Customer Reviews for

The Quickie

Average Rating 4
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great book!!!!

I read this book in 2 days on vacation and it was so good that I actually started reading it to my friend who got enthralled just by what I was telling her. I loved the character of Lauren and think this should be a movie. Sort of picture Angelina Jolie in title role....
I read this book in 2 days on vacation and it was so good that I actually started reading it to my friend who got enthralled just by what I was telling her. I loved the character of Lauren and think this should be a movie. Sort of picture Angelina Jolie in title role. I usually can figure out some things but this book kept surprising me and the twists and turns were great. James Patterson is one of my favorite authors and he outdid himself with this one.

posted by Marilyn816 on September 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Completely Ludicrous

I have read all of Patterson's books and they range from books that I thought were great'Along Came a Spider', books that I thought were innovative and fun 'The Jester', and books that are just enjoyable reads 'Beach House'. The Quickie, however, is possibly the worst ...
I have read all of Patterson's books and they range from books that I thought were great'Along Came a Spider', books that I thought were innovative and fun 'The Jester', and books that are just enjoyable reads 'Beach House'. The Quickie, however, is possibly the worst book I have ever read. It is filled with unlikeable characters rushing from one unbelievable scenario to the next. The book begins by causing the reader to ask 'But why would he/she do that?' and quickly descends to such outlandish action that I actually spent time searching the net to see if the book was intended as a farce--it wasn't, but it is anyway.

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 392 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!!!!

    I read this book in 2 days on vacation and it was so good that I actually started reading it to my friend who got enthralled just by what I was telling her. I loved the character of Lauren and think this should be a movie. Sort of picture Angelina Jolie in title role. I usually can figure out some things but this book kept surprising me and the twists and turns were great. James Patterson is one of my favorite authors and he outdid himself with this one.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    Quick turns

    What an easy read. If you like suspense, this is for you. The corners Mr. Patterson turns are unexpected and thrilling. From page 1 to the last one, you don't know where the story will take you. Short, 1,2,3 or 4 page chapters, you will find yourself turning with disbelief and anticipation. An ending even more bizarre than you will believe. ***** 5 stars

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    AMAZING, BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!

    I have never read a book as good as this. It is perfect if you like horror and mystery. I just started reading it an hour ago and it's done. THATS HOW MUCH I LOVE THIS BOOK.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Fun,quick,entertaining.

    Patterson has done it again. Can't wait to purchase another one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    What a great book.

    Could not figure at any time what was going to happen next. So many unexpected twists and turns. It kept me on the edge throughout the entire book. Loved it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    the quickie

    What would you do if your own husband killed a cop who was your lover for a day and you were also a cop? The book, "The Quickie" by James Patterson is a book of romance and suspense. The Main character is a woman who is a detective, who is married to ----------- who is living a double life with her and another woman. The detective sees her husband go into a hotel with a young blonde lady, she assumes the worst so she wants to do pay back. The detective has sex with an undercover cop who is also involved with her husband because the undercover cop knew he was lying to the detective about his life and was blackmailing him. Her husband got tired of him and decided to kill him. The day he killed was the day he was having sex with his wife, so apparently his wife seen when her husband was killing him and when he shot him in the head. She didn't know what to do. She was confused because she didn't know what was going on, she was asking herself if he knew they were together, wondering if that was the reason why or what was it. She wanted to go outside to stop him but she couldn't face him, she seen when her husband took him. She waited and she couldn't help anymore so she went outside, it was already to late, her husband left and took the dead body. She called for a cab to drop her off at her house to see if he went home but he wasn't so she got on her car and left to every hospital in town to see if he left him. Sadly, he wasn't in any. She seen cops rushing through the streets and she followed behind. That is when this old lady called in to report someone dumping a dead body. And guess who it was, it was the undercover cop. Dead. She was at the scene and she was to be the person in charge of the case the one to get to the killer. She knew who is was, but she couldn't turn him in. I can't say more because I don't to ruin it for others who haven't read this book. Out of all the books i have read, this book is the best so far. The title means more than just a quikie. Its an interesting book so don't think just because it says quikie, its about someone having sex, its more than that.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Good book

    I read this a while back and it was a good read, easy, short and couldnt put it down

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    Completely Ludicrous

    I have read all of Patterson's books and they range from books that I thought were great'Along Came a Spider', books that I thought were innovative and fun 'The Jester', and books that are just enjoyable reads 'Beach House'. The Quickie, however, is possibly the worst book I have ever read. It is filled with unlikeable characters rushing from one unbelievable scenario to the next. The book begins by causing the reader to ask 'But why would he/she do that?' and quickly descends to such outlandish action that I actually spent time searching the net to see if the book was intended as a farce--it wasn't, but it is anyway.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK

    I don't remember how many times I have read it def good book I keep it on my nightstand I have to read the whole book at least once a month

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Loved it

    It was another great read page turning thriller man i love patterson soooooo addicted read it in one day one sitting and loved every min i have no life lol

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    This was a good book. I liked the twist and turns and the ending

    This was a good book. I liked the twist and turns and the ending was great. The only reason why I gave it a 4 was because I expected a lot of sex. The book is called "The Quickie". Figured there would be a lot of sex

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    JAMES PATTERSON DOES IT AGAIN!!!

    JAMES PATTERSON DOES IT AGAIN!!! ANOTHER GREAT BOOK FROM JP. 2 THUMBS FROM THIS CHICK!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Terrible, so absolutely terrible

    I can not believe that James Patterson actually had anything to do with this book. The character development makes no sense and is so disjointed. The constant 'twists' and 'surprises' were either so unbelievable or so horribly portrayed that they did not add any suspense to the story.

    I'm also pretty sure that I put more time and effort into writing this review than the authors did in writing this story. So sad I paid money to read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    A must read book!

    This book was awesome! This is the best book I've read in awhile!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the Quickie was over very quickly

    The book started out great,amzaing,super bizarre, by the cover I thought it would be super romantic, or have lots of sex.Not the case. The Quickie , like J.p's other books, had short chapters,easy to read, Suspenseful.But maybe a little too much suspense, I still dont understand where half the book came from or went to. Ended very..Absurd,Was a quick easy book and will most likely be quickly forgotten,Overall I Didnt enjoy it much, Sorry J.P., I got Lost..ALOT.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Started good ended absurd.

    Its funny. I was thinking that this book would have benn an A half way through and an F by the end so I guess that's a C average. When supposedly smart charcaters do routinely stupid things it bothers me so much and that was the case here. Readers are given the story of Lauren who is at most times inpossible not to hate because of all the hypocritical things she does to save and her family. The ending was terrible and Patterson is capabale of so much more. Overall, a quick read that will probably be quickly forgotten. :(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    The title was better than the story line.

    This book was unbelievable -- one thing happened after another which seemed ridiculous. I was disappointed with Patterson. This was different from the other books I have read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Don't waste your time

    I am a big fan of murder mysteries and James Patterson. However, this book was a total disappointment. The characters were not at all likeable and their actions made no sense. The situations were extreme and unbelievable. And what happened to right and wrong? It seemed to blur for the main character who I thought would be the 'good' person. I kept on reading hoping there would be some reasonable explanation or redeeming action for the characters but there was none.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    I'm usually not the type of person to be interested in a book, i

    I'm usually not the type of person to be interested in a book, if the book doesn’t grab me then I will end up falling asleep before I even start the chapter, but this book is definitely worth reading. I only had to read the first chapter of the book and I was already hooked, I never feel asleep once when I was reading this outstanding book. Mr. Patterson gave so much vivid detail in this book I felt like I was actually a part of the book; it was unbelievable because I have never read a book where I can imagine everything that is happening in my head I was astonished by all the vivid detail that was provided in this book. I couldn't stop reading; it wasn't long till I finished reading the whole story. If I didn't have distractions like school or sports I probably could of finished the book in two days max. The easy part about reading the book was that the chapters were short; they were two, three pages long. So of course it would make you want to continue reading it. Each chapter has so much vivid detail you could never get tired of reading the book. I definitely recommend this book to all of those who love to read mysterious, adventure, crime scene type of books. "The Quickie" definitely gets five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Good book

    It was a little slow start and I almost stopped reading because I thought I knew what was going to happen, but I didn't. Glad I continued. So many twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 392 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20