BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Quentins

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Maeve Binchy is the BEST!

I read this book, and at least ten other of Maeve Bincy's books over the year I spent deployed to Iraq. I discovered 'Evening Class' by chance and gave it a read, and have since read almost all of her other books. My favorites by Maeve Binchy: 'Evening Class', Scarle...
I read this book, and at least ten other of Maeve Bincy's books over the year I spent deployed to Iraq. I discovered 'Evening Class' by chance and gave it a read, and have since read almost all of her other books. My favorites by Maeve Binchy: 'Evening Class', Scarlet Feather', 'Light a Penny Candle', 'Tara Road', 'Echoes', 'Circle of Fiends', 'The Glass Lake', 'Firefly Summer', 'London Transports', 'The Lilac Bus', 'The Copper Beach' - I have not read a book by her that I did not enjoy, and only a couple did not move to tears. Advice: If you are a Maeve Binchy reader (you will be after you read this book) I would read 'Scarlet Feather' and 'Evening Class' before reading 'Quentins'. You will enjoy it more. Like all of her books, Quentins takes you into the minds and hearts of her characters and really touches your soul. This book took me away from Iraq for a day, and made me feel good. She can set scenes and create drama that will suck you in like nothing else. BUY THIS BOOK, and buy one for every person you know - they will thank you.

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not the usual

I did not like Ella and as she is the main character unfortunately this is one of the books Binchy has written that I would not pick up again. I don't like stupid heroines. I did like the part about Quentin the restaurant owner so if you can stomach Ella's annoying pe...
I did not like Ella and as she is the main character unfortunately this is one of the books Binchy has written that I would not pick up again. I don't like stupid heroines. I did like the part about Quentin the restaurant owner so if you can stomach Ella's annoying personality of course Binchy's writing is magnificent as usual. The supporting parts of this novel are interesting using characters we all know (if we've read her stuff before) so that part is satisfying.

posted by Anonymous on March 28, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    Maeve Binchy is the BEST!

    I read this book, and at least ten other of Maeve Bincy's books over the year I spent deployed to Iraq. I discovered 'Evening Class' by chance and gave it a read, and have since read almost all of her other books. My favorites by Maeve Binchy: 'Evening Class', Scarlet Feather', 'Light a Penny Candle', 'Tara Road', 'Echoes', 'Circle of Fiends', 'The Glass Lake', 'Firefly Summer', 'London Transports', 'The Lilac Bus', 'The Copper Beach' - I have not read a book by her that I did not enjoy, and only a couple did not move to tears. Advice: If you are a Maeve Binchy reader (you will be after you read this book) I would read 'Scarlet Feather' and 'Evening Class' before reading 'Quentins'. You will enjoy it more. Like all of her books, Quentins takes you into the minds and hearts of her characters and really touches your soul. This book took me away from Iraq for a day, and made me feel good. She can set scenes and create drama that will suck you in like nothing else. BUY THIS BOOK, and buy one for every person you know - they will thank you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    Not the usual

    I did not like Ella and as she is the main character unfortunately this is one of the books Binchy has written that I would not pick up again. I don't like stupid heroines. I did like the part about Quentin the restaurant owner so if you can stomach Ella's annoying personality of course Binchy's writing is magnificent as usual. The supporting parts of this novel are interesting using characters we all know (if we've read her stuff before) so that part is satisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2014

    Recommend.

    Easy, relaxed stories. When you are finished you are anxious to begin her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    I found the book very easy reading. The various stories were in

    I found the book very easy reading. The various stories were interesting, but I found there were just too many characters to keep track of. As I read the book, however, I kept asking myself -- "Why are smart women so stupid when it comes to men"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    A Lovely Story tying other M. Binchy Stories Together

    Quentins is endearing, heartwarming, dramatic, a story within story, and reads like you are watching a movie. It kept my attention. I've read Circle of Friends, Tara Road, and Evening Class already and will continue to read more of Maeve Binchy's books. I love her writing style!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Another great Maeve Binchy book

    I loved it. It brought back characters from other favorite Binchy books and gave me the urge to go back through my library and read a few old favorites again. One of my favorite authors and will definitely miss the fact that there will not be any more in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Quintessential Maeve Binchy! My one regret is that this one, as

    Quintessential Maeve Binchy! My one regret is that this one, as well as all others, ends too soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    AS USUAL A VERY GOOD BOOK AND I ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH. ALL THESE BOOKS ARE VERY GOOD READING. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO THE NEXT ONE>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    love this author

    even if you kniw all ends well, it is still an enjoyable ride. there are recurring characters. who have stories of there own that pan out in different books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a great writer!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I read Tara Road first, then onto Quentins.........another fabulous book. She's got the style for me, Quentins seems to jump around alot, but it all comes together in the end. You won't be bored reading this one. I loved it, and plan on reading more from Binchy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    I liked how it included characters from some of her other stories, but it was a bit wordy. Over all I liked the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    A Binchy Fav for Me

    I began this book on a family trip to Florida. There were two nights I stayed in the hotel just to finish it. I could not put it down. I fell in love with the characters, the ideas, the history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Good read

    This is an easy book to read. I enjoyed the writer's style and the way she introduces new character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2005

    'A Big Disappointment'

    I guess I did not realize Maeve Binchy was a romantic novelist. I try to avoid those. However, I did read 'Tara Road' and rather enjoyed it. I cannot say the same for 'Quentin's'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    TAKE ME TO IRELAND

    This is my third Maeve Binchy book, and I love it. My favorite character is Ella, but then as I read more, my opinion changes. All of the characters are developed so well that you want to learn more about them all. I was happy to see Maud and Simon, and some of the other characters from Tara Road and Scarlet Feather in this wonderful book. I am online now about to purchase 'Glass Lake'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    When I finished the book...

    I felt myself to be capable of changing my life completely...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    Pretty Awesome !!

    I would say this book was a meaty novel with excellent characters that come to life -- her writing is smooth as silk and flows so that you NEVER find a stopping place ! This would be a must read for Binchy fans and recommended to new readers trying to find a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    Heartwarming!

    It felt so comforting to relax, prop my feet up while I sat for hours reading this heartwarming tale of a group of characters that came to life in a country that I'm not familiar with. But that really didn't matter, I felt as if I was there, as if I really knew these characters and all in all a truly well thought out and written book. A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    Maeve at her best

    This is one of those books that you can't hardly put down because you want to find out what happens to Ella and how she handles her troubles. If you enjoyed any of her latest novels, you will enjoy this one. I listened to it by audio tape, and it was awesome. It had the perfect change in voice and tone. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    Moving story

    I love her novels. She is great with her various characters and their unique bland of individualism. One way or another, they always manage to touch me in incomparable measure. This one is another one that leaves you with rich emotions and remembrance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3