BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Quest

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

QUEST by WILBUR SMITH

The 4th and hopefully not the last in the series. There is more sexual content in this than in previous stories but it works well and is tastefully worked. This is the first time I have seen this author on the bookshelves in the USA. I have read most of his works when ...
The 4th and hopefully not the last in the series. There is more sexual content in this than in previous stories but it works well and is tastefully worked. This is the first time I have seen this author on the bookshelves in the USA. I have read most of his works when living in the UK. If he is new to you, get River God and you will be hooked.

posted by oldbumplumpy on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ridiculous and definitely outrageous at times

I have been Wilbur Smith's fan for the longest time and have always enjoyed his books,rushing to finish one book so that I can start another.
Now The River God,The Seventh scroll and The Sunbird left me feeling that I had lived those lives,but this one is really just u...
I have been Wilbur Smith's fan for the longest time and have always enjoyed his books,rushing to finish one book so that I can start another.
Now The River God,The Seventh scroll and The Sunbird left me feeling that I had lived those lives,but this one is really just unlike his works.It was okay at the beginning until Lostris suddenly came back from the dead.He took all of Eos'incredibly omnipotent magical powers and he is sill suffering like mere mortal men.The witch is dead,he had suck her dry but she is still ???? It is just unbelievably boring towards the end and it has been torture reading the last few chapters.I guess Wilbur Smith is running out of stories.However I still believe he is one of the best storytellers of all time.This one is just not good enough

posted by 1112524 on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Wilbur Smith's Egyptian series of novels is absolutely captivati

    Wilbur Smith's Egyptian series of novels is absolutely captivating. Once I start reading his book, I cannot put it down. His imagination and descriptive powers are rare and the pace of his story is engaging. One of the best authors I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Not for me!

    I could not maintain an interest in the story line. Some of Mr. Smith's earlier books on ancient Egypt were interesting to me, but this one seemed to much of a stretch in the characters and to much like "fairy tale" happenings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Great Storyteller

    Exciting and great visual detail. We expect no less from Smith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    hi

    friend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    A Grand Fantasy Adventure

    This superb book by Wilbur Smith is set in the days of the ancient Egyptian Kings and the many gods and icons that they worship. The Nile has mysteriously dried up; famine besets the Kingdoms and the tribal cultures that live along the Upper Nile. This novel's protagonists encounter strange creatures, primitive tribes, mortal combat,and more than a bit of romance as they journey to the origins of the Nile in search of the cause of the mysterious stoppage of the mighty river's flow.

    This novel will engage your mind and your imagination from beginning to end...an excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    Another triumph

    I have read everything Wilbur Smith has written, and once again a mesmerizeing tale of history, adventure and human interactions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    It has been 5 years since we last saw Taita Meren walking into the sunset for adventures. While there has been no news of Egypt, Taita senses there is trouble - he is summoned to the presence of another magus, and Taita receives enlightenment that allows him to surpass the powers he already had. He finds an evil witch name Eos is trying to conquer the Light. He returns with Meren to find Egypt has been in distress - the Nile's flow has stopped. No water from the Nile, no enriched soil, no crops, no Egypt. And the witch Eos is responsible. The Pharoah gives Taita the quest of going to the end of the world, the source of the Nile, to conquer the force of evil and restore the Nile. This book is about magic - moreso than the others - events happen that make us stretch our imagination, but Taita is still Taita - and his love for Queen Lostris is forever. The Quest starts slowly, but have patience-it will take you on a wild ride. One hopes it will not be years until we see Taita again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have been waiting for this book and am not at all disappointed. As an avid reader I still find Wilbur Smith to be my favorite author. Do not listen to anyones criticism of any of Smiths books. They are remarkable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb historical fantasy saga

    It has been seven years since Taita, the magus ad lose friend of Pharaoh, and his comrade Meren visit the Temple of Knowledge and Regeneration where those who follow the path of Truth (good) go to have their third eye opened truth. It is not an easy operation and once the adepts mistakenly open it to a follower of the follower of the Lie (Evil). Taita goes ahead with the surgery as he is a savant with considerable power. --- Taita and Meren return to Egypt to see the Nile has dried up except for small trickles of poisoned blood the land is filled with poisonous toads and hordes of locusts. Pharaoh sends Taita to search for the reason why the Nile has dried up. Taita believes Eos, a follower of the Lie, is behind the catastrophe ands she lives near or near a volcano because the fire strengthens her power. Taita travels to the source of the Nile to deal with the cause only to find hostile tribes wanting to kill him. To his astonishment and elation he meets the young woman Fenn, who is the reincarnation of Pharaoh Regent Lostris, the only women he ever loved. They find the city of Joria made up of legions that disappeared when Lostris sent them to find the Nile¿s source. It is a place controlled by Eos who wants to drain Taita of his wisdom and knowledge before she kills him. The showdown that is coming will take place in an unusual place and manner and Taita does not know if he will win over a millennia old immortal witch. --- This is the fourth book in the historical fantasy saga starring Taita and as with the previous thrillers (see RIVER GOD, THE SEVENTH SCROLL, AND WARLOCK), Ancient Egypt is a key element as Wilbur Smith brings the land of the Pharaohs to life. Magic is considered as ordinary everyday occurrence by people who take for granted that mages have these skills. Taita is respected by everyone because he seeks the Truth and is kind and caring and can be ferocious when need be to protect those he cares for and loves. This entry is a terrific look at the lifeblood of the Sahara during a drought that impacts everyone. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2