Customer Reviews for

The Quest Begins (Seekers Series #1) (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 563 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(432)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Great book

My12 thinks it is the best! Full of heart, adventure, and friendship. It has the whole package. Open the package!

posted by 6504235 on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

How Can Warriors Be by the SAME Authors?

I really enjoy the warriors series. Yes, I am probably too old to be reading it, but I've read it for a long time. But Seekers was NOT up to par the awesome Warriors standard. The magical bear-thing is just a NO. WHO came up with that? Other than that, the book reeked o...
I really enjoy the warriors series. Yes, I am probably too old to be reading it, but I've read it for a long time. But Seekers was NOT up to par the awesome Warriors standard. The magical bear-thing is just a NO. WHO came up with that? Other than that, the book reeked of a copied warriors book, just with less awesomeness. I feel bad for not enjoying this book, since my little sister bought it for me, knowing I LOVE warriors. Because of the sister love, I forced myself to read it. Never again. Maybe this is Erin's way of catering to a younger audience? Either way, not for me at all. Pros: It's about bears, which is cool in my book Cons: I don't know if it was just me, but having a shape-shifting bear is too... I don't even know the word for it. At least with Starclan in Warriors, it was like a religion, so you weren't having magic FORCED in your face.

posted by yuubyn on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 565 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! it tops the others. Would recommend to everyo

    What a great read! it tops the others. Would recommend to everyone

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Great book

    My12 thinks it is the best! Full of heart, adventure, and friendship. It has the whole package. Open the package!

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Good

    I love these books. Ive read them all over lots of times before. If you like adventure, nature,and fantacy then this serise is great for you

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    This is a great Adventure book!

    It has lots of challange and Characters. If you do not like bears read this book, because after you read it you will love bears. So, I bought this book. Hope you read it. It is about These Three bears in three worlds. Kaliak is a Polar bear, Her mom is Nisa, and her brother is Taqqiq. Lusa is a black bear, Her dad is King, and her mom is Ashia. Toklo is a brown bear, his mom is Oka, and his brother is Tobi. There is alot to this story. If you read it, You will feel yourself come into the book.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story!!

    This is a very good book if you want to be challenged on words you have never heard before. The book is about three bears who are trying to find their families. There is a black bear who escaped from the zoo. There is a polar bear who's mother died fighting orcas for her and her brother and she is trying to find her brother. There is a grizzly bear who's brother died and his mother was sent to the zoo where the black bear was. Their adventures are exciting.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    How Can Warriors Be by the SAME Authors?

    I really enjoy the warriors series. Yes, I am probably too old to be reading it, but I've read it for a long time. But Seekers was NOT up to par the awesome Warriors standard. The magical bear-thing is just a NO. WHO came up with that? Other than that, the book reeked of a copied warriors book, just with less awesomeness. I feel bad for not enjoying this book, since my little sister bought it for me, knowing I LOVE warriors. Because of the sister love, I forced myself to read it. Never again. Maybe this is Erin's way of catering to a younger audience? Either way, not for me at all. Pros: It's about bears, which is cool in my book Cons: I don't know if it was just me, but having a shape-shifting bear is too... I don't even know the word for it. At least with Starclan in Warriors, it was like a religion, so you weren't having magic FORCED in your face.

    9 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    Great Series!

    This is a grat series of books! I just bought this and the first book in Seekers and I read through both without stopping. I'm going to read them again soon! These books are action-packed and from different bears' point of view. (Be prepared for some bloodthirstyness.) Erin Hunter is a great author and you should buy and read her Warriors series and Seekers series!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This guy erin hunter is one of the best others ever he has another searies called warriors it is about cats. And i think another witch i think is about dogs

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Luvit

    LUV IT!!!!!!!!!!!! I THINK THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!!! TOTALY READ IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5STAR REVIEW!!! KALLIK IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(BEARS RULE

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Great Book

    This book is great for childeren and adults. What I love about it is that its a adventure feel to it because its about 3 Bears on a mission to find somthing or someone.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    If you like Warriors and Survivors you will most likely like this! :)

    If you like Warriors and Survivors by Erin Hunter you will most likely enjoy this book. It is about three bears who were all seperated from their mother at a young age. Their names are Tolko (grizzly ), Lusa (black bear), and Kallik (polar bear). Tolko's mother abandons him, Lusa runs away from the zoo, and Kallik's mother is killed by an orca. Also none of the bears quite meet eachother in this book. As a matter of fact Kallik does'nt meet Lusa or Tolko until the second book. I hoped my review helped toy decide if you wanted this book. Also the books get better as you continue reading the series.

    PLEASE click YES if my review helped. Thanks! =)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I have read this whole series and I love these books. I recomend this book to anyone who likes adventure, and survival, and the point of view for three different bears!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Great! ByReader

    My brother got tis book and loved it. Such a good book. Like warriors except better. SO GREAT! Love it! My brother can't stop reading it. Cubs, ice, perfect!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    BIG Erin Hunter Fan!!!!!!

    OMG!!!!!! I love the seekers and wariors series!! They are the greatest books ever writen. ANYWAY, I thought Erin Hunters new book, seekers, was outstanding. I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK!! I have a couple question including Will kilak find her brother?,Will Kilak meet up with Lusa and Toklo?,etc. My opinion on Oka is that she is a horrible mother because she practicly ignored toklo when tobi was sick and she made toklo leave her and she buried him as if he was dead.But I was sad when she was put to sleep because she acutaully loved Toklo. P.S. I can't wait for Erin's next book!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Good book.... or Warriors replacement? REVIEW

    This book was an experiment for me that turned into an awesome series. When I started to read it I loved Kalilks point of view, the Toklo grumpiness, and Lusa and her quest and persistance.....THIS IS A GREAT BOOK. Then there is Ujarak(awesome). Anyhow, the point when they were separated so every chapter was the different bear spiced up everything. Books where the characters have to go on a journey are boring. But the way the author did it so you were waiting for the next bear each chapter is so good. The only problem Is YOU MUST GET BOTH ONE AND TWO. This is terrible if you dont. I love the bears personalities especially Lusas part. She is more experienced in longfaces than the others so it makes it more interesting.



    POOR POINTS: The book really had no poor points. It was good and wholesome. Probably the one thing I hated about the book was...... the fact it replaced Warriors. But it grew on me. Totally less graphic than Warriors. Its a really good family read too and just addictive. If your kids are asking to read Erin Hunter and they are younger, Seekers is a nice start. Im still a huge Warriors fan so itll never replace my fave book series but still awesome. Get it. Now.





    *-* a huge Erin Hunter Fan

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Awsome but should have all books

    I love these books but the only thing is i have already read1-3 but they dont have the others. Hit yes four all the books

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Luv

    I always thought bad about this book but I was wrong! I always loved Warriors and I never thought I would see a book sieres that good but Seekers could give them a run for its money. It is very sad with a few deaths but 5 stars! Go Toklo!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    BEST SERIES EVER!!!!!!

    Im going to read all of the seekers books. Im already on the fourth one. Erin Hunterc is an amazing auther!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Hi ppl

    OMG!!!! YOU'LL LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!! ( why? Because this book is sad but exciting! So read it!!!!!! )

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A sad but enjoy read would recommend to all my friend and family!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 565 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29