Customer Reviews for

The Quickie

Average Rating 4
( 390 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great book!!!!

I read this book in 2 days on vacation and it was so good that I actually started reading it to my friend who got enthralled just by what I was telling her. I loved the character of Lauren and think this should be a movie. Sort of picture Angelina Jolie in title role....
I read this book in 2 days on vacation and it was so good that I actually started reading it to my friend who got enthralled just by what I was telling her. I loved the character of Lauren and think this should be a movie. Sort of picture Angelina Jolie in title role. I usually can figure out some things but this book kept surprising me and the twists and turns were great. James Patterson is one of my favorite authors and he outdid himself with this one.

posted by Marilyn816 on September 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Completely Ludicrous

I have read all of Patterson's books and they range from books that I thought were great'Along Came a Spider', books that I thought were innovative and fun 'The Jester', and books that are just enjoyable reads 'Beach House'. The Quickie, however, is possibly the worst ...
I have read all of Patterson's books and they range from books that I thought were great'Along Came a Spider', books that I thought were innovative and fun 'The Jester', and books that are just enjoyable reads 'Beach House'. The Quickie, however, is possibly the worst book I have ever read. It is filled with unlikeable characters rushing from one unbelievable scenario to the next. The book begins by causing the reader to ask 'But why would he/she do that?' and quickly descends to such outlandish action that I actually spent time searching the net to see if the book was intended as a farce--it wasn't, but it is anyway.

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    Completely Ludicrous

    I have read all of Patterson's books and they range from books that I thought were great'Along Came a Spider', books that I thought were innovative and fun 'The Jester', and books that are just enjoyable reads 'Beach House'. The Quickie, however, is possibly the worst book I have ever read. It is filled with unlikeable characters rushing from one unbelievable scenario to the next. The book begins by causing the reader to ask 'But why would he/she do that?' and quickly descends to such outlandish action that I actually spent time searching the net to see if the book was intended as a farce--it wasn't, but it is anyway.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Terrible, so absolutely terrible

    I can not believe that James Patterson actually had anything to do with this book. The character development makes no sense and is so disjointed. The constant 'twists' and 'surprises' were either so unbelievable or so horribly portrayed that they did not add any suspense to the story.

    I'm also pretty sure that I put more time and effort into writing this review than the authors did in writing this story. So sad I paid money to read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the Quickie was over very quickly

    The book started out great,amzaing,super bizarre, by the cover I thought it would be super romantic, or have lots of sex.Not the case. The Quickie , like J.p's other books, had short chapters,easy to read, Suspenseful.But maybe a little too much suspense, I still dont understand where half the book came from or went to. Ended very..Absurd,Was a quick easy book and will most likely be quickly forgotten,Overall I Didnt enjoy it much, Sorry J.P., I got Lost..ALOT.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    The title was better than the story line.

    This book was unbelievable -- one thing happened after another which seemed ridiculous. I was disappointed with Patterson. This was different from the other books I have read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    :(

    I am a fan of James Patterson, but this one was a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    Don't bother

    Wow was this a dud. I am a fan of Patterson. I read all of his books. I love the Alex Cross novels as well as the Murder Club ones. But this one was AWFUL!! It was as though the writers of CSI Miami decided to write a book! The story is so implausible. The things the main character thinks and does are absolutely ridiculous. The overall plot line with its constant surprises could have been better done had the characters been even a little bit believable. I hope for Patterson's sake that most of this book was written by Ledwidge. And, if so, I hope Patterson has the sense not to write with him again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Very dissapointing

    This book was very disappointing and it was my first James Patterson read. Maybe I will James Patterson another chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Worst Book I Ever Read

    I bought this book needing a light read for the beach. I have never read a Patterson book, but saw the Kiss the Girls film and enjoyed it. I got thrown off in the first few chapters when it switched from a first person narrative to third person and back to first person. Intriguing plot, but it quickly, and I mean quickly, became absurd and unreadable. The writing was just horrendous. If this is what a James Patterson book is like, I won't be buying any more. Please don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Quickie? Should have stayed home with a good book!

    I have come to detest the practice of successful authors co-authoring the books of new authors in order to provide a market for otherwise worthless texts. In a series of three to five page chapters Michael Ledwige has presented a document that shows why the practice should be banned. A silly premise, coupled with chopped up chapters, provided no flow to the story and created thoroughly uninteresting characters. The silly protaganist deserves the angst she so poorly lives. Mr. Patterson has failed to keep faith with his fans by lending his name to lesser talents. Skip this one and pick up James Lee Burke's next novel instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    A complete waste of time

    I would give this book no stars if it were possible. James Patterson continues his downward spiral. His early books were so well-written, with actual plot lines and character development, but his recent work is just .... sad. I stopped buying his books long ago, now borrowing them from the library, but I will no longer even do that. It's just not worth my time. This book was a farce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    Story - unrealistic...characters - scumbags...

    I normally like James Patterson but this book gets a thumbs down from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    Disappointed at Best

    I have read most of James Patterson's 'early' books and found them to be outstanding. Having just finished Judge and Jury, which was one of the best books I have ever read, The Quickie was a big let down. James Patterson needs to fire this co writer and move on. It was written in such short chapters and the wording made me feel like a high school senior was writing it. The plot was stupid and the ending was just as bad because the reader could figure it out without finishing the book. Sorry I spent $17.00 on it, thinking of asking James Patterson to send me a refund. Don't waste your money and James Patterson needs to start writing ALONE. Also, the title is stupid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    Futile Effort

    I couldn't have been more disappointed in Patterson's latest. It is, by far, the worst he's done. It appears as though his input, based on many of his previous works, was limited at best. Your readers are loyal, Mr. Patterson, please give us the respect we're due.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    another disappointment

    Go back and read an early Patterson. You'll see how far the quality of his work has deteriorated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2007

    HORRIBLE!

    This book was awful. It was was also very silly. Come on! I was literally rolling my eyes as I was turning the pages just waiting and hoping for the story to end. I agree, none of the characters were likable. Was I suppose to like the main character? Ugh! I can't believe I wasted time reading this book. Save yourself time, money, brain cells..whatever, and read something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2007

    More like a made-for-TV movie

    I am an avid James Patterson reader that has always been impressed with his ability to leave me guessing and wanting more. This book was a huge disappointment! I was not impressed because it read like someone was trying to fill up the pages and there was no guessing because it was totally predictable. The story was so lame that I kept thinking it should have been a tv movie. The main character gets away with so many things that in a realistic world just would not happen, that you end up with no suspense because you just know the main character will get away with something else, yet again! So much for edge of your seat suspense -- so not there! Being an optimist, I hope that James Patterson spends more time on his next book in order to deliver a book up to par with his past hits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2007

    Patterson? I don't think so!

    I love Patterson books! They usually keep me on the edge of my seats and I usually love his main characters! The Quickie - ugh!! It was awful from the get go and the writing style didn't match Patterson's normal style! I couldn't even finish - I skimmed to the end and wish I could get my money back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is for people who like to be cheated out of their money by an elderly former adman. Cheap writing with huge gaps and cardboard description make all of these books a blur. Even the author himself does not know what he is writing. Sara baby, I certainly did not hear you write anything about this particular book. Corey has got his reasons, leave them alone, this is not a blog. If you want to be ripped off and be 2 dimmensional, that is your business too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    I agree!

    I agree with Corey and the last reviewer that Patterson has sold out. His earlier works - such as 'Kiss the Girls' - were brilliant. Not so anymore - his latest books are just insulting. Very sad to see that happen to an apparently talented author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2