Customer Reviews for

Queenmaker: A Novel of King David's Queen

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Whether or not this book follows the story as told in the bible is irrelevant. This is an excellent story.

posted by Anonymous on November 13, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fiction-Why call a rose by any other word?

I have always been fascinated by Michal, King David's first queen. Admitting that, I was really looking forward to reading an entire book about her, also. However, disappoinment poisoned my original optimism. Obviously, Ms. Edgehill has read enough of the Biblical accou...
I have always been fascinated by Michal, King David's first queen. Admitting that, I was really looking forward to reading an entire book about her, also. However, disappoinment poisoned my original optimism. Obviously, Ms. Edgehill has read enough of the Biblical account to know the real story. Unfortunately, the more one reads, the more she changes the original story. Michal becomes a cynical pesimist, David becomes a sex-addict, and the prophets of God become gold-diggers.

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Fiction-Why call a rose by any other word?

    I have always been fascinated by Michal, King David's first queen. Admitting that, I was really looking forward to reading an entire book about her, also. However, disappoinment poisoned my original optimism. Obviously, Ms. Edgehill has read enough of the Biblical account to know the real story. Unfortunately, the more one reads, the more she changes the original story. Michal becomes a cynical pesimist, David becomes a sex-addict, and the prophets of God become gold-diggers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Historical FICTION at its best!

    I enjoyed this book a lot, as I've enjoyed the sequal, Wisdom's Daughter. It's important to remember this is a historical fiction novel, not a historical factual novel. I'd definitely recommend this book to others!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2002

    Excellent

    Whether or not this book follows the story as told in the bible is irrelevant. This is an excellent story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Very poor dont read

    Biblically incorrect. I read the entire books of 1st and 2nd Kings, Samuels and 1st and 2nd Chronicles, the author is an idiot. A bleeding heart for King Saul's line, who The Only True God, Yahwah, decided to put an end to. I made myself read this almost satanic version of a Holy Biblical history of Israel. Bad bad and bad. Try something by Ginger Garrett instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really enjoyed this book on King David and Queen Michal.

    Really enjoyed this book on King David and Queen Michal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not the David You Thought You Knew

    I really enjoyed this fictional interpretation of the Old Testament story of King David's first wife Michal. In this novel, Michal does not think highly of David, and he certainly does not come across as admirable. Instead this legendary and highly effective king is portrayed as Machiavellian, manipulative, and cruelly pragmatic. He is careless of the love of those around him; Michal in particular loathes him as he uses his power over her to control her destiny and force her to make tragic choices. All this while presenting himself as the soul of kindness and (at least in public) as totally solicitous of her well-being. But what goes around comes around....as the reader who finishes this well-told story will see.
    I'm sorry if some readers are offended because this story doesn't follow the facts in the Bible. I read the Bible and am familiar with the Old Testament story of David, but I didn't expect the novelist to adhere to every detail - in fact, there wouldn't have been much to write since Michal is mentioned so few times. So, sure, Ms. Edghill took plenty of liberties, which she is free as an author to do. That is why a made-up story, even based on fact, is called FICTION.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    A great find.

    I bough this book four years ago, drawn by the cover, then by the synopsis. It was better then I thought, and made the Bible derived elements more humanistic, especially David. Michal survives her father's machinations, David's fickleness, and shows the real strength of a woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    Incredible!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I read it in four days. It truly shows the humanity of us all, and is definitely an interesting side of the story of Michal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2004

    A Magical Novel

    The Queenmaker was one a the toughest books to put down! Definitely one of my all time favorite books! Reading this magical story took me to an amazing ancient world. It was written beautifully! It captivated my interest from the beginning to the end! Hope to see her upcoming books soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2003

    Fairly Disappointing

    I am currently playing Michal in a local production, and bought this book to help me flesh her out a bit. There's not a great deal of information about her in the Bible, and I knew that the author naturally would have to take some dramatic license. What I didn't expect was that she would ignore nearly all the facts that are written. These are just a few that come to mind: 1. David's escape more than likely did not take place on their wedding night. It is speculated that they were together for about 2-3 years before Michal helped him escape. 2. When Nathan confronts David about having Uriah the Hittite killed, David confesses, and makes no excuses (2 Samuel 12:13). He doesn't act arrogant and try to justify his actions. 3. Nathan prophesied that Bathsheba's firstborn by David would die, and he did (2 Samuel 12:18). Solomon was born later. 4. Amnon raped Tamar, then threw her away. They were not in love (2 Samuel 13:14-18). Absolom hated Amnon because he had raped Tamar (2 Samuel 13:22, 28-29), not because he desired the throne. Like I said, I certainly expected the author to fill in the blanks, but I also expected her to get the facts right rather than change history to fit her view. David was far from perfect, but he also described as a 'man after God's own heart'. Yes, he was probably arrogant, but I have a terribly hard time believing him to be the evil being that the author portrays him to be. The only good thing I can say about this novel is that the author's style is pleasant, and her descriptions certainly do bring the environment to life, but it was difficult for me to finish this book given that the facts were so distorted. I was surprised that all the other reader reviews were so good. Maybe they've never opened a Bible?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2003

    Fabulous!

    I didn't want this book to end. Reminds us of how faulted our biblical characters were. Brings history to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2003

    I couldn't put it down!

    I am a big fan of historical fiction. I happened to pick this book up even though the subject matter did not interest me all that much. It was extremely well written! I could not put it down. I cannot wait for the next book by India Edghill. I am only disappointed that I read it so quickly and have to leave the lovely world she transported me to behind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1