Customer Reviews for

Quiet Nights

Average Rating 3.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very soothing music.

After a long day at the office I heard this record and I felt my muscle relaxing inmediatly, although there is nothing new in the arrangements, the music and melody did it for me.

posted by 767461 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not one of the best for Diana

I love Diana Krall however I felt the album was lacking her sultry style, it was not exciting.

posted by 1409975 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very soothing music.

    After a long day at the office I heard this record and I felt my muscle relaxing inmediatly, although there is nothing new in the arrangements, the music and melody did it for me.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not one of the best for Diana

    I love Diana Krall however I felt the album was lacking her sultry style, it was not exciting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    relaxing

    very soothing as if you stand still long enough on a cool morn and the dew will saturate your body this music and lyrics does just that

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Am Disappointed, Not Her Best Effort, Ms Krall Should Seriously Re-think her Approach to Integrate Bossa Nova into Her Repertoire

    From the opening number and through most of the album, there seems to be a huge disconnect between the artist and the arrangements. The "Nelson Riddle" like orchestral arrangements never gets into the spirit of the bossa nova rhythm and appears to only provide a lush "wall of sound" which tended to overpower the vocalist. At times its tempo and key did not synch with Ms Krall. It was a clash of styles, not a good match.

    As to Ms Krall, her performance never got into the excitement of what bossa nova is all about. The orchestration overwhelmed her voice. Her interpretation was too lazy and laid back. Her attempt to integrate the rhythm of the bossa nova into the standards leave much to be desired. An artist of her stature should do better. Her attempt to sing in Portuguese was flat, lacking the emotional quality needed to bring the language and phrases to life.

    The concept of the album was exciting --- her past performances, repute, and the publicity drew me to buy the album. After listening to it, alone and with friends, it seemed to be put together without much serious planning and thought like a "knock-off" album. Perhaps I should have left it on the shelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Quiet Nights

    Unfortunately, I would rate the entire cd "fair to midland..." A huge Diana Krall fan, I expected so much more. However, her arrangement of "Walk on By" is extraordinary. Her vocals along with the orchestra's arrangement are quite seductive...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Same old same old

    Normally I really enjoy jazz and like Krall. But in this album she is so stylized that except for the melody change there is little creativity in her handling of the material. The orchestration and vocal renditions are all the same feel and color. She is a much better artist then this product suggests. She can be creative and passionate in her music but this album is suitable for the elevator.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Diana Krall - Quiet Nights: Nice Easy-Listening CD

    Diana Krall, in my opinion, is a gorgeous girl, has a fantastic voice, and is an accomplished pianist. The selections on this CD are excellent, as are the musicians who back her up. I have a number of her other CDs, and the one "issue" I have with her is that on many of her numbers there seems to be a lack of emotion, almost like she's going through the motions. (I will admit that it is possible that she may be just too laid back for my taste.) I still find this present in some of the songs on this CD, but not nearly as much as on some of her earlier efforts. Again, in my opinion, the best selection on this CD is Track 10 - "Guess I'll Hang My Tears Out To Dry." If she would come across with the emotion she shows on this number on many of her other selections, I would certainly give this a higher rating. However, for anyone who enjoys the standards she presents here, and likes her fantastic voice, this is an album I would definitely recommend buying. I know that I will buy more Diana Krall CDs in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    ZZZzzz.......

    A little disappointing...slow and lackluster material

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I'd pass this on Diana this time!

    Too soft and lacking emotion, I'd rather watch paint dry than listen to this recording anain.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Crash Goes the China!

    The arrangements on this album are among the best you will ever, ever hear. Flawless, gorgeous, harmonically complex and unpredictable (check out the end of "Quiet Nights" for pushing harmonic boundaries in this style!). Stunning.

    Many listeners are just never going to be happy unless Krall releases records with her and a trio. They don't appreciate the beauty of the orchestra or the tastefulness of the arrangements. Why, one listener even hoped she would select "better" material in the future (this is an album filled with classic standards!).

    The bad news is...Krall is not up to snuff when matched with arrangements like this. It works at times, but overall, this is the proverbial bull in a china shop. Streisand would have eased through this album...she has the finesse and delicacy needed to match the same found in the arrangements. Unfortunately, Krall does not. She's even off key at points, and overall gives a honest, though lifeless performance. The orchestra doesn't so much overwhelm her, as simply outclasses her. Back to the trios with you DK, or at least orchestral arrangements that don't require delicacy and precision.

    Audio quality is amazing, Krall's voice is in your face and dry as a bone. Again, this would be great if she had the right voice for the project.

    A great album though, simply because of it's wonderful songs and arrangements.

    TH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not up to her usual high quality.

    I was disappointed in the selection of music and the pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    advertising

    After all of he advertising and publicity pushing this CD over the last few months, you would expect a blockbuster array of songs. Judging from the reviews, this is not the case. I am a good fan of Dianna Krall, but like many here, have noticed her career becoming more commercial and not actually singing and putting out quality material. It seems to be the status quo of the times. Not many artists sing for the sake of singing, but rather look for big returns on mediocre performances. I do hope Dianna puts out better material in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eh....

    I love Diana. It's not what I expected of her music, but it is nice to listen to if you're home and want to listen to some relaxing music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    EASY LISTENING

    soft, mellow music, well orchestrated

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Listening and partner dancing music.

    Just what I expected. It was just as if I were in a private club
    enjoying a great set. Good partner dancing music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i love to listen to diana

    this is better than her last cd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Diana Krall does it again!

    She is my favorite female vocalist, live and recorded.This one tops all the others. What a treasure! Linda

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Blend of Old and New Jazz/Swing

    I am a Diana Kroll fan - so this may be a little bias.
    Mostly I like the blend of some old classics like "Where or When", "Too Marvelous for Words", and "Every Time We Say Goodbye", with newer pieces like, "The Boy from Ipanema", and "How Can You Mend a Broken Heart".
    It is smooth and easy classic Knall but a presentation of great familiar tunes with a whole new sound and soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love her music!

    ALl her songs are in my iPod. Can't wait to see her in concert at Carnegie! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Diana Krall always great

    Loved it can't wait to see her in concert

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5