Customer Reviews for

The Queen of Attolia (The Queen's Thief Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angieville: THE QUEEN OF ATTOLIA

    Wow. I just...wow. Talk about a sequel. In fact, I'm pretty sure that as sequels go THE QUEEN OF ATTOLIA should be the standard textbook in a class entirely devoted to how to write a killer sequel. The kind of sequel that will leave your readers completely unable to contain their glee at how it was just as good as they weren't daring to hope it would be. The kind that makes them keep their husbands up at night expounding upon the splendor that is such a sequel.

    A note on the cover: I truly love the "new" covers. I do. But this one kind of makes me want to run and hide under the covers. And I'm glad I didn't see it until after I read the book. Rather, I went in blissfully unaware of what awaited me.

    A note on a SPOILER: I generally try to avoid them. This review, however, may have to be an exception as there is one key plot element early on that is, well, integral to everything that happens thereafter. I can't find a way to dance around it, so consider yourself forewarned.

    The Thief of Eddis is on a secret mission for his queen in the heart of enemy territory. As he slips away into the night, something goes massively, horribly wrong and he is run down and captured by Attolian guards. For his audacity, Attolia takes his right hand and sends him back to his queen broken and on the brink of death. While Eugenides struggles to comes to terms with his drastically altered life, Eddis declares war on Attolia for his sake and the three countries are quickly at each other's throats. As their losses mount, Eugenides realizes there is one more thing he can steal from Attolia that will save his country from destruction. But, given their last encounter, does he have the courage to venture into Attolia again and face her one more time?

    Truth? I spent a a fair bit of time holding back sobs while reading this book. You see I fell in love with Eugenides. And he does not have an easy time of it here. The thing is he is so very awesome that you know he'll be okay. He has to be okay. But, still, his anguish and rage are so palpable it's hard to watch. And at the same time, my favorite scenes are the beautifully alternating passages in which Gen tries and fails and tries to piece his life together while, a world away, Attolia sits on her throne, staring blankly out the window, agonizing over what she did. It's so unexpected and had me glued to the page. School Library Journal had a fun article on some of their favorite love stories and they named THE QUEEN OF ATTOLIA the Best Declaration of Love. They're not kidding around. When it comes it takes your breath away. On top of it all this book's got a perfect ending. It'll make you smile through your tears.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Excellent Book

    The book started off with an bang and kept going. I thought this was an excellent follow up to "The Thief." I look forward to reading the third installment in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    AWESOME

    its full of excitement and suprises read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I like it!

    Yep, that's right I like it!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Incredible Continuation!!

    Eugenides is at it again! Though this sequel is less humorous and rather more melancholy and political than its predecessor, it is just as riveting. As the book starts, Eugenides suffers a life changing loss, a loss that leads to a war between Eddis, Sounis, and Attolia, together with an even more powerful outside force. Eugenides must overcome his setbacks to save his country and steal the impossible. And in the end he will make a shocking, completely unexpected decision that will change the futures of Eddis and Attolia forever. With the return of the same great characters and even more thrilling adventures, this book is a fantastic installation of an amazing series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Unexpected Plot

    This book had a good plot but way to many characters. It would help if the character's names were real names but they are names like Eugensides.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Please read this series

    This is, by far, my favorite love story of all time. I read it based on a forum rec, and the first book was just so clever, I found the rest of the series the next day. Some of the most beautiful amd understated characterizations throughout, hidden in a series of quest or intrigie plots. Forget Mr. Darcy and Liz, this romance is truly one to define the term.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Not nearly as good as The Thief Too much running around, too man

    Not nearly as good as The Thief
    Too much running around, too many characters, okay story but didn't make me want to read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Easy read

    There are some surprisingly sad revelations in the book but overall it was a very easy weekend read. Impossle to put down once started

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    I love the Queen's Thief series!!
    I went through a roller costar of emotions, it was heartbreaking at moments, but truly incredible. And I absolutely love all the characters, especially Gen:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    As good as ever

    I wont give any thing away but the begining kind of disappointed me but i think this is worth reading as any of the other books other wise i loved it a ton, totaly recomend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    This book was amazing. It was even better than the first one. Eu

    This book was amazing. It was even better than the first one. Eugenides is my new found crush. He is awesome! He changed a lot in this book. He has to learn and accept the new changes in his life. He's more mature, and a bit more ruthless. But he was still the funny, intelligent, brave, and vulnerable young man that I loved in the first book. The queen of Attolia was a bit difficult to like at first. She was ruthless. And after what she did to Eugenides, well.... she wasn't exactly my favorite character. I understand though, why she acts the way she does. She may be ruthless, but she's also very intelligent as well and does whatever is necessary to keep her throne and country in order. Another favorite character of mine was Eddis. She is such a wonderful character and cares a lot for Eugenides. I loved her relationship with him. I wasn't exactly sold on the romance in this story though. To me, it sort of jumped out of nowhere. But Eugenides and Attolia make an interesting couple. I can kind of see how they fell in love, but I wished there was just a bit more to the romance.

    While The Thief was more of an adventure/journey book, The Queen of Attolia was more about politics and war. The Medes that are first mentioned in The Thief make an appearance, and causes a whole lot of trouble. Sounis, Eddis, and Attolia are all at war with each other. So there's a lot of betrayals, political intrigue, warfare, and strategic military tactics involved.

    This book was again full of surprises, just like the first book, and I love that about this series. I was engrossed in Eugenides's world of gods, goddesses, and politics. Eugenides, the clever, clever little thief, was such an interesting character and continued to surprise me throughout the book. The Queen of Attolia is a bit darker than the first book, but definitely worth the read. It's my favorite book in the series so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    second book

    I have to say that i wasnt as taken with this story. It took me a while to get through compared to the 1st book and i prob wont buy the other one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    amazing

    A great book that goes well in the series!!! I loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Excellent Book!

    Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    The thief

    Well i loved the first book and would like to know if the second one is good. Also i just finished the first one at ten tonight. I just could not stop reading!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Wow

    What an amazing book, I highly recommend it. Cant wait to read the next in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    ?????

    Why isnt the first book available???

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    This is a GREAT book!

    I f you havent read it, READ IT. You'll like it i'm sure. I read this book in 8th grade and I fell in love with the charachters and plot right away, Turner's book 'The Thief' actually precedes it but it's written in the first person, unlike the Queen of and King of Attolia. It's best to read it so you understand the background for Queen of Attolia but I didn't and I still enjoyed this book VERY much, the King of Attolia is really great as well, a superb finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    This is a book definately worth reading

    When you read this book you will always be kept guessing what will happen. You'll be saying, But i thought this and she was so convincing! The surprises are incredable and it is a thrilling page turner. I think that this is so good that anyone should drive to barnes and noble as quick as possible and buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7