Customer Reviews for

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

Average Rating 4.5
( 381 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(241)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

191 out of 194 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous

As an introvert myself, this book drew me in just from the title, and I can truly say this is a fascinating study of what being an introvert means.
With a mixture of anecdotes and scientific research, Cain explores how introverts function, what makes us act the way we ...
As an introvert myself, this book drew me in just from the title, and I can truly say this is a fascinating study of what being an introvert means.
With a mixture of anecdotes and scientific research, Cain explores how introverts function, what makes us act the way we do, and why in this day and age it is such a difficult thing to be respected as someone who is different. Most of us have faced all of the things she mentions, from teachers who think that there is something wrong with children who prefer to read than play, to the minutia like making small talk that can drain some of us of all energy. She does a fantastic job of explaining why we function in this manner, and she manages to show us that we are not wrong in the way we act; we are just different.
The narrative is always interesting, keeping the reader engaged all the way through the book. Although this is a serious research book, it never bores, on the contrary, it is hard to put down. There is a wonderful section on how to take care and nurture an introverted child, which can be a challenge since most of society is geared towards extroverts.
Introverts need different things, and modern life refuses to provide those things, with its constant rewards for those who speak the loudest, whether they have the right answer or not. If you are an introvert, or if you know an introvert, this is a great read. I highly, highly recommend it.

posted by Valca85 on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Kritters Ramblings

After reading this book, I feel I must say, Yes, I admit I am an extrovert and I like it. I have moments where I need to take a break from it all and hibernate, but in my heart, I love to be out and around people. I am surrounded by introverts on a daily basis and may...
After reading this book, I feel I must say, Yes, I admit I am an extrovert and I like it. I have moments where I need to take a break from it all and hibernate, but in my heart, I love to be out and around people. I am surrounded by introverts on a daily basis and maybe I don't quite understand what makes them tick and what they need on a daily basis.

This book not only shows what introverts need in relationships, but also at the workplace. The final chapter is a complete source for parents and teachers on how to interact with introverted children. I think the author does a great job of making valid points and using interesting research to back up and explain each point. Although this is non-fiction and has a little bit of an academic approach, it reads much easier than a textbook and is a worthy read.

I would recommend this book to both introverts and extroverts. I think the extroverts need to learn how to adapt around introverts, while the introverts need to find the confidence in their own personality traits.

posted by KrittersRamblings on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Disappointing

    Although the author states that there is a difference between introversion and shyness, she spends the majority of the book confusing the two herself. It seems that since she is both shy and an introvert, she has difficulty distinguishing between the two herself.
    While the author makes some valid points it should be noted that her profession is law, not psychology and many of her assumptions and conclusions are based on subjects who are both introverted and shy, such as herself.
    As a individual who is an extreme introvert but not shy I found the book missed the mark at several points; however, I do recognize that my combination of extreme introversion without being shy is rare and that the majority of introverts will identify with the examples in this book. I think it is important to recognize and be able to identify the difference between introversion and shyness. This book, in many ways adds blurs the already hazy line between intoverted and shy.

    As I understand many reading this review will not yet understand the difference between introvert and shy, the best example I can give is myself. I refer to myself as an extreme introvert; I need to be alone to recharge and have even stated on many occasions in the past that "I hate people;” however, I do not have, nor have I ever had any issue with public speaking, in fact, I rather enjoy it. I now know that I do not hate people, rather I simply need time alone.

    For those of you who are both shy and introverted, this book will more than likely give you a deeper understanding of yourself. If you are an extrovert this book will furthur your misunderstanding of introverts as a whole.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    I was expecting to enjoy this book, hoping to learn more about m

    I was expecting to enjoy this book, hoping to learn more about my own personality and that of my friends and family. Like one reviewer (who incredibly gave the book five stars after reading just the intro), I was also impressed with the introductory chapter and was excited to read the rest of the book. Unfortunately, I did. No new information about the world of introverts and extroverts, unless you are interested in those personality traits as they apply to Ivy League graduates and professors. Every real life example the author gives seems to start with something like "my friend the Harvard Law graduate," "my friend the PHD," or "my friend the tax attorney." Obviously this is the world the author lives in and seems oblivious to the fact that average American introverts exist in walks of life outside of academia and the legal world, and may not have an advanced degree, or any degree at all. Where do they fit in? As the author cites examples of introverts and extroverts, she mentions every liberal hero from Martin Luther King to Al Gore to Barack Obama. Early in the book the author also sneaks in an "anonymous" example of a corporate attorney who does so well in a negotiation that, due to her wonderfulness and despite her introversion, she is actually headhunted by the opposing law firm. Later she admits that, guess what, It was actually her, and her introversion made her a hero! This kind of coy, self important anecdote really put me off, and I found her fawning admiration of one liberal icon after another to be alienating and distracting. I was hoping to read a book that would help me to understand my own personality better, and instead found myself reading a book by an academic and social elitist, for other elitists. This book is uninspired and panders to the political and social liberal who will no doubt be impressed by the author's similar viewpoint. The rest of us will have to find another book about introverts that is more objective and meant for a wider audience of readers.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    Thought the book lacked much of a point

    Had to read this for a book club I am in. Thought Ms. Cain did an excellent job researching the book, and like a few others in my book club, thought this was a good example of a doctoral dissertation, but I found that the book lacked a punch. What was her conclusion? I have no idea. What point was she trying to make. I can't figure out how it stayed on the best seller list for so long.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Contrived

    Cant help feelng this was written to appeal to the ego and i didnt appreciate that. Introverts or extroverts, we all like to feel special and will gobble up any book that strokes our ego.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Good information

    This book is probadly for the clinical counselor.
    I got what I needed but it was way to technical for me. I would have liked a used copy that someone had already highlighted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Ho hum...

    Not exactly the kind of eye-opening (aha!) insight into my own character I was hoping for...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1