BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Queen of Kentucky

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

:DDDDDD

This was THE best book I have EVER READ! I feel like I know Ricki Jo sooo well. She sounded just like me. This is also now my fav book. I reccomend this book to teenagers from the ages 13 - 15.... but let me tell you....you will love this book and not want to put it dow...
This was THE best book I have EVER READ! I feel like I know Ricki Jo sooo well. She sounded just like me. This is also now my fav book. I reccomend this book to teenagers from the ages 13 - 15.... but let me tell you....you will love this book and not want to put it down.....and you just might be sad when you finish.....

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great book :)

This book was a good story of the different moods in high school. Cruelty, jelousy, happiness, anger, and sadness. Alecia Whitake used great detail to describe tough moments, or happy and exciting moments in Ericka's world. By the end of this book, or even in the middle...
This book was a good story of the different moods in high school. Cruelty, jelousy, happiness, anger, and sadness. Alecia Whitake used great detail to describe tough moments, or happy and exciting moments in Ericka's world. By the end of this book, or even in the middle of it I felt like I knew Ericka and Luke extremely well, like I had known them my entire life. I felt like when Luke and Ericka felt strong feelings, I could feel it for them! This book is also very funny. If you are looking for a realistic and funny book for teens, this might be the one for you.

posted by Caroline77 on January 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    :DDDDDD

    This was THE best book I have EVER READ! I feel like I know Ricki Jo sooo well. She sounded just like me. This is also now my fav book. I reccomend this book to teenagers from the ages 13 - 15.... but let me tell you....you will love this book and not want to put it down.....and you just might be sad when you finish.....

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I purchased this book for my 12 year old daughter, but ended up reading it myself after she did...truely a great book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Great book :)

    This book was a good story of the different moods in high school. Cruelty, jelousy, happiness, anger, and sadness. Alecia Whitake used great detail to describe tough moments, or happy and exciting moments in Ericka's world. By the end of this book, or even in the middle of it I felt like I knew Ericka and Luke extremely well, like I had known them my entire life. I felt like when Luke and Ericka felt strong feelings, I could feel it for them! This book is also very funny. If you are looking for a realistic and funny book for teens, this might be the one for you.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    ????

    I have meverheard of this book before and was just browsing. I read the reviews and the overview, is it worth the buy?
    -E

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Queen of kentucky

    Reall good

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    I loved this book! Being from the South, I could definitely rela

    I loved this book! Being from the South, I could definitely relate to some of Ricki Jo's (a.k.a Ericka) experiences through high school. At some points I was laughing out loud and in others I felt the tears welling in my eyes. Overall, I loved the well-developed characters and the important messages that this novel portrayed. I highly recommend this book (:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!

    I thought this book was wonderful, and Ricki Jo is surprisingly real and by the end of the book, you feel as if she is one of your BFF's. Ricki Jo starts public high school and after being in a private Catholic school all her life, she feels as if she has to prove herself to just about everyone. So she wants to be called Ericka, she tries out and makes the cheerleading squad(even though she freaks on tumbling) and she starts turning her back on old friends and tries to be friends with the popular kids. While the story isn't groundbreaking, Alecia Whitaker really makes her characters come to life and I think makes this a wonderful coming of age novel. It is long, but I know I wasn't happy I had hit the end. Fitting though for me to read this right before going back to school, it makes you take a look at your own decisions and hopefully you make the right ones like Ricky Jo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Queen of Kentucky is a charming coming-of-age contemporary w

    The Queen of Kentucky is a charming coming-of-age contemporary with a spunky main character you'll love to root for.

    I really liked Ricki Jo, her voice is authentic for her age and funny. She's someone who wants to stay true to herself but also make new friends and fit in, which isn't the easiest combination for her. Even though she doesn't always make the right choices, she does tries to learn from them. She's very resilient, which is great for someone her age and means she's quick to bounce back when she's down. I also adore how much Ricki Jo's family means to her, even when she thinks they're uncool.

    The friendship between Ricki Jo and Luke was lovely. I mean what fourteen year old girl wouldn't love a friend like Luke? He's loyal, honest, hard working and always there when you need someone to listen. Plus his quiet demeanor and serious nature help bring out a more mature side to Ricki Jo.

    While none of the supporting characters were all that original in the personality department, they're well written and felt real. They're the kinds of characters you either love, or love to hate. I just wish we could've gotten more character development from Mackenzie (the other new girl) and Wolf (freshman bad boy) since its hinted that they're much deeper then the story allows.

    At 375 pages I felt the novel was a little on the long side, while the pacing isn't slow I felt that a few parts did drag. The small Kentucky town setting fits the story perfectly and adds lots of atmosphere to a storyline that could have felt cliche, but instead feels just right.

    While it doesn't break any new ground, The Queen of Kentucky is an absolute treat and a delightful debut. I look forward to reading more from author Alecia Whitaker and hope she continues to write about her deep southern roots because its a style and voice that suit her well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Love love love!

    I loved this book so much! Its one of my favorites, and ive read a lot of books. Give it a shot. Idare you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2014

    2.5/5 stars I don┬┐t usually read books about characters under t

    2.5/5 stars

    I don’t usually read books about characters under the age of 16 because they don’t tend to jive with me but I gave this book a shot for two reasons:

    1. I REALLY want to read Alecia Whitaker’s new novel, Wildflower, and I like to read an author’s work chronologically when I have the opportunity. I don’t know if anyone else does this but I enjoy seeing how authors change and stay the same from book to book.

    2. I recently read Jen Calonita’s Summer State of Mind (which is a sequel to Sleepaway Girls) and I LOVED it; I was super skeptical at first because it was about a fifteen year old girl but it ended up being my favorite Jen Calonita book (and I LOVE Jen Calonita).

    This book has been at the top of my TBR list for the past few months because of these two reasons but this book just didn’t work for it; I tried so hard to like it and forgive the problems I had a first but they just kept snowballing until I really just didn’t like the book. It bums me out and I really wish that I felt differently.

    Ricki Jo is convinced that she is a hick because she lives twenty minutes outside of town, while all of the “cool kids” live in town and hang out at the country club. She decides that she wants to make a name for herself at her new high school (she went to a catholic school for K-8) and be “cool”. Oh the elusive “cool” factor that is sought out in high school. This book had a way of connecting with people because whether you were cool, weren’t cool, desperately wanted to be cool, or didn’t care, we all understand the concept and appeal of being cool. 

    One the first day of cool, I mean school (hehe), Ricki Jo (who goes by Ericka in high school, I’ll still refer to her as Ricki Jo or RJ) meets the Fab Four, four beautiful and popular girls she strives to fit in with and Wolf, the stud of the town. RJ changes her clothes, her attitude, and even her interests in order to fit in with these “cool” kids. One thing that annoyed me was that she already had friends, it wasn’t like she was completely new, her best friend Luke attended that school and some other nice people she met previously went there but they apparently weren’t good enough; she viewed her changes as an upgrade and I guess it only made sense for her to upgrade her friends too, besides Luke.

    Luke. Let’s talk about that boy; Luke is the only redeeming part of this entire book. I love Luke; he’s just a good ol’ country boy with a huge heart. His story is actually what kept me reading the book; he has real struggles and real emotions which was so refreshing to the story. RJ spent the entire book freaking out about boys and clothes while her best friend was dealing with an abusive father and raw grief. His story was beautiful to see unfold, his emotions and thoughts were so uniquely complex and it broke my heart.

    Moving on to RJ: the main character who I couldn’t relate with, she is crazy selfish and she never puts anyone else before herself. I understand that being fourteen and starting high school is tough but she never saw past her own self. There were even times when she almost put herself above Luke but then she snapped out of it. I think that Luke was in the story to help RJ learn about others and not focus only on herself. 

    Other characters: Her supposed friends were terrible! I wanted to shake sense into the entire book because she didn’t seem to value herself enough to realize that she is awesome and needs to be appreciated. She kept letting these crappy people use her and it went on for the entire book, almost four hundred pages. I got incredibly frustrated with it. 

    Good things: It was fun to learn more about Kentucky and I genuinely felt connected to the country and the way of life out there. I went to school in the country and I enjoyed really understanding life in the country and how growing up there really is. 

    Alecia did capture the spirit of freshman year in high school, there’s an excitement and innocence to it which RJ really embraced it and I loved. I also somewhat enjoyed how overly dramatic RJ was because it’s true, high school is all about the hyperboles: best friends forever (whom you just met) and the love of your life.

    What I got from the book was the debate of whether it’s worth it or not to lose sight of who you are in order to fit in.

    I might have felt differently about this book if I read it as a freshman in high school but as a twenty-two year old, I just couldn’t get behind this book. I am still planning on reading Wildflower (which is about a seventeen year old) and I’m still excited about it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    good.

    I liked it a lot. I really Liked the characters, and how well the story flowed, but Wolf was so awful! Ughhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Best Book Ever

    This book is by far one of my favorites, I could not put it down. I connected with Ricki Jo so much, I felt like I really knew her & her situation. Of course, I loved the chemistry between Ricki Jo & Luke throughout the book. This book made me laugh & cry. I did not want it to end. I recommend this book to any teenage girl going into high school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Fabulous!

    Really good story, and interesting characters! Perfect for teenage girls!!! Once you pick it up you cant put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    <3<3

    They should write a book about Valley Station, Kentucky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    I was born and raised in a small town in ky

    If some one wants to wirte a book about a small town in ky the need to visit one and spend time there great book though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    The shipping is taking forever, I ordered this book on November

    The shipping is taking forever, I ordered this book on November 18, 2012 and its been three weeks, yet i still haven't received my order. Considering i paid for shipping, i would expect it to come faster. SOUTH FLORIDA GOODWILL SUCKS

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Amazinggg

    Ok iblove this book soooooooo much like it was amazing and probably my favorite book everr

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    This book takes place in my hometown! She came back and visited

    This book takes place in my hometown! She came back and visited us last year :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    I bought the sample but....??????

    Is the rest of the book as good as the sample? The sample is awsome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Classic Coming of Age Story

    The Queen of Kentucky is a light-hearted story about a 14 year-old farm girl who tries to be someone she's not. In this classic coming of age story Ricki Jo, a.k.a. Alecia, enters public school for the first time. Going from a class of under 20 to one of 200, Ricki Jo feels the need to create new friends, abandon the old, and create a superficial persona for herself. Her happy, quaint family supports her decisions as Ricki Jo lies to her friends and turns into one of the "it" girls. Ricki Jo demonstrates the importance of staying true to who you are and what will happen when you don't. Part of her drive to become a new person is to create a new appearance for herself, but is hindered due to a constant poor image of herself.
    As a Minnesotan, the lack of knowledge about Minnesota was quite infuriating. Mackenzie, one of the "it-girls," just moved from Minnesota. In the story, Mackenzie keeps referring to Minnesota as having no open spaces, fact check!!!! Minnesota has plenty of open spaces, and yes, there is a roller rink in Minneapolis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2