BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Quickening

Average Rating 3
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Make Time

The Quickening is a very special novel. Painfully told, it records the lives and friendship of two farm women in early 1900s Iowa. The chapters alternate between the voice of Enidina (Eddie) and Mary, who are very different women. Eddie is strong in body and spirit, mad...
The Quickening is a very special novel. Painfully told, it records the lives and friendship of two farm women in early 1900s Iowa. The chapters alternate between the voice of Enidina (Eddie) and Mary, who are very different women. Eddie is strong in body and spirit, made for country farm life. Mary is delicate and at odds with farming and the isolation of rural living.

They form a friendship, a bond born of necessity rather than choice. Through the years with its many life changes they remain loyal to each other. The dependence brought by isolation is their constant bond.

As the Great Depression looms, affecting farming and the community, families come under pressure and friendships are tested. Ultimately, secrets are exposed and a series of events changes everything with lasting consequences for everyone.

Michelle Hoover gives an honest look at women's friendships born of need and strife. Her portrayal of farming and the harsh realities of it, particularly those in times of turmoil are honest and heartfelt.

This is a remarkable book by a very gifted writer.

posted by McGuffyAnn on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

An interesting character study on how different people respond to hardship.

The Quickening is the story of two midwestern farm wives during the Great Depression. Enidina and Mary are neighbors in an area where neighbors are hard to come by. Though they have little in common, they forge an uneasy friendship out of their proximity. The book is al...
The Quickening is the story of two midwestern farm wives during the Great Depression. Enidina and Mary are neighbors in an area where neighbors are hard to come by. Though they have little in common, they forge an uneasy friendship out of their proximity. The book is all about their relationships with each other, with their husbands, and eventually between their children. The Quickening highlights the harsh realities and bleakness of living on a farm in this period and shows both the nobility and the desperate greediness that can come from not having enough.

I found The Quickening to be well written almost to a fault. I certainly felt that I was in The Depression, tired, dusty, and struggling just to survive. I can't say I actually enjoyed listening to this book, but I don't think the author was after enjoyment for her readers. It is an interesting character study on how different people respond to hardship.

I listened to this book on the audio version, read by Carrington MacDuffie. She does a really nice job distinguishing between the voices of the two women, even giving Enidina a slight accent. The gruffness of Mary's voice surprised me at first, but came to fit her well as I learned more of her character.

posted by Frisbeesage on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Make Time

    The Quickening is a very special novel. Painfully told, it records the lives and friendship of two farm women in early 1900s Iowa. The chapters alternate between the voice of Enidina (Eddie) and Mary, who are very different women. Eddie is strong in body and spirit, made for country farm life. Mary is delicate and at odds with farming and the isolation of rural living.

    They form a friendship, a bond born of necessity rather than choice. Through the years with its many life changes they remain loyal to each other. The dependence brought by isolation is their constant bond.

    As the Great Depression looms, affecting farming and the community, families come under pressure and friendships are tested. Ultimately, secrets are exposed and a series of events changes everything with lasting consequences for everyone.

    Michelle Hoover gives an honest look at women's friendships born of need and strife. Her portrayal of farming and the harsh realities of it, particularly those in times of turmoil are honest and heartfelt.

    This is a remarkable book by a very gifted writer.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    Haunting - Brutal - An imperative read.

    Michelle Hoover sat me at the kitchen tables of her characters in her stunning novel, The Quickening, and served me a slice of the human condition I will never forget. Her book is a brutally honest narrative of Edwina Current and Mary Morrow, neighbors who are thrown together because of their need for companionship on the isolated Midwest plains in the early 20th century. In it we hear out-of-tune piano music in a tiny church; we smell the blood of the slaughtered sow; we feel the singe of a prairie fire. The birth of a child, the harvest of a crop, a successful batch of pancakes - nothing could be taken for granted for these women. For those of us accustomed to supermarkets, air conditioners and cell phones, it is an uncomfortable read. Convenience and connectedness were hard to come by the characters in Michelle Hoover's story. However, the deeper I dove into The Quickening, the more I realized the story was real and profoundly important. I couldn't stop turning the pages of this exquisitely written novel. I deeply respect Ms. Hoover's courage in telling a tale of isolation, loss, betrayal and desperation on the unforgiving land her characters long to tame. Most highly recommended. An excellent book for book club discussions.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    An interesting character study on how different people respond to hardship.

    The Quickening is the story of two midwestern farm wives during the Great Depression. Enidina and Mary are neighbors in an area where neighbors are hard to come by. Though they have little in common, they forge an uneasy friendship out of their proximity. The book is all about their relationships with each other, with their husbands, and eventually between their children. The Quickening highlights the harsh realities and bleakness of living on a farm in this period and shows both the nobility and the desperate greediness that can come from not having enough.

    I found The Quickening to be well written almost to a fault. I certainly felt that I was in The Depression, tired, dusty, and struggling just to survive. I can't say I actually enjoyed listening to this book, but I don't think the author was after enjoyment for her readers. It is an interesting character study on how different people respond to hardship.

    I listened to this book on the audio version, read by Carrington MacDuffie. She does a really nice job distinguishing between the voices of the two women, even giving Enidina a slight accent. The gruffness of Mary's voice surprised me at first, but came to fit her well as I learned more of her character.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    Don't waste your time/money

    Confusing at best. Slow in many instances. I was constantly switching to other books as this did not interest me in the least.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    The ending brings it all together

    Loosely based on documents written by the author's grandmother, "The Quickening" details two farm wives' lives over the course of 40 years, beginning in 1913.
    Enidina grew up on a farm and knows what it is to work hard. She is a little older than the average woman when she meets a man her father has hired, and decides to run away and marry him. They make their home far away from her family, moving to plot their own Iowa farmland.
    Enidina helps her husband Frank with the crops and the animals, tending their large farm just the two of them.
    One farm over, just within sight of Enidina's, a younger woman named Mary lives with her two young sons and her abusive husband Jack. After years of living a solitary life, Mary walks to Enidina's farm and tries to make friends. Enidina doesn't know what to make of this woman who doesn't do a lick of work except to raise her boys, not helping on the farm at all.
    Over the years, Enidina and Mary and their families have many encounters, Mary helping Enidina through two miscarriages, Enidina helping feed Mary's children when they need it. These women are the only people so far out in the country, forced to help each other, forced to be friendly to each other.
    A guarded relationship, through the years, each woman never does know where they stand with the other, yet each knows they need the other to live.
    Told alternately through the eyes of Enidina and Mary, the story focuses on the children each eventually have, the lives and deaths of their husbands, the fate of their farms, and personal events that shape their lives and the role each plays in the others' life.
    This debut novel from Michelle Hoover is hard to put down. The characters are so strong and their stories so difficult, as times surely were then. The way the story is told, often from two different viewpoints of the same events, makes for a very compelling, thoroughly enjoyable read. If your heartstrings aren't tugged by the climax of this story, you're not paying enough attention.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    recommened for all mature women

    Throughout the book I kept feeling what little power women had over their lives during that era, no matter what their personality oe life-style.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Well written but joyless

    This book was very well written and it transports you to another time and place. The descriptives illuminate the scenes in your mind and the author gives a real feel for the characters. BUT it felt half written. The vignettes were told without cohesion and it seemed to scratch just barely below the surface- enough to engage you but definetely leave you wanting more. There was also a lack of simple joy in this book. I don't expect a fairytale ending but would like at least a little redemptive joy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Underwhelming

    Reviewers were almost ecstatic about this story but aside from a most evocative account of a desperate time in the history of our country there is very little to recommend it. The reader is frequently unsure of what is going on. The characters acted and interacted without revealing enough to keep the story moving. Confusing, depressing, and ultimately not enough substance to make this a worth the time investment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Different

    I wish I could give this this book 2 1/2 stars instead of 3 , but since I can't I decided to be generous. Don't get me wrong, this was a decent book. It was interesting and definitely kept my attention. But it made me angry! I absolutely hated Mary! She was deceitful and cruel throughout and never seemed to learn anything from her actions. That, and this book was very depressing with no real resolution in the end. Just not one of my favorites...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    So-so

    It had a great last few chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Okay if you like a story about hard times.

    Found this to be a very depressing and sad story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    It will haunt you...

    What more could you ask than to be so engaged by a story that it haunts you long after the last page has been envisioned in your mind? The author gives these characters such a depth of realism in their flaws and their feverish struggles that so wonderfully illustrates that maturity gained during our journey doesn't necessarily provide the resolution that we are looking for, but a deeper understanding of ourselves and those around us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    It is a great read. Its something a book club could tear apart. Its just one that you don't want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    mixed feelings on this one

    The Quickening was able to hold my attention, the author transferred the emotions and physical surroundings well. However, it was hard to follow the transfer from chapter to chapter in regards to the time line. A bit disturbing, yet probably realistic how the women dealt with their feelings in that time period. The ending came suddenly, and was a bit unclear what happened to all of the characters. Not a "feel good" story, but it made me ponder what those women faced in day to day life and how I would deal with it if it all happened to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Ok read.

    Sort of depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Dont waste your time

    The writing style is scattered and senseless

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Can't really recommend this one

    This is a dreary book. Hard to describe. Finished it but can't say I enjoyed it. Seems like it was a waste of time reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Not good

    Could not finish reading this book. Story was too vague.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Two women and their families suffer through the Great Depression

    Two women and their families suffer through the Great Depression, drought and flood on nearby farms. But their difficult pasts make them friends only because of their proximity and not due to inherent similarities. The result is tragedy for both. Their story is told Rashomon-style, in alternating voices. Beautifully written, very evocative of time and place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Don't waste your time.

    I just couldn't get in to the flow of this book. To me, read like a high school English assignment, one that you just didn't want to read and would do anything to avoid. It seemed overly wordy and the overall feel of it was dreary. Maybe I just wasn't in the mood for a depressing book, or didn't give it enough of a chance, but I just couldn't get my heart into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3