Customer Reviews for

Quite a Ride: An Alex Rider Story A Penguin eSpecial from Philomel Books

Average Rating 2.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Hey

If you guys are so disapointed then why dont you just buy the books in the Alex Rider series that are actually like 20 chapters or more long I have not read this yet but what it sounds like is that it is just an overview of Alexs life... By the way Anthony Horowitz is o...
If you guys are so disapointed then why dont you just buy the books in the Alex Rider series that are actually like 20 chapters or more long I have not read this yet but what it sounds like is that it is just an overview of Alexs life... By the way Anthony Horowitz is one of the best authors in the universe.

posted by 8172886 on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

It's only 14 pages!

How disappointing. Only 14 pages and not really much of a story. This could have been an excerpt from a chapter within any one of the Alex Rider books. I love the stories and was hoping for more. This wasn't worth the time.

posted by poma3 on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It's only 14 pages!

    How disappointing. Only 14 pages and not really much of a story. This could have been an excerpt from a chapter within any one of the Alex Rider books. I love the stories and was hoping for more. This wasn't worth the time.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    Beware, this is just a 14 page short story.

    A brief episode during a brief vacation for an English spy. It takes about 5 minutes to read, and even less time to forget. So, why not just forget about it ahead of time?

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    What a disappointment

    I was under the impression that I was actually buying a book instead of a 14 page chapter. If you are going to offer something, make it worthwhile.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    DO WHATS WRONG WIH GHE SA WHAT IS UP WIH THIS SAMPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The sample is three pages long.
    theirs no storiy in the sample.






    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Hey

    If you guys are so disapointed then why dont you just buy the books in the Alex Rider series that are actually like 20 chapters or more long I have not read this yet but what it sounds like is that it is just an overview of Alexs life... By the way Anthony Horowitz is one of the best authors in the universe.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    SAMPLE SUCKS!!!!!!

    the sample is 3 pages and only show the copyright stuff.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Read this before buying.

    I was under the impression that this is a horrible book around twenty pages long. The free sample is just copyrights so dont bother with them. If you have already purchased this, please send me a message on Facebook (Troy Revier) as to the content of the pages, I will post it on here if I do recieve one. Thanks or your time! Have a nice day. P.S. Dont mind my rating, I was going off of overall rating.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    A dissapointment

    First thing's first, do not bother to get the sample. It is only three pages long and only shows copywrite. Second, the story itself is only about twenty pages long a very bland story. I personally have a question about this book, is it actually by Anthony Horowitz? I know it says so but that could mean anything. It just doesn't seem like Anthony Horowitz to write such a bland story. You would think that he would at least throw in a couple of terrorists with AK's in there somewhere! In the end, I do not recommend this book and thanks for reading another D.Z. review! Remember to check out my reviews on "Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan" and "Scorpia Rising by Anthony Horowitz."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Boring

    Only14 pages long, come on! Heres a tip, dont buy this book, its a waste of time, space, and money :(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    GAYYYYYYYYYYYY

    Only 14 pages long and no one tricks him someone gust has a heart attack do not buy this book!!! It is more gay rhen girl power!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    WHAT A DISSAPOINTMENT

    The sample is terrible. Not worth 2dollars. I repear DO NOT get this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"""!!!!!!!!!!! :( :( :(

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Anynomous

    This book sucked. Dont wast your money

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Sam@123345567880

    Stupid 14 page "book" not worth your money trust me the sample is 3 pages long and its all copyrite do not get this book
    i repeat DO NOT GET THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    :-(

    I was hoping that this was going to be a really good book but its not. Dont spend ur mony on it and dont get the sample it doesnt even... never mind it stinks dont get it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Sucks

    Very bad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    warning please read

    well it is a alex rider advencher and fans should like it but it is only 14 pages but some times the page number doesnt change so its around 20 pages but it is still a grate short story. thanks for reading oh and by the way there is a problem in the story like all the other ones and dont buy the free sample it is only the first 3 pages which are the beging pages befor the acual story. ~ Anthony Horowitz fan # 1

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Sucks

    F****** terrible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Read

    I love all of his books but this is the worst.Its14 pages long, and the sample is 3 pages. Whats with that?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Seriously? 12 pages? This book sucks! Not even worthy of one star!

    This book is only TWELVE PAGES LONG. The sample is only 3 pages. You can't even read any of the actual book in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    So like LAY OFF

    OK. I see that you peeps are disappointed. But the book is bad. The author is still incredible right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5