfully connected to her. I loved this book! I got it as a present for Christmas and read it, thinking that I wouldn't like it (having not picked it out myself). I was deeply mistaken. Buy, Buy, Buy this book. You'll be reading it at 3am with no plans to stop! Trust me!! It's wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    hilarious slice of life

    At nineteen, she married Phil to flee her controlling mother who told her never to come back. Now turning fifty, Linwood Breedlove Scott is an ex wife as Phil deserted her for a stripper taking their life savings with him. With no place to go, Lin returns to the family home in Mimosa Branch, Georgia. Her first sight as she parks near the house is seeing her Alzheimer¿s victimized Uncle Bedford running outside wearing only Depends. That might be tough to deal with, but Lin loves her uncle and will help care for him. Her mother Miss Mamie with her ¿I told you so¿ will be more difficult to contend with. However, Lin refuses to bury herself in pity or even in a proper southern woman¿s cocoon as defined by Miss Mamie. Instead Lin obtains a job at the drugstore and finds herself attracted to her boss Grant Owens. His butt is so tight, pennies could not fall out, but the new Lin decides to loosen his change as she begins the seduction of Grant. The QUEEN BEE OF MIMOSA BRANCH is a witty look at a woman struggling to find herself though she is middle age. The tale works best when Lin provides amusing acerbic asides to the reader that focus on what she wants, which is often opposite of what she does. Thought the tale turns into a warm buttercup near the end, fans of small town Southern living seen filtered through the eyes of a former practitioner will gain plenty of delectation from Haywood Smith's hilarious slice of life. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    Books get NO BETTER than this!

    After thirty years of marriage Linwood Scott's husband ran off with a stripper. With no money and a broken heart, Lin was forced to return to the home of her eccentric parents near Atlanta, Georgia. She knew things would be crazy when she pulled up to the house and witnessed Uncle Bedford stride out the front door in nothing but Depends, carrying a TV tray with his shoes on it, yelling accusations at the empty air about a boy stealing his shoes. ***** This gives readers the PERFECT example of how hilarious this novel was for me to read! The book is overflowing with such unforgettable characters, quotes (from long deceased people), and a few serious messages. This is the type of book that begins when the main character has hit rock bottom and readers cheer them on as they pull themselves up and become even better than before! I cannot recommend it highly enough and will never let this book go! ***** REVIEWER: Detra Fitch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2002

    Queen Bee of Mimosa Branch: A Novel

    It's hard to find a book these days that immediately pulls me into a living, breathing story that's ripe with humor and reality, but this book did. From page one, I couldn't put it down. I knew this town, this woman, these local characters. The author does a wonderful job of mixing humor with pathos as Lin finally wakes up to reality after thirty years of genteel repression. When she breaks out of her perfect housewife mold, it's hilarious. I loved her perfectly scandalous language and wary foray into the sexual revolution. And I loved that she was true to herself in the end. When I read how some librarian from Vermont panned this book, I had to put in my two cents' worth to set the record straight. No book is for everybody, and people who use smelling salts probably wouldn't be able to handle the frank, rowdy tone of this book. But for the rest of us women who can take reality and love a laugh, don't miss Queen Bee. And tell all your friends whose husbands (or exes) have pulled a Bill Clinton to do themselves a favor and buy it, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2002

    Queen Bee of Mimosa Branch: A Novel

    This book was great fun and truly touching. When I spend my precious time and money on fiction. I want to read something that makes me laugh a lot, cry a little, and feel better for having made the investment. Queen Bee of Mimosa Branch was wonderful! It kept me thoroughly entertained while touching on some tough issues with humor and optimism. I love the way the character of Lin Scott reinvents her life with dogged optimism despite the tough spot she's in. She comes to terms with her past, her family, and her future. Trust me: if you liked The Sweet Potato Queens, you'll love this one. If you prefer your fiction depressing, unresolved, and full of angst, look elsewhere. Queen Bee is a satisfying Southern romp. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2