Customer Reviews for

The Quiet Game (Penn Cage Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Great book

    I read this book as a library copy when it was first published and have not been able to get the story out of my brain all these many years later. In fact, I've been searching for a hardback copy for my library ever since. One of the best books ever-marvelous story, great Southern atmosphere, and a page-turner of the first degree. Read it!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    characters woven like tapistries, rich in character

    Decidedly one of the very best books I have had the pleasure of reading, and I am a voracious reader. A writer that will make you think,feel sometimes provoke you to wrath, all the while spinning an engaging tale of murder, treachery, misguided love and sometimes anguish. I cant say enough, this author will snare you into his world

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    Simply a Great Book

    For me, this was a no-put-down, action packed, great book! I don't think that I ever read a book so fast, even though its length (over 600 pages) was intimidating before I began. If novels with a Southern setting intrigues you, you'll simply love this book. The Entertainment Weekly review captures the essense - "This thriller grabs you fast and keeps you glued." Lots of twists and turns, keeps you guessing all the way through the novel. Masterfully written! It's close to the best book that I have ever read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    avid reader

    This book was the first book I have read of Greg Iles. 'The Quiet Game' kept me up till hours in to the night. I will definately buy the sequel in paperback that has just come out. If you like John Grisham, you will like this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Quiet games

    Enjoyed

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    I have a new author is my list of favorites!  His well developed

    I have a new author is my list of favorites!  His well developed characters keep the pages turning and enable you to see things from each of their points of view.  I've already bought another of his books and can't wait to dive in.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    WOW    WHAT A RIDE   COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN.  GREG ILES "THE

    WOW    WHAT A RIDE   COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN.  GREG ILES "THE MAN"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    He is one of the best authors ever!

    spellbinding.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    Thriller? Yes. Legal? No way!

    A former prosecuting attorney who has become a famous author returns to his home town in Mississippi, only to stir up trouble when he broaches the subject of a long-unsolved civil rights murder. Before long, he incurs the wrath of the town's greatest power broker, the politicians, and even the FBI. Sounds like a great thriller, right? Well, yes and no. Author Greg Iles provides an interesting cast of characters, a great set-up, and plenty of plot twists to keep you occupied. Unfortunately, he can't keep from tripping all over himself trying to spit it all out. The romantic triangle feels trite and cliche, and most of the characters never rise far above stereotype. The protagonist, in particular, spends far too much time droning on and on (and on and on) about his thoughts and feelings, following the narcissistic lead of Richard North Patterson's protagonists, I suppose. At those times especially the plot drags, but Iles usually keeps it moving along. Unfortunately, whenever the plot gets stuck, Iles contrives one unlikely occurrence after another to get it back on track (I won't give examples to keep from giving away plot points, but trust me, you will burst out laughing from the sheer absurdities that pile up in rapid fashion). And LEGAL thriller is definitely a misnomer, since the courtroom is not seen until the final pages, and then the surprise revelations threaten to push the entire book into the realm of the ridiculous, almost like Iles couldn't figure out how to wrap it up before deadline. Yet I have to admit, despite its many flaws, I really enjoyed The Quiet Game, in the same manner I liked reading John Grisham's The Firm. They are both ridiculously cheesy pulp nonsense, but like chocolate-covered gummi bears they are addictive in an unexplainable way. Three-and-a-half stars is probably more like it, but I'm giving Iles the benefit of the doubt for keeping me reading while he tried to pull it all together. Here's hoping he gets it right next time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fast paced,rush too beat the clock. A book to keep you captivate

    Fast paced,rush too beat the clock. A book to keep you captivated. A real page turner. It doesn't get any better than having a Iles book in your hand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    The book keeps coming up with new surprises . It is worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    highly recommended

    Greg Isles again has written an exciting story with great detail to site and characters. I have read every one of his novels and always eagerly await the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Great book

    First time I have read this writer and I am captivated by this book. Well written and very interesting. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    great

    Long, but worth the read - very suspenseful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    THE QUIET GAME

    I have read at least 5 of Greg Iles books and they are all great. But I think this is the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Greg Iles is as good as they say.

    This is the first novel I've read by Greg Iles. I was very impressed with his unique writing style, historical detail regarding the Mississippi location where he grew up (in real life) as well as his intriguing plot. It was a great thriller with lots of twists and turns and guessing right until the very end. I would definitely recommend this book to avid readers. It was about 600 pages in paperback but well worth the time. I have already purchased more of his novels and look forward to another impressive book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    Not A Very Quiet Game At All

    As a reader of previous Greg Iles books, I've come to enjoy the lengthiness. And in this one, it certainly pays. So many twists and turns make it well worth it. Overall, it's slow to start, but it slowly builds up and explodes at the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2015

    The Quiet Game

    Fast paced, constantly evolving characters and a twist most unsuspected . Very good read. Looking forward to more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2015

    Highly Recommend!

    Don't know what took me so long to find this great author! This was well written and full of twists and turns! Couldn't put it down! Will be checking out more books by this author.

    PS: Wish you people would list number of pages in a book before we purchase it. My husband won't bother with anything less than 250 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2015

    Great book!!!

    I could not put this book down-from start to finish....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7