Customer Reviews for

A Quilter's Holiday (Elm Creek Quilts Series #15)

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    For the Elm Creek Manor horde, Jennifer Chiaverini stitches a fine character driven tale of friendship

    Every year on the Friday after Thanksgiving, the Elm Street Quilters gather to spend time with friends stitching gifts for loved ones. This year is special as each person creates a quilting block to add to the cornucopia that symbolizes what they are most pleased about. The event is a success but a snowstorm threatens to strand everyone at Em Court Manor.

    Diane leaves anyway, but ends up stranded with a chargeless cell phone. Sylvia who once was the sole owner of Elm Creek Manor hopes that Summer, a founder of Elm Creek Quilts, has found through research her blood relatives living in California. Sarah, another founding mother of Elm Creek Quilts, learns her husband will not be there for her pregnancy because his father needs him to run the family business. Anna the manor's chef tells Jeremy , the boyfriend of another founding mother, that she loves him even as he is driving to the dorm of his girlfriend Summer. Gretchen seeks a cause to serve. Gwen misses her daughter Summer while finishing a quilt to thank the person responsible for giving her mentor a bone marrow transplant. Quilters unable to come are missed but remembered.

    More a series of vignettes that update the quilters' lives especially their personal problems; this novel targets the fans of Elm Creek Quilts. This novel will leave readers laughing, crying and empathizing with the woes of the quilters. Fans will relish this entry but to learn what happens to the Quilters and their staff the audience will need to continue with the next saga. For the Elm Creek Manor horde, Jennifer Chiaverini stitches a fine character driven tale of friendship.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Good read

    A good continuation of a very readable and cozy series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    use to love them

    Now the story is just a lot of repeat of everyrhing in past books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Great read

    For this, and every other book by Jennifer Chiaverini, I have to give them all 5 stars. I have read most of them and love them all. The stories are all alike yet different, and all are part of the life of Sylvia Compson, Master Quilter. Since I first learned to quilt I have loved books about quilting and quilters, and when my daughter gave me my first Elm Creek Quilters book I was hooked. Now I want them all, and only have a few left to get them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Good book!

    Characters are very good! Who wouldn't want to go to Elm Creek?





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    A quick read. Intend to read more of her books.

    I am a former quilter. I have enjoyed many of this authers books.
    It brings back many memories of my quilting guild days. Also in
    reading Chiaverini books makes me want to jump into her pages of her novels and attend her quilt camps. A quilters holiday left me hanging
    at the end wondering if Sarah and Matt stay married or do they
    live apart. Also what happens to Anne and Jerromy. I hope Chiaverini
    writes another novel to fill in the blanks. She deffinitly is a
    good read and a good quick one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Another Good Read...

    but I hate having to wait to find out about Silvia's newfound family members! Altho this wasn't "numbered" as one of her Elm Creek Series books there's no doubt it belongs in the Elm Creek Family. Thanks Jennifer! I want to go to an Elm Creek Camp!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulous addition to the quilt series

    Jennifer Chiaverini has created a wonderful "family" to join with her Elm Creek Quilt series. I look forward to reading each addition as a growth of the familiy's characters. Each new story delves into the individual quilters lives and lets us see how individual live's can affect how we interact with one another. Even our dearest friends and relatives can be carrying burdens that may affect their behavior or attitudes. I love that she shows true life emotions and difficulties in each character, but that in the end, the strength of their bonds holds them together. They show love, strength, humor, patience as well as impatience, anger, frustration, isolation. You feel that these are real people into whose lives you could easily step.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Excellent Read!

    Anyone interested in quilting, cooking, character relationships or just a "feel-good" read will love this book and this writer.
    I love this writer's books. I usually purchase them on the release date, but this one escaped me and I didn't purchase it for several months. Talking with other quilters and this author's readers, none of us knew this book was released in November.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great story from Jennifer Chiaverini

    I just finished The Quilter's Holiday, and enjoyed it very much. I have been caught up in reading Jennifer Chiaverini's series of books. I first read one of her later books, and have now started with her first book, and read them in order. I love that the stories are fictional with historical components. I am a quilter, and appreciate how the author has included the history of quilts, as well as developing the interesting characters in her books to tell the story.I can't wait for her next book in April of 2010.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Wonderful Series

    I love this series. I wish I could be there quilting with these ladies. I love the history and detail of each life lived here. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Same old, Same old

    The plot was a bit interesting, but mostly it was the same old story. Many of the main characters had their story told over again with just a bit more added.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I'm a quilter - need I say more?

    I wait anxiously for every Jennifer Chiaverini book to be published.

    The trials and tribulations of the Elm Creek Quilters have given me many happy hours, and, of course, ideas for new quilts! Each character has a complete personality and adds another perspective to the group. I enjoy that the spouses have been added to the mix - allowing the males to shine as well.

    Keep it up, Jennifer!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    It's not the best, BUT I loved it anyway.

    I loved all her books, warm hearted and exciting I couldn't but them down.
    This one is a bit on the dry side. Altho I loved it. They all can't be
    the same. I can't wait for the next one Jennifer. What will happen to
    Summer's romance? Will Anna step in her place? It took half the book to find
    out if ole Diane didn't freeze to death. Thanks MK IN CALIF.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Jennifer Chiaverini is a better writer than this book shows.

    Not one of the author's better books. I thought it was boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Quilters holiday great

    Fantastic, can't wait for the next. Would read it again and keep it in my library

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Great Title

    I enjoyed the book, as I have the original series from Book 1 forward-I hope the author writes more books for the eries-I enjoy the authors style of writing, and always look forward to the next books in series, and meeting Jennifer when she is traveling near to home or to Ohio-Keep up the good writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2