Customer Reviews for

The Quickie

Average Rating 4
( 390 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great book!!!!

I read this book in 2 days on vacation and it was so good that I actually started reading it to my friend who got enthralled just by what I was telling her. I loved the character of Lauren and think this should be a movie. Sort of picture Angelina Jolie in title role....
I read this book in 2 days on vacation and it was so good that I actually started reading it to my friend who got enthralled just by what I was telling her. I loved the character of Lauren and think this should be a movie. Sort of picture Angelina Jolie in title role. I usually can figure out some things but this book kept surprising me and the twists and turns were great. James Patterson is one of my favorite authors and he outdid himself with this one.

posted by Marilyn816 on September 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Completely Ludicrous

I have read all of Patterson's books and they range from books that I thought were great'Along Came a Spider', books that I thought were innovative and fun 'The Jester', and books that are just enjoyable reads 'Beach House'. The Quickie, however, is possibly the worst ...
I have read all of Patterson's books and they range from books that I thought were great'Along Came a Spider', books that I thought were innovative and fun 'The Jester', and books that are just enjoyable reads 'Beach House'. The Quickie, however, is possibly the worst book I have ever read. It is filled with unlikeable characters rushing from one unbelievable scenario to the next. The book begins by causing the reader to ask 'But why would he/she do that?' and quickly descends to such outlandish action that I actually spent time searching the net to see if the book was intended as a farce--it wasn't, but it is anyway.

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Don't waste your time

    I am a big fan of murder mysteries and James Patterson. However, this book was a total disappointment. The characters were not at all likeable and their actions made no sense. The situations were extreme and unbelievable. And what happened to right and wrong? It seemed to blur for the main character who I thought would be the 'good' person. I kept on reading hoping there would be some reasonable explanation or redeeming action for the characters but there was none.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    BORING....

    I tried and tried to keep on reading this book...but I just couldn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Don't waste your time

    Avid Patterson fans will find this book a huge disappointment. I felt so let down. The lead female character was obviously written by a man, in that the definition of her did not match her behavior. Made the book unreal for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    Too Quick

    This, like many of 'Patterson's' recent novels, has the feeling of a mass-produced, formulaic entertainment meant to be experienced quickly and without challenge of any kind. It reads more like the outline of a novel, rather than a novel itself. It's virtues are few. There is a mildly amusing sense of humor evident, and there are numerous plot twists that keep you flipping the pages. Ultimately, it fails to be enough to leave you satisfied. After I turned the last page, I couldn't help but feel as if I'd just wasted my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book really lost steam as it went on. Character devlopment was very poor. The main character Lauren had no-depth. The ending was very 'hollywood blockbuster' and disappoining. Patterson should have never put his name on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Rubbish

    I'M getting disappointed with his books,this did not had the James Patterson glitz, i think it had a poor theme structure, the characters were not interesting, the book was not flowing where you would want to go on and on. It just lack everything, I think it was rush and not look through because some of the writing was just rubbish, and it had too many loop holes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    Very Disappointed

    I have read all of James Patterson's books and loved them until this one, it was totally unrealistic and boring. Hope he gets back on track!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    Expected a better story

    This book was definitely a page-turner and held my interest, and was a quick read. But the plot was totally ridiculous. Aside from the main character Lauren not being at all likeable, she was a terrible dectective, which was supposed to be her profession. All in all I don't enjoy stories about corrupt cops getting away with their horrendous crimes. I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    Two of you and this is your best??!!

    After 3 chapters (about the length of those in a children's book) I did a speed read to learn the ending. Has there ever been a character as insipid as Lauren? Or such an implausible story line? Turn this over to Comedy Central and give it a life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I agree with the readers who voted this book 'disappointing.' Did Patterson really write this book or was it his co-author? The story-line is ridiculous, characters are unbelievable, and to top it off the font size is huge. Some chapters started at mid-page most likely to take up more space to fill the book! I am very sorry I spent the money on this expensive hardcover book...Does anyone know of a really exciting, adult thriller I can buy? This book was written at the level equivalent to a 5th grader...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I've read almost every James Patterson book and loved most of them. This one has me puzzled, though. I'm three quarters through the book, and I keep asking myself, 'Who wrote this book?' It has Patterson's trademark short chapters, but it contains none of his style. It's an okay story, but don't expect a James Patterson thriller here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is such a disappointing effort from an author whom I really respect. This book lacks originality. As I turned each page I grew increasingly frustrated and disappointed at the lackluster writing. The plot was a combination of The Pilot's Wife and the movie Unfaithful. The only 'QUICKIE' related to this book is how quickly I read it and put it away!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2007

    I HATED THIS BOOK!!!

    This was my first James Patterson novel and my last! This plot was so predictable and the characters just annoyed me. I dont understand short chapters because it started to just get annoying after a while. I heard so many rave reviews about his work but i just couldnt get into this book. 'The Quicke' was just a huge disappointed and a waste of my money and energy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2007

    An Avid Patterson Fan

    I have read all Patterson's books and have never been disappointed - until now. It seemed like he just rushed through this one. Most of it was unbelieveable. It was fast paced, like all of his books, but just not up to par, too many holes in the story. Next time I will wait for the paperback. This book is going to the second hand bookstore immediately!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    Terrible

    The whole idea was ridiculous and chauvinistic. His books have gone down hill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2007

    Thumbs Down

    I have always heard that Patterson is such a great author. I must say I was very disappointed. I tried to like this book, but it was okay at best. I found that I didn't care for the main characters so I didn't feel anything for them or their ordeals. Also, the ending was very predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    disappointing

    patterson has lost his touch. he is just sleep walking through this book.undoubtly he thinks his fans will buy his books no matter how farfetched the story line. the only reason i finished the book is because i hate to throw away my money. i will purchase any future books of his in paperback or rent them from the library. maybe its time he retired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2