BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Quest

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

QUEST by WILBUR SMITH

The 4th and hopefully not the last in the series. There is more sexual content in this than in previous stories but it works well and is tastefully worked. This is the first time I have seen this author on the bookshelves in the USA. I have read most of his works when ...
The 4th and hopefully not the last in the series. There is more sexual content in this than in previous stories but it works well and is tastefully worked. This is the first time I have seen this author on the bookshelves in the USA. I have read most of his works when living in the UK. If he is new to you, get River God and you will be hooked.

posted by oldbumplumpy on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ridiculous and definitely outrageous at times

I have been Wilbur Smith's fan for the longest time and have always enjoyed his books,rushing to finish one book so that I can start another.
Now The River God,The Seventh scroll and The Sunbird left me feeling that I had lived those lives,but this one is really just u...
I have been Wilbur Smith's fan for the longest time and have always enjoyed his books,rushing to finish one book so that I can start another.
Now The River God,The Seventh scroll and The Sunbird left me feeling that I had lived those lives,but this one is really just unlike his works.It was okay at the beginning until Lostris suddenly came back from the dead.He took all of Eos'incredibly omnipotent magical powers and he is sill suffering like mere mortal men.The witch is dead,he had suck her dry but she is still ???? It is just unbelievably boring towards the end and it has been torture reading the last few chapters.I guess Wilbur Smith is running out of stories.However I still believe he is one of the best storytellers of all time.This one is just not good enough

posted by 1112524 on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ridiculous and definitely outrageous at times

    I have been Wilbur Smith's fan for the longest time and have always enjoyed his books,rushing to finish one book so that I can start another.
    Now The River God,The Seventh scroll and The Sunbird left me feeling that I had lived those lives,but this one is really just unlike his works.It was okay at the beginning until Lostris suddenly came back from the dead.He took all of Eos'incredibly omnipotent magical powers and he is sill suffering like mere mortal men.The witch is dead,he had suck her dry but she is still ???? It is just unbelievably boring towards the end and it has been torture reading the last few chapters.I guess Wilbur Smith is running out of stories.However I still believe he is one of the best storytellers of all time.This one is just not good enough

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    Skip this one!

    I have enjoyed Wilbur Smith's books for some time, but before Smith started writing I enjoyed H. Ryder Haggard . . . most of this book is a blatant imitation of parts of SHE, King Soloman's Mines and other Haggard Books. Don't bother to read it, get the original.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    QUEST by WILBUR SMITH

    The 4th and hopefully not the last in the series. There is more sexual content in this than in previous stories but it works well and is tastefully worked. This is the first time I have seen this author on the bookshelves in the USA. I have read most of his works when living in the UK. If he is new to you, get River God and you will be hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Off in another world

    Have been a fan for over 20 yrs.Don't know where he was going with this book.I have loved all of his works but this one is like someone else wrote it.( and not very well).Please come back, stay away from the wierd, out-of-this-world-trash and bring the real Wilbur Smith to life again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    Wretched gibberish

    I am a Wilbur Smith fan. I have read almost every one of his books, and own about 90% of them, many of them signed 1st editions. His various African series were great, as were his 'stand alone' novels. His early Eyptian work was good. But his work of the last few years is disappointing. He has regressed and seems preoccupied with sexual adventures. I started The Quest twice and could never get further than about 100 pages. Pure gibberish....a sad end to the work of what was once a fine novelist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Smith should stick to historical novels.

    I am a great fan of Mr. Smith but this is one book that I sarted but did not finish. Enough with the gods and demons already! Stick to what you do best: historical novels, please!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    Save your money

    Disappointing. It was a labor to get through. Filled with childish nonsense. Nothing like the excitement of the previous works. Mr. Smith you failed to entertain us with this work it was best unwritten.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    Love Mr. Smiths writing including the first book of Egypt and the immortal Taita BUT give me a break, just too much fantasy and Stepen King raves about Wilburs great writing of historical fiction. Yes Ok please Wilbur let's go back to Africa, Cheers, Michael

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    Just read it and enjoy, give yourself up to the mystical powers, the incredible abilities, including sexual...without telling yourself too many times that what Taita does isn't possible. I just wish they would include better maps to track his lengthy travels. What WILL he do next?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2007

    Don't Waste your Money

    Had to throw the book away, could not bear to read it. Full of strange descriptions of sex

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2007

    How the Mighty has fallen!

    What happened to the Wilbur Smith we once knew and loved? I couldn't wait until his next historical novel of colonial Africa arrived each summer. In fact, 30 years ago I actually sold my car, emptied my savings account and flew to South Africa after reading his earlier works. I was a lifelong, diehard fan and still was until The Quest came out. Telepathy, witches, riding on the backs of hyenas, man eating toads?????? I truly didn't know whether to laugh, cry or vomit. Mr. Smith, what is worse? You wasting such a writing talent or me wasting my money and time reading such dreck? To other avid W. Smith fans- don't waste your time with this book! Save your money for the upcoming Harry Potter book...you'll be guaranteed a better plot and far less fantasy in Rowlings' book than this sorry excuse for a novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Not like his other Taita books

    Have enjoyed all the Taita books but this one seemed more like a fantasy. Just started Desert God and it takes place way before The Quest, too bad Mr. Smith didn't save The Quest for the last book might have made a bit more sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    SIRENS

    Plug your ears!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    I really wonder if someone else wrote this horrible book and use

    I really wonder if someone else wrote this horrible book and used Wilbur Smith's name. It was truly awful from start to finish. River God is incredible, one of the best stories I have ever read. To think the same man wrote that and wrote this, I almost cannot believe it. Bringing Lostris back from the dead was ridiculous. Giving Taita his manhood back - by any means - ridiculous. The entire EOS storyline was ridiculous. I love Wilbur Smith's work and was terribly disappointed with The Quest. I read Warlock, which was not bad, but he should have stopped the story there. Before I read this book I wanted to read some of his other books, now I am not sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Wilbur Smith's Egyptian series of novels is absolutely captivati

    Wilbur Smith's Egyptian series of novels is absolutely captivating. Once I start reading his book, I cannot put it down. His imagination and descriptive powers are rare and the pace of his story is engaging. One of the best authors I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Good story!

    Entertaining. Lots of action. But, the main character just couldn't make any mistakes, could he? Everything went his way. Nice read, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Not for me!

    I could not maintain an interest in the story line. Some of Mr. Smith's earlier books on ancient Egypt were interesting to me, but this one seemed to much of a stretch in the characters and to much like "fairy tale" happenings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Great Storyteller

    Exciting and great visual detail. We expect no less from Smith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    hi

    friend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A better listening experience than Reading, but well worth the time.

    Having only been exposed to Warlock and The Quest, I don't have a definite idea of what I expect from the author. Generally speaking, I'd rather be surprised than have an author trundle out their 'tried and true' formula. So, the more it strays and encompasses the better I like it. However, I found his writing style ponderous. I liked the subject matter enough to buy the Compact Disc of both Warlock and The Quest, and I have to say, I enjoyed listening more than I enjoyed reading. I never got passed the first chapter of Warlock. I didn't even crack open The Quest, just went right to the disc.

    The Quest was a little different in style than Warlock. It didn't have the same sense of storytelling that Warlock had. The time jumps, without mention, were the hardest, I think. Apparently the 'first part of the final battle' took months? That wasn't the 'feel' that I got from it, and wouldn't have known, if it hadn't been mentioned. That being said, after the fact, it made sense. Unlike other reviews, I have no issue with the residual magic that was left in the temple of Eos that needed to be confronted. I believe that the tenet of lingering magic holds true for this.

    In all, this is a very good story. I would never give it as a gift because the writing style is ponderous, but it is definitely worth the time, although to reiterate, I prefer the disc for this writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3