Customer Reviews for

Queen of the Conqueror: The Life of Matilda, Wife of William I

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Highly recommended to anyone who loves historical fiction

    Personally I had never heard of Matilda,but I wanted to read ahistorical fiction book ,that would not put me to sleep. This book certainly filled the bill!The author draws you in from the first page and keeps you there. I had a hard time putting it down.This is a wondeful,insighfull read.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Knowing very little about Matilda except that she was the wife o

    Knowing very little about Matilda except that she was the wife of William the Conqueror, I was interested in reading this biography. I was not disappointed. I would recommend this to anybody interested in this period of time and, particularly, in women of early middle ages England.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Queen of the Conqueror is a very well written book. I found the

    Queen of the Conqueror is a very well written book. I found the writing simply fascinating and the subject matter even more so. The relationship is stormy from the start. Matilda is a fascinating character, to say the least. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2014

    I had never heard of Matilda until I picked up this book and I a

    I had never heard of Matilda until I picked up this book and I am so glad I picked it up. Matilda was not only a wife to William the Conqueror but also it seems was quite literally “the wind beneath his wings”. She was a woman who provided her husband not only with 9 children but the kind of steadying influence which enabled him to successfully conquer and rule England and Normandy for many years. There is not much in the way of biographical details about Matilda’s everyday life in the historical records but the author has done an excellent job of piecing together the information that is available and mapping out the life of this queen whose descendants have held the throne for a thousand years.
    Matilda and William had a very rocky start to their relationship as Matilda initially rejected him as a potential husband. His response was to go to her home and beat her till near death, after which she declared that she would have no other as a husband. In the early years they were the Duke and Duchess of Normandy and Matilda, who was very well educated for her time, brought to the court the cultural elements that William, trained as a warrior, was lacking. In addition she was a very pious woman and worked diligently throughout their marriage to keep William on the straight and narrow.
    Their relationship was by all accounts one of great affection and William was criticized during his time for his faithfulness to his wife, something which was very uncommon at the time. William also came to greatly trust his wife’s judgment to such an extent that when he left Normandy to conquer England he left her completely in charge of his duchy. She apparently ruled quite well in his absence because this would continue to be his practice until the last few years of their marriage. Matilda would later be crowned Queen of England at William’s insistence and she would be the first woman to be recognized as a queen in more than name by the European world at that time. It was Matilda who was able to use her skills in diplomacy to soften the blow of the fierceness of William’s conquest.
    Toward the end of her life there would be a war between William and his oldest son Robert which would drive a wedge between Matilda and William for the remainder of their years and undermine the trust William had placed in Matilda. Robert had always been Matilda’s favorite son and William’s least favorite. When William refused to give Robert his inheritance of the duchy Robert rebelled and tried to overthrow William. Matilda took the side of her oldest son. Nevertheless, when Matilda died a few years later William was completely overwhelmed by grief and continued to be for the next four years until his own death.
    I was very impressed by the story of Matilda and the influence she was able to have at a period of history when women were thought to be good for little more than child-bearing. I also found this book very enjoyable to read which I attribute to the authors writing style. While the book is obviously very well researched and the story is well cited throughout the author also has a style which is very approachable. At no point did I feel like I was being drowned in a litany of facts as some biographies can turn into. I do enjoy reading the stories of the less obvious players in history and this one did not disappoint. I would recommend this book to anyone who is a lover of history or biographies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Disappointed this wasn't more of a story.

    Mostly historical facts, some proven, some presumed was the gist of this book. Fortunately, I like to read history but was expecring more of a story/plot. I've never read a book where I had to look up so many words to make sure I was understanding the info, but if you like history, this is a good read if you stick with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Not what I expected.

    I thought this book would be a historical fiction with some sense of storytelling, what i got was reminescent of a history lesson. There was no first view perspective but instead a historical review. Granted it was interesting to learn about Matilda and WIlliam the Conquerer but would have liked it as a storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    WA good read and interesting.

    Reveals a magnificent women and insight into William the Conqurer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Dvgff

    ,12345678907

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Not so good

    I was excited to read this book based on other reviews. I was very disappointed. There was too much repeatition.....how many times can you say she was pious, proud of her heritage, smart for a woman, loved her husband and country, gave to the poor. I especially disliked how the author built up detail reasons why something could have happened and then in as much detail why it might not have happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1