Customer Reviews for

Quiet Nights

Average Rating 3.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very soothing music.

After a long day at the office I heard this record and I felt my muscle relaxing inmediatly, although there is nothing new in the arrangements, the music and melody did it for me.

posted by 767461 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not one of the best for Diana

I love Diana Krall however I felt the album was lacking her sultry style, it was not exciting.

posted by 1409975 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very soothing music.

    After a long day at the office I heard this record and I felt my muscle relaxing inmediatly, although there is nothing new in the arrangements, the music and melody did it for me.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Crash Goes the China!

    The arrangements on this album are among the best you will ever, ever hear. Flawless, gorgeous, harmonically complex and unpredictable (check out the end of "Quiet Nights" for pushing harmonic boundaries in this style!). Stunning.

    Many listeners are just never going to be happy unless Krall releases records with her and a trio. They don't appreciate the beauty of the orchestra or the tastefulness of the arrangements. Why, one listener even hoped she would select "better" material in the future (this is an album filled with classic standards!).

    The bad news is...Krall is not up to snuff when matched with arrangements like this. It works at times, but overall, this is the proverbial bull in a china shop. Streisand would have eased through this album...she has the finesse and delicacy needed to match the same found in the arrangements. Unfortunately, Krall does not. She's even off key at points, and overall gives a honest, though lifeless performance. The orchestra doesn't so much overwhelm her, as simply outclasses her. Back to the trios with you DK, or at least orchestral arrangements that don't require delicacy and precision.

    Audio quality is amazing, Krall's voice is in your face and dry as a bone. Again, this would be great if she had the right voice for the project.

    A great album though, simply because of it's wonderful songs and arrangements.

    TH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    EASY LISTENING

    soft, mellow music, well orchestrated

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i love to listen to diana

    this is better than her last cd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Diana Krall does it again!

    She is my favorite female vocalist, live and recorded.This one tops all the others. What a treasure! Linda

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love her music!

    ALl her songs are in my iPod. Can't wait to see her in concert at Carnegie! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Diana Krall "Quiet Nights"

    Fantastic album. One of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrific Arrangements

    Diana Krall provides some killer definitions for some old standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    diana

    great/great/great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Steamy

    It's a dance, a sexy samba, a Brazilian bossa nova, or just a steamy slow dance when the feet don't really move at all. This is Diana Krall, excellent as usual, but on this album, she minimizes her vocal ornaments creating a basic truth and simplicity that is quite effective. She sings a Jobim selection in Portuguese, very beautiful. She adds piano sparingly, but when she does, it's lovely as always. This is a must-have for your Krall collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    INCREDIBLE

    Diana Krall is simply incredible. This is an amazing collection of songs and music. Diana's choice of material never ceases to amaze me. She uses emotion in such a powerful way. And she is by far in a class of her own when it comes to singing jazz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Diana Krall 'Quiet Nights'

    Quiet Nights is Diana's best CD to date. Anxious to see her in person this July on Cape Cod.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    VERY RELAXING

    This is a perfect CD to relax to in the evening - after a hectic day when everything has been hard or aggravating. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Smooth and nice by Diana Krall

    Enjoy this warm and smooth CD by Diana Krall. It is soothing and enjoyable. Nice to start the day or relax at the end. So glad I purchased it.
    Christine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Quiet Nights is a Pleasure

    We love most of Diana Krall's music, but Quiet Nights is even better. I recommend it to any music lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another favorite from Diana Krall!

    I absolutely love Diana Krall's music to work by, for relaxing or while entertaining. This is another great find!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2