Customer Reviews for

A Quick Bite (Argeneau Vampire Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 688 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(371)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Major turn on

I picked up this book on a whim in hopes of finding another series to tide me over while I waited for Lover mine By J.R.Ward. Man I was floored by how I got into it. I did not put this book down until I finished it and then immediatly picked up the next in the series. I...
I picked up this book on a whim in hopes of finding another series to tide me over while I waited for Lover mine By J.R.Ward. Man I was floored by how I got into it. I did not put this book down until I finished it and then immediatly picked up the next in the series. I recommend this entire series to anyone who wants to fall in love with a book. There were parts of this book that had me rolling on the floor with tears in my eyes and cramps in my gut from laughing so hard and parts that were so steamy I really needed a release myself. Good thing I am married.

posted by Twilightfever on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Pages

263 pages

posted by 5617675 on August 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 689 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Major turn on

    I picked up this book on a whim in hopes of finding another series to tide me over while I waited for Lover mine By J.R.Ward. Man I was floored by how I got into it. I did not put this book down until I finished it and then immediatly picked up the next in the series. I recommend this entire series to anyone who wants to fall in love with a book. There were parts of this book that had me rolling on the floor with tears in my eyes and cramps in my gut from laughing so hard and parts that were so steamy I really needed a release myself. Good thing I am married.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    FUN!

    If you are looking for a light and enjoyable read, do not hesitate. Pick this one up. It took awhile for me to get the book's tone and get accustomed to the writer's style but as soon as I realized that it was about a vampire who is suffering from hematophobia and a psychologist who was abducted to treat her of said phobia, I knew that hilarity would ensue and I was not disappointed. The story is entertaining, sexy and really funny at times. The characters are relatable and the dialogue will make you smile. Lissi and Greg were a delight to get to know and I look forward to getting to know the rest of the Argeneau family as I read the series.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Good yet refreshing allows readers to indulge!

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoy

    Exciting and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoyable

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Amazing

    This book is soooo good. A definite must read. Its twilight for adults.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Pages

    263 pages

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    !

    Why does harriet klausner ruin books by revealing every plot detail? That is so rude.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A horrible waste of time and money!

    I can't believe I paid for this. Normally I love paranormal romance. Sookie Stackhouse, Twilight, Love at Stake series, Black Dagger Brotherhood etc. I have heard of this Argeneau series for awhile and decided to give it a try. I purchased this book for my Nook which is the only reason I finished it. The writing is awful. The characters aren't developed enough to even be likable. The plot is ridiculous! Her phobia is a joke. I mean, come on, it doesn't even make sense! I normally read an entire book in an evening. This book took me 3 days because it was so boring I just couldn't bear to pick it up and continue reading.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    First time, last time

    I wanted to venture out from my favorites and try a high recommended series. Thus how I came across the Argeneau Vampire Series by Lynsay Sands. I was extremely excited after reading the excerts and editorial summary. Unfortunately, it fell very short of my expectations. The writing style alone didn't do anything special. It was a basic book with a few cute turns on the typical vampire. All in all, I doubt I'll buy into this series any further, unless it pleases my O.C.D tendencies for owning an entire series. In case you don't know, this has happened several times before. My O.C.D. tendencies also include reading a series that I don't like just because I own it. It's a truley neverending cycle.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Quick Read, Left Me Wanting

    This book is just not for me, and I won't buy any others in the series. It looked cute on premise, something to pass a rainy day with, but it was very difficult to get through. It just didn't keep my attention, the plot was a bit rough, the writing not my style. Keep in mind I am of the minority, though. You might enjoy it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    AWESOME

    All of the books in this series are fantastic!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lynsay Sands does it again!

    Lynsay Sands has several different series she writes about, however the Argeneau Vampire series is my favorite. It puts a whole different slant on the term -Vampire- and dark, cold nights, sleeping in graveyards or coffins, and drinking blood the typical way; by killing their victims, and flying away like a bat! The Argeneau family only drinks bagged blood, provided by blood banks owned and operated by vampires. The best part of her books is the humor she puts on situations guaranteed to upset the average human being-vampire or not! In this story the main character,faints at the sight of blood, so her mom kidnaps a psychiatrist-to help her daughter as a birthday present! What happens is what the book is about. I thoroughly enjoyed this book so much, I went and bought the rest of this series and was not disappointed. I am looking forward to the next installment.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book to Sink Your Teeth (or Fangs) into

    This is the first book in the Argeneau Vampire Series by Lynsay Sands. I found the main characters very interesting and humorous. Lissianna's phobia gives it an interesting twist, and Greg's ideas as to why he's at the Argeneau home at first are simply hilarious. Lissianna's mother, Marguerite, is a shining example of of the nosy over involved mother, but that's why the Argeneau's love her. I do as well. The end is unexpected but very good. Lissianna and Greg have sparks from the first moment and their chemistry is first rate. Read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Harriet

    Please do something about Harriet Klasner..she ruins reviews..hence, i dont want to buy the book.....also this chat room for kids about cats are ruining B& Nobles reputation.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    EXPECTED MORE

    To be the begining of the the series it was a disappointment. While the main character Gregg was a sweatheart; Marguerite, the head of the Argeneau family was obnoxious and noisy. Marguerite did no allow Greg and Lissianna to explore their feelings for each other comfortably and at their own pace. This could have been a great book if Lissianna was more idependent and did not allow Marguerite to run her life. Overall this is a good story dont stop here since the next installments (Ethien, Lucian and Bastian's stories) are great!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Love all the Argeneaus!

    I've been reading this series for a few years now, and even though I had already read this, when it popped up as a selection for my nook I knew I had to get it again! I've always been a fan of Lynsay Sands, both her historical romance novels and this series. She makes the characters so likeable, (even when they sometimes aren't!) and especially in this series, she stays consisent. You get to know one character from one book, and then they reappear in another, yet you never feel lost. You remember every little detail. High recommend that anyone who likes romance and vampires (who don't sparkle in the sunlight) buy this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Light read

    If you want an easy read with some humor, this will fit the bill. The characters were funny and the plot was different.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Don't waste your time

    Some of the details as far as how vampires came to be was clever, but mostly the story went on and on in endless explanations about everything. The plot was predictable but long and windy. The characters were pretty lame and even the steamy parts were written in such needless detail that it lost its purpose. Did not like the author's style of writing and I will not be reading the others in the series. Just glad I only paid $.99!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Thumbs up!

    I liked the few good laugh out loud moments this book gave me. And the craving to know more about the other characters. At some points the story just seemed silly, but for this read, it worked. A story with its own charm to draw u in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Ok Read

    I like the book. It was funny in places. I thought the actuall story line could have had a little more substance but overal pretty good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 689 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35