Customer Reviews for

Queen of Shadows

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    dramatic romantic urban fantasy

    In Austin, Miranda Grey fears she is going insane with only alcohol numbing her mind and playing the guitar in front of an appreciative audience giving her satisfaction. She soon realizes she has the skill of playing with the emotions of her fans as the "magic is in the music and the music is in" her (Lovin' Spoonful). However, not long after that, Miranda learns the cost as her audience can do likewise to her and she has no defense mechanism to prevent the mental rape of her mind leading to her mental breakdown.

    Following a show and a nasty assault on her, vampiric lord David Solomon rescues Miranda. He knows she is an untrained empath and gives her a remedial education into the world of vampires and much more that she always thought were fiction. As David tries to save Miranda, he prays she reciprocates and saves him from his emotional demons ripping at his soul.

    This is a well written but not easy to read romantic urban fantasy as Dianne Sylvan pulls no punches as rape and the healing from sexual (and emotional) assaults are described. The relationship between the empath and the vampire make for a strong Shadow World thriller that will enthrall the audience with a sense of awe as supernatural Austin comes across realistic through the filters of the flawed lead protagonists.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Everyone was right

    Well worth the read... I was glad to see Miranda's trauma dealt with in a realist manner that didn't leave me wonder what planet the writer was from

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Awesome book!

    I can't wait for the next book in the series to come out! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    This is a really interesting series and I can't wait to read the next one. Our heroine is an empath and I found the beginning and all her struggles really interesting. I can't decide if the middle was slow or just refreshingly normal and realistic. Either way, I enjoyed it and loved all the main characters. It's a very well developed world and all the characters were multi-dimensional.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Dark Urban Fantasy Debut!

    This book was simply marvelous! I'm glad I took a chance on it, as I was not familiar with this author prior to my download. I agree with another reviewer who said they thought Miranda could have been beaten, as opposed to raped; and I usually don't like reading about pathetic characters that have no self-worth. However, the author did pull off the heinous rape scene and I can also see why she chose to include rape. Rape is usually humiliating and most often completely tears a person down. Miranda's exhaustive transformation left her stripped clean of her sense-of-self and rebuilt from rock-bottom on up. Miranda is a survivor of the shadows that plagued her mind and also the thugs that invaded her body. She pulled herself up out of the trenches and saved herself. By the time Miranda was done kicking-butt and taking names, she was definitely a worthy force to be reckoned with. Miranda and David had dazzling chemistry, I just couldn't get enough of them. This book was so good I was thirsty for it. I completely drank it in and could not put it down. The story glided through so smoothly, by the time it was done I couldn't believe it. Personally, I feel the vampire scene has been pretty stale and predictable as of late, but this book has totally rekindled my love and interest in the genre. I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and can't wait for the next book in the series Shadow Flame due out 7/26/11. *I also recommend: Dead, Undead, or Somewhere in Between - J.A. Saare

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was awesome. It had just the right amount of action, s

    This book was awesome. It had just the right amount of action, suspense and romance that all came together in this wonderful package called Queen of Shadows. One of the most enjoyable things about this book was the author never really let you know what was going to happen. It was all surprise down to who the villain was, to if the main characters would end up together, and where the story would go after the first book. I liked that Dianne has her main female character, Miranda, who started off weak and unable to fend or take care of herself, to this tough female without the help or guidance of a male. Very inspirational that women can overcome and better themselves on their own. Powerful. This is a great beginning to what looks to be a potentially addictive series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Pretty good

    This book started off really strong, but got a little hokey in the end. I really had high hopes for the series but didn't like the direction it started to go in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Great book!

    I enjoyed reading this book. I will definitely by others books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    Terrific!

    A lot of recent vampire novels are missing one or two ingredients to really make them compelling, but this one has them all. It's a tight story with plenty of action, but the author doesn't stint on characterization, the main characters all have depth and well-drawn layers, and even minor characters have plenty of life, enough to make you wonder more about them. The story itself is fairly straightforward and the Shadow World Ms. Sylvan has created is interesting without being confusing,. Clever phrasing, creative descriptions and a savvy main character make this a really enjoyable read, whether you're new to the genre or a longtime fan looking for a cool new take. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    Awesome book!

    I loved this book! I thought the author did a great job with the plot and the characters were well developed. Miranda really sucked you in and you felt like you understood her and her emotions. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Fantastic!!!

    I could not put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    Best par-romance book I have read this year (and last)

    The cover drew me in and from the first page keep me in until the end. I cannot wait until the next book comes out to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    Must say I was very surprised and entertained!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5