Customer Reviews for

Queen of Camelot

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love Camelot? You'll love this book!

I just had to write my review to counter the one that comes after mine (a reader, and the only one mind you, who gave it only a one star). This book is truly amazing! Anyone who loves tales of adventure and romance are in for a real treat. I am an author myself, so I...
I just had to write my review to counter the one that comes after mine (a reader, and the only one mind you, who gave it only a one star). This book is truly amazing! Anyone who loves tales of adventure and romance are in for a real treat. I am an author myself, so I tend to be a bit more critical on the written word. But without a doubt, this is my most treasured book amongst all the many I have on my shelves. It tells the true tale of Arthur and Gwen, displacing all the ugly and untrue rumors of betrayal by Gwen and Lancelot. The love between Arthur and Gwen shine in this novel, and paints an extraordinary picture of that which was Camelot. Believe me when I tell you it is worth your time (I'm reading it for the second time and loving it even more). The best way to read it is strong and steady...don't start it if you don't have some time everyday to read it. If you put days between readings, you may not feel the full effect. But I think you'll find it's hard to put down. So enjoy this trip back in time to a place of mythical legends, destiny, and a romance that will touch your heart forever! If you're looking for a great escape from reality, this is your ticket!

posted by Anonymous on September 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Skip it!

Every once in a while a book comes along so satisfying and beautiful that you savor every passage, lose yourself in the story, and at the end close it with great reluctance, sorry the tale has come to an end. This isn't one of them. I was relieved to be finally finished...
Every once in a while a book comes along so satisfying and beautiful that you savor every passage, lose yourself in the story, and at the end close it with great reluctance, sorry the tale has come to an end. This isn't one of them. I was relieved to be finally finished with this. This Arthurian tale is narrated by Guinevere and this Guinevere claims to deeply love both Arthur and Lancelot wishing the best for them and their honor while never completely relinquishing her hold on either man; then bemoans her "fate", baffled that so many are willing to believe she has committed adultery with Lancelot. Throughout the novel she is praised for her bravery and queenly demeanor yet is forever throwing herself at some man's feet "weeping". The truth is I never quite liked her, halfway through I was tired of her and almost liked the scheming, vindictive Elaine and the incestuous witch Morgause better...they were at least marginally more interesting. The remaining characters here were all one dimensional including Arthur. The King was ever noble, patient, and fair, lifting his "Gwen" to her feet-after she knelt weeping at his of course-telling her how brave she was and that he would not be the man or the king he was if not for her et cetera. As old as they are the Arthurian tales have been told many times and much better than this. If you're looking for a good re-telling of this legend I would suggest Mary Stewart's series instead.

posted by BookishBlonde on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    Love Camelot? You'll love this book!

    I just had to write my review to counter the one that comes after mine (a reader, and the only one mind you, who gave it only a one star). This book is truly amazing! Anyone who loves tales of adventure and romance are in for a real treat. I am an author myself, so I tend to be a bit more critical on the written word. But without a doubt, this is my most treasured book amongst all the many I have on my shelves. It tells the true tale of Arthur and Gwen, displacing all the ugly and untrue rumors of betrayal by Gwen and Lancelot. The love between Arthur and Gwen shine in this novel, and paints an extraordinary picture of that which was Camelot. Believe me when I tell you it is worth your time (I'm reading it for the second time and loving it even more). The best way to read it is strong and steady...don't start it if you don't have some time everyday to read it. If you put days between readings, you may not feel the full effect. But I think you'll find it's hard to put down. So enjoy this trip back in time to a place of mythical legends, destiny, and a romance that will touch your heart forever! If you're looking for a great escape from reality, this is your ticket!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    I bought this book a few years ago before a vacation. I started

    I bought this book a few years ago before a vacation. I started reading on the flight, continued reading in the car, snuck off to the restroom to read even, every available moment I was reading this book. I was so engrossed and unable to put it down. I have since re-read it numerous times every year or so. I think this has probably been and will continue to be my all time favorite book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Skip it!

    Every once in a while a book comes along so satisfying and beautiful that you savor every passage, lose yourself in the story, and at the end close it with great reluctance, sorry the tale has come to an end. This isn't one of them. I was relieved to be finally finished with this. This Arthurian tale is narrated by Guinevere and this Guinevere claims to deeply love both Arthur and Lancelot wishing the best for them and their honor while never completely relinquishing her hold on either man; then bemoans her "fate", baffled that so many are willing to believe she has committed adultery with Lancelot. Throughout the novel she is praised for her bravery and queenly demeanor yet is forever throwing herself at some man's feet "weeping". The truth is I never quite liked her, halfway through I was tired of her and almost liked the scheming, vindictive Elaine and the incestuous witch Morgause better...they were at least marginally more interesting. The remaining characters here were all one dimensional including Arthur. The King was ever noble, patient, and fair, lifting his "Gwen" to her feet-after she knelt weeping at his of course-telling her how brave she was and that he would not be the man or the king he was if not for her et cetera. As old as they are the Arthurian tales have been told many times and much better than this. If you're looking for a good re-telling of this legend I would suggest Mary Stewart's series instead.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    beautiful!

    Everyone should read this book! one of the most compelling yet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Pleasing Romance With A Touch Of Adventure

    Upon purchasing this book, I immediately began to read it. Once I finished the first few chapters, it became apparent that I must finish it soon, for, I could not put this book down. The characters are fully-developed and the plot is a pleasing romance, with a touch of adventure. McKenzie's pen, indeed, was touched with an essence of Merlin's magic when she wrote this Arthurian legend. I recommend this to anyone whom enjoys the legend of King Arthur--a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Perfect in every way

    Its rare to find a book that can make you laugh and cry and hurt with a character, but this one does that and more. Its impossible to put down! McKenzie finally gives Queen Gwen the story she deserves. It sheds a new light on the love triangle between her, Arthur, and Lancelot. I've read it at least 10 times and it never gets old... I still cry and laugh and hurt! If only there more book like this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Didn't like the ending

    Great book, would have liked to know what happened to Gwen after the Kings death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Favorite Telling

    Wonderful perspective on the classic tale

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    captured my heart, the best Guinevere book ever

    i just finished this book and all i have to say is wow! this book has captured my heart and it will forever be remembered. what i loved most is how she did not love arthur or lancelot more than the other during most of the book but at the end she knew who she could not live without

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    Beautiful In Every Definition...

    This book has become my all-time favorite book. Since I first read it almost a decade ago, I always turn back to it every now and then because of how real the characters feel. The story line, from beginning to end, will keep you captivated and enchanted. It truly is one of the greatest Arthurian Legends that has ever been written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    An Amazing example of modern and older literature

    This book is my absolute favorite book ever. my friend first gave it to me and i have read it dozens of times. it never gets old. McKenzie captures the reader with her outstanding insight of the legendary King Arthur. And she gives the almost never heard of perception of Queen Guinevere. she tells her in a away that makes her a role model and a figure of immense importance behind Arthur's throne.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    A Must Not Read

    This is the worst book I have ever read. It was 623 pages of drivel. I got the impression that McKenzie was extremely pretentious. The writing is perhaps the worst that I have ever seen. She can piece sentences together, but after that, her English fails her. She does not have an enjoyable style, if she has one at all. She is inconsitent, constantly changing from formal to informal. She is like a little child, in that she discovers a large word and gets obsessed with it. She uses it every sentence for a chapter to make herself look smart, then you never see her use it again. And along the same line she did not vary her vocabulary at all. At one point she is describing an awkward conversation between Guinevere and Lancelot, where they would both continually blush. In this section, she would say Guinevere blushed, Lancelot blushed several times bunched together. When McKenzie felt she had worn the word out she would move on, using flushed 15 times together before moving on to grew red, making what was supposed to be an awkward moment completely laughable for the reader. However, my favorite line has to be 'I am not yet a woman, I checked before I went out.' McKenzie attempts to intertwine a crude statement with her ostentatious writing. If I were ever to meet McKenzie, the one thing I would ask her would be: What on earth made her believe she could rewrite such a classic tale and get away with it? Who is she that she believes she is significant enough to alter history? And why is she so stuck-up that she believes she will change the history of literature by publishing such an atrocious book? If there is any justice in the world, surely someone will tell her what a mistake she has made. If you enjoy literature, do not read this book. While the story is easy to follow, the writing is, like I have said, the worst I have ever seen. I was annoyed that McKenzie had the audacity to change T.H. White's classic tale of King Arthur. Although the tale of Arthur is unknown, and neither can claim to have told a true story, The Once and Future King has been accepted as a classic. If you want to read a great book, this is not for you. If you want to have a book to make fun of for the rest of your life, please, read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    Life Altering

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. It's has everything that is needed for a great read. Love, action, tears of joy ans heartbreak. You will read this over adn over because everytime you read it, you realize something new or think of something a different way. Enjoy! You will wish it never ended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    Queen of Camelot

    This book was absolutely amazing. I loved how you could relate to all the characters somehow. I would recommend this book to any fan of the King Arthur legend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2006

    Queen of Camelot

    This book was absolutely amazing! It feels as you can really relate to the characters and their feelings. There was definitely magic in Nancy McKenzie's pen when she wrote this and I am really thankful for that!! This book is definitely recommended for all of the King Arthur and Guinevere fans out there!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    absolutely a wonderful page turning romance

    i loved the way the history is so put together with a beautiful love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    Amazing story

    This has to be my favorite book of all time. It sucks you into the life and times of Arthur, making you feel as if you are there. The emotional detail of this book comes across wonderfully, you truly feel for what Guinevere is going through. I've re-read this book many times over. It's a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2005

    OMG

    This was a very captivating novel! I believe that merlins magic reached out to touch Nancy Mckenzie's pen. Gwenivere is the princess of a small kingdome. She is sent to live with relatives before her father passes away. She is now a rival with her cousin Elaine. She is then latter bethroed to the High King, Author. But she meets her true love...Lancelot. Will she betray the High King and follow her heart, or will she fulfill her duties as Queen of Britan?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Holy Crap!

    i read this book and i doubt i selpt for a week. i couldn't put it down. i thought it was cool that it was about Gwenivere and not so much about Arthur. i cried, screamed, laughed, the whole nine yards. there was some death and sad parts, some totally awesome parts, like the part when gwen takes up excalibur and readys herself to lead the kings armies to war with the saxons! Yeah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    This Book was so Good!

    I loved this book!! It is one of the greatest books I have ever read. I loved that finally we get to hear Guinevere's side of the legend. I can't wait until I can buy and read Grail Prince.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3