Customer Reviews for

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

Average Rating 4.5
( 385 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(245)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

191 out of 194 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous

As an introvert myself, this book drew me in just from the title, and I can truly say this is a fascinating study of what being an introvert means.
With a mixture of anecdotes and scientific research, Cain explores how introverts function, what makes us act the way we ...
As an introvert myself, this book drew me in just from the title, and I can truly say this is a fascinating study of what being an introvert means.
With a mixture of anecdotes and scientific research, Cain explores how introverts function, what makes us act the way we do, and why in this day and age it is such a difficult thing to be respected as someone who is different. Most of us have faced all of the things she mentions, from teachers who think that there is something wrong with children who prefer to read than play, to the minutia like making small talk that can drain some of us of all energy. She does a fantastic job of explaining why we function in this manner, and she manages to show us that we are not wrong in the way we act; we are just different.
The narrative is always interesting, keeping the reader engaged all the way through the book. Although this is a serious research book, it never bores, on the contrary, it is hard to put down. There is a wonderful section on how to take care and nurture an introverted child, which can be a challenge since most of society is geared towards extroverts.
Introverts need different things, and modern life refuses to provide those things, with its constant rewards for those who speak the loudest, whether they have the right answer or not. If you are an introvert, or if you know an introvert, this is a great read. I highly, highly recommend it.

posted by Valca85 on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Kritters Ramblings

After reading this book, I feel I must say, Yes, I admit I am an extrovert and I like it. I have moments where I need to take a break from it all and hibernate, but in my heart, I love to be out and around people. I am surrounded by introverts on a daily basis and may...
After reading this book, I feel I must say, Yes, I admit I am an extrovert and I like it. I have moments where I need to take a break from it all and hibernate, but in my heart, I love to be out and around people. I am surrounded by introverts on a daily basis and maybe I don't quite understand what makes them tick and what they need on a daily basis.

This book not only shows what introverts need in relationships, but also at the workplace. The final chapter is a complete source for parents and teachers on how to interact with introverted children. I think the author does a great job of making valid points and using interesting research to back up and explain each point. Although this is non-fiction and has a little bit of an academic approach, it reads much easier than a textbook and is a worthy read.

I would recommend this book to both introverts and extroverts. I think the extroverts need to learn how to adapt around introverts, while the introverts need to find the confidence in their own personality traits.

posted by KrittersRamblings on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 386 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Fabulous

    As an introvert myself, this book drew me in just from the title, and I can truly say this is a fascinating study of what being an introvert means.
    With a mixture of anecdotes and scientific research, Cain explores how introverts function, what makes us act the way we do, and why in this day and age it is such a difficult thing to be respected as someone who is different. Most of us have faced all of the things she mentions, from teachers who think that there is something wrong with children who prefer to read than play, to the minutia like making small talk that can drain some of us of all energy. She does a fantastic job of explaining why we function in this manner, and she manages to show us that we are not wrong in the way we act; we are just different.
    The narrative is always interesting, keeping the reader engaged all the way through the book. Although this is a serious research book, it never bores, on the contrary, it is hard to put down. There is a wonderful section on how to take care and nurture an introverted child, which can be a challenge since most of society is geared towards extroverts.
    Introverts need different things, and modern life refuses to provide those things, with its constant rewards for those who speak the loudest, whether they have the right answer or not. If you are an introvert, or if you know an introvert, this is a great read. I highly, highly recommend it.

    191 out of 194 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    I want another copy! (Maybe even two!)

    I purchased the Nookbook version this morning. I finished the Introduction and I am ordering another copy (the Book book). I am going to give the extra copy to my best friend. It reads beautifully! I am planning on reading it out loud to my non-bookreading husband who has always struggled with shyness (which is related to introversion). As I read I realized I was an introvert surrounded by introverts trying to pretend I wasn't one. And worse, I realized I have always tried to force my children to be extroverts in such an extrovert centered culture. Now if I have only read the introduction and have figured all this out, imagine what you will know after reading the entire book! I also want to help raise the rating of a good book that was pulled down by a single disgruntled person and one star.

    113 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Introverts are thinkers and enjoy alone time rather than wasting valuable time "chit chatting" about nothing.

    The author of “Quiet” is an admitted introvert. She did a wonderful job countering misconceptions about introversion. As an introvert myself I have always felt inferior at school and work compared to my very talkative and outgoing peers. Introverts are not people with a personality flaw. They are people who recharge their batteries by being alone while extroverts recharge theirs by socializing. Introverts are thinkers, sensitive, serious, thoughtful, and reserved people. While they appear quiet and repelling, their minds are actually racing with creative ideas and planning their next exciting project rather than wasting time with idle small talk. Some of the most famous and renown people in history were introverts.

    87 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Amazing

    This book amazed me. After so many years of hearing "come out of your shell, be more assertive, socialize more, ect.", it was stunning to be told I am, in fact, ok how I am. Even normal. I don't normally write reviews but I feel like this book deserved the highest praise.

    75 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Good Book

    This is for the stupid person who wrote a review with a low rating because they had not read the book!!! So you brought the rating down with no valid information at all. If you have no actual input, don't write a review.

    62 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Great Read

    For the person who gave it 1 star even though they took no time to read or research it, you should probably find better ways to spend your time. This is a website where people purchase and discuss works of literature that people worked very hard on. As this book was released yesterday, it comes as no surprise that you have no yet recieved it if you ordered it. This is a wonderful book on a subject that is very near and dear to my heart. I hoghly recommnended for ant shy adult who has felt overwhelmed by our ever increasing fast paced society.

    44 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Kritters Ramblings

    After reading this book, I feel I must say, Yes, I admit I am an extrovert and I like it. I have moments where I need to take a break from it all and hibernate, but in my heart, I love to be out and around people. I am surrounded by introverts on a daily basis and maybe I don't quite understand what makes them tick and what they need on a daily basis.

    This book not only shows what introverts need in relationships, but also at the workplace. The final chapter is a complete source for parents and teachers on how to interact with introverted children. I think the author does a great job of making valid points and using interesting research to back up and explain each point. Although this is non-fiction and has a little bit of an academic approach, it reads much easier than a textbook and is a worthy read.

    I would recommend this book to both introverts and extroverts. I think the extroverts need to learn how to adapt around introverts, while the introverts need to find the confidence in their own personality traits.

    33 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book is extremely insightful. I found it to answer many of the questions I have trekked to answer myself for 55+ years. I have been validated! My introverted personality trait is for real; I am not anti-social. Quite the opposite. I love people; just in smaller doses when possible. My extrovert persona is something I have used my free will to develop for the people and career I love. I still, however, am bored with small talk but no longer feel I am a defect.

    32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Wonderfully researched!

    Do you feel uncomfortable in large groups, preferring intimate one-on-one discussions? Would you rather be home with a good book on Friday night while others are out at clubs? If so, there’s a good chance you’re an introvert. The bad news: this world has become increasingly extroverted, especially in the west. The good news: there are more introverts out there than you may think. You are not alone, although you may feel like it sometimes. In “Quiet,” Susan Cain presents what it’s like for introverts to live in a world dominated by an extrovert culture. She focuses on research that has been done to test levels of introversion/extroversion, the differences in how these groups think and interact, and the best ways to overcome these traits that seem to hold us back (when the need arises). Overall, she encourages the world to embrace its introverted citizens, often asking how the world (schools/work places/economy) would be different if both extroversion and introversion were embraced equally.

    I’ve known for years that I am an introvert. I’ve come to embrace it as an adult. I don’t like public speaking, I don’t like the spotlight, I tend to blend into the crowd (very happily), and I enjoy solitude and doing things on my own such as reading and studying things that interest me. I’ve learned to love my “Geek”-side. So, this book confirmed some things for me that I already knew, but there were things about myself that I actually learned from this book. Why did I feel so uncomfortable in that situation? Why couldn’t I express my thoughts better during that conversation? This book opened my eyes to a lot of the “whys” behind my behaviors that I’ve just learned to accept and embrace. It’s also very comforting to know that there are so many others out there who feel the same way, even if they’ve become good at hiding it.

    “Quiet” is very well researched. Cain definitely did her homework for this one. I’m considering giving this to my friends, co-workers, and family who don’t always “get” me. Maybe it will help them understand.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes from WaterBrook Multnomah.

    31 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Well researched, worth reading

    Insightful analysis of how American culture went from admiring Character (attributes such as thoughtfulness and honesty) to admiring Personality ( traits of salesmanship and extroversion). I disagree with very little of what I've read, and my points of disagreement are mainly that the author occasionally pushes too hard to make a point or ties a corollation too tightly together when other factors may be present. Highly recommended for quiet people who prefer a more contemplative life than the noisy, shallow party that is American popular culture.

    28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Never too late

    My therapist suggested this read, I thank her and the author. First time I sat in my therapist office I picked up another book by this author--The highly sensative child--and thought I need to read this! I'm 60 yrs old. I never mentioned this to my therapist but at our second session she asked if I thought I was an introvert, most people would say I'm extravert, yes I meant to use that spelling, I said I think I am an introvert at heart. I felt it was one of my reasons for seeking therapy, needing alone time, not liking large groups of people, having solitary interests and hobbies. She suggested QUIET. Thank you, thank you. Explaining, no validating, that who I was and was meant to be was just wearing a different pair of glasses. My fellow intoverts will know what I mean! I highly reccommend this book for everyone esp. if you are a parent. Think I' still read Highly Sensative Child. Maybe I can save someone the hundreds of dollars I spent on self help books always trying to fix the real me, now I really embrace her/me.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Great book

    I loved this book. I loved it on a personal level because no one ever stops to talk about these things in a public way. I love that Cain has brought attention to introversion and managed to make the case that it isn't actually a bad thing. It's educational; especially for parents who don't understand their children. It's probably a must read for all parents who have a least one "shy" or "bookish" child. It's also a must read for anyone who ever thought they didn't fit in because they would rather read a good book then go on a pub crawl.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    This book is FABULOUS! Thank you Susan Cain. Like other reviewer

    This book is FABULOUS! Thank you Susan Cain. Like other reviewers, I have spent most of my life feeling as though my parents, my teachers, my siblings, relatives, co-workers, etc. thought I needed "fixed". I am regarded as the trustworthy, smart, and creative one. I'm the one that is in charge of everyone's spare house key, but somehow deficient because I prefer to be alone or in small gatherings. I was constantly referrred to as shy and needing to come out of my shell as I grew up. It stigmatized me. My mother still tries to "fix" me. I am nearly 50 years old now. Reading this book made me feel like I was OK. I spent many years believing that I needed to constantly put myself in situations I dreaded because I felt pressure to be what others thought I should be. I am perfectly fine just as God made me. What really blows my mind is that i was stunned to see this book in the first place. I couldn't believe there was an entire book written about people just like me! It felt great to read about people I could identify with. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is an introvert. Before I read this book i would have felt that was a negatvie trait. Now, I say embrace it! Excellent book!

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Helping Me Understand My Husband

    My husband is an introvert and I am not... I've learned through the years who he is and what his action's mean, but this book has helped me understand his personality even more!

    It has also made me reflect on my day to day life... the people I come in contact with... and rethink what someone's actions might mean.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    It's OK to be "weird"

    It's about time that someone realized that "the quiet ones" really do have something to say.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    A huge eye-opener for a life-long introvert

    I'm only a third of the way through the book, but this book is an eye-opener. It explains introvert and extrovert tendencies. The part of the book on how society has placed such an emphasis on being extroverted over the past 100 years due to the rise of cities, makes so much sense. Also the big business push on being extroverted along with pointing out all the flaws of that way of thinking is amazing. Everything I do in business makes so much more sense after reading this book.
    The book seems to cover everything introvert-related. In society, introverts are seen as the underdog a bit. This book is an advocate for the underdog, pointing out the seldom discussed weaknesses of the extrovert personality. This is a must read for anyone, introvert or extrovert. Although, I think the book may offend some extroverts, but I'm OK with that.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    True Validation for Introverts

    This book excited me since I saw the overview prior to the book's release. It is refreshing to have myself explained to me after years of misunderstanding from coworkers and family and even myself. It was also nice to not feel like it is a trait that needs to be "fixed", just understood and optimized. There were times I broke down in tears because it was so nice to have someone TRULY understand why I hide in the bathroom after a long meeting, or why after a seven month deployment when I'm constantly surrounded by people I would rather be alone than surrounded by family.

    Thank you Susan Cain for helping all of us.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    This book is amazing. A wonderful job of giving very concrete ex

    This book is amazing. A wonderful job of giving very concrete examples of how "loudly" the strengthes of those who are the quiet amongst us have impacted, improved, enlightened, and overall helped us-as much if not more at times then those who are the outgoing and extroverted among us. All those who are quiet, shy, withdrawn, introverted- ESPECIALLY if you were to made to feel inferior because of it- should read this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Our culture does not appreciate quiet. We tend to equate social

    Our culture does not appreciate quiet. We tend to equate social power with social prowess. The outspoken people seen are as the leaders in our culture. Susan Cain, however, seeks to dispel this notion that people with a quiet nature cannot be major influencers or leaders. She opens her book Quiet by discussing one of the most influential figures in the civil rights movement. Rosa Parks made an impact in the civil rights movement through her quietness. She chose to take a quiet stand instead of being outspoken. In doing so, she became a symbol of strength in the movement. This is the first of many examples of introverts that Cain offers to show the power of quiet in a world that likes to talk.

    Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking is a great book. Susan Cain does a good job of presenting how our culture favors extroversion and looks down on introverts. It may seem at first that Cain is trying to say that introverts are better than extroverts, but reading through the whole work she does a wonderful job of challenging introverts to grow in certain areas. She also challenges extroverts to consider the benefits that introverts are able bring. As an introvert myself I most appreciated the second and fourth sections of the book. I was very interested to learn about myself and why I am the way I am. The second section does a good job of explaining many the biological factors of introversion and extroversion. The fourth section is very helpful because of the helpful advice for living with extroverts and raising and teaching introverted children.

    I would recommend this book to just about anyone. If you are an introverted, you will find this book very helpful and encouraging. If you are an extrovert, you can learn why your introverted friends are the way they are and how to best interact with them. I would highly recommend this book to anyone in a business situation, this book can be really helpful in learning how to get the most out of the introverts in your office. I would also recommend it to my friends in the ministry along with Adam S. McHugh’s book Introverts in the Church. I hope that Cain’s book will help people change their understanding of introversion. Introversion is not a weakness. There may be areas where introverts are weak, but there are always areas where introverts tend to be stronger than extroverts.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Great Book

    I need to have my husband (an extrovert) read this to help understand why I am the way I am. I feel like now I can admit I am an extrovert and not feel bad about it. Thank you Susan.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 386 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20