Customer Reviews for

The Quotable Rogue: The Ideals of Sarah Palin in Her Own Words

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    read for a laugh

    Matt Lewis edited ¿The Quotable Rogue The Politics of Sarah Palin in her own words.¿ My personal opinion was that I do not care for Sarah Palin. I was hoping that perhaps this was due to media clips omitting words and speeches being sliced. Unfortunately it wasn¿t. I read the quotable rogue cover to cover and all I could gain was not insight, but how a person can say a lot of nothing and have other people think that person sounds intelligent. I will say Sarah Palin has a gift for that. From her views on abortion, where she says she ¿does everything she can do to see that every baby is created with a potential¿ which I find ironically humorous because I sure hope she¿s not seeing to every baby that¿s created. Palin makes profound sense (yes, how ironic¿how can you bumble all over the place and the next minute be infinitely profound?) in the section of the book called on America where she says that you don¿t have to have a title to make a difference. And even if most of the time Sarah Palin makes no sense, I urge you to read this book, if not to get something out of it, but to laugh your stitches out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasantly Surprised

    My introduction to Sarah Palin came on a Friday afternoon while at my local bank. Presidential candidate, John McCain's announcement of Sarah Palin as his vice-presidential candidate was on the big screen in the lobby. I had to stop and watch as Governor Palin was introduced to the American people.

    Few people have rocketed to celebrity as quickly as Sarah Palin. She was one of the most maligned, belittled, vilified and loved politicians of modern time. During the election season, I didn't have the time to follow-up on all the reports, interviews and stories that smeared Palin during the election. Editor, Matt Lewis has done the world a great favor by putting Sarah Palin's words into context.

    In this work he organizes Sarah Palin's statements into subject categories. Included are interview exchanges, quotes from speeches on a host of issues. This book was a pleasant surprise to me. I was not a John McCain supporter on 2008, nor was I a fan of Sarah Palin, but this work demonstrated that Palin's ideas were more coherent than the media portrayed them.

    I was surprised to find that I had more in common with Palin's ideas than I had thought. Even when our ideas were at odds, I found her ideas compelling. Palin fans will love this book. Democratic and independent readers will find that Palin has much more on the ball than you may think.

    I was pleasantly surprised by this volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    Recommended - Read Accurate Quotes without SPIN!

    Love her or hate her, Sarah Palin has become a GOP force to be reckoned with. The media frenzy surrounding her bid for Vice-President gave the public "snippets" of her down-home colloquialisms, many times pulling only sound-bytes from her speeches and/or interviews. The media shaped the public's conception or mis-conception of her as a person and a leader. In order to gain a realistic view of Sarah Palin, it is necessary to read or hear her comments in context. Matt Lewis has done an excellent job of bringing the reader what she said, and in actual context. I found this collection of Sarah Palin's more profound thoughts and comments to be exactly what I, as a voter, and a reader needed to understand this complex political figure. I especially appreciated the literary style of this book, i.e. all of her comments are bundled together by topic, in a quick-read fashion, and each comment, in particular, is followed by the occasion or event at which she spoke. It is refreshing to read her style of speaking and to be able to form my own opinion about her comments, without a spin from the media. I would recommend this book not only to "fans and supporters" of Sarah Palin, but also to detractors, whose opinions may have been swayed by the media's portrayal of this colorful character.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Recommended to get the real deal!

    I agreed to read The Quotable Rogue: The Ideals of Sarah Palin in Her Own Words (edited and with a foreword by Matt Lewis) awhile back and it's taken me a few weeks to get to this book because of other items I'm reading. However, this book was a simple read. It's basically a book of Sarah Palin quotes that is edited into different categories: on abortion, on the economy, on family, etc.

    I can't say I learned anything new about Sarah Palin. I've been a fan of hers from the start. I think she has some wonderful ideals and a good heart. I don't necessarily want her to be president, but I guess we'll see if she even throws a nomination out there. The book itself, like I said, didn't really throw new information my way. However, I believe that someone who only watches mainstream media or Saturday Night Live to get their information about Palin would learn something.

    As we come upon an election year, I think that if Palin throws her name into the nomination pool for the GOP, then this would be a great book to read to learn more about her and her ideals. Or if you're a giant fan of hers (read her books and watch every tv segment she's in), go for it. If you're a regular joe that doesn't get too involved in politics - first of all, get on it because the election is going to be here before you know it and you need to know your politics! Secondly, this book probably isn't for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    This book is worth your time!

    Whether you are a Sarah Palin fan or foe this book is full of information that will give you a clear understanding of what Sarah Palin believes. It is comprised of actual quotes from Sarah Palin on numerous subjects such as abortion, Obama, civil rights, faith, family, education, politicians, media, taxes, etc. I enjoyed reading this book, and I gathered a greater appreciation of Sarah Palin. Her quotes are full of wit and just plain basic truth. It was refreshing to learn her ideas from reading her exact words without worrying that some author put his own spin in the writing. Definitely a book for all conservatives and Palin fans. If you love America, you will appreciate her obvious love for America, also. She is very entertaining which makes her quotes interesting. I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    What Does Sarah Palin Think?

    What Does Sarah Palin Think?

    The Quotable Rogue
    The Ideals of Sarah Palin in Her Own Words
    Edited by Matt Lewis
    © 2011 by Adler and Robin Books, Inc.
    Thomas Nelson Publishers
    ISBN 978-1-59555-396-0
    180 pp. (ppbk)

    These thirty-three brief chapters of quotes prove that Sarah Palin speaks for herself, not with words from a speech-writer's pen. Gathered from various publications, the quotations show Palin's views on abortion, immigration reform, and crime. We hear her views on family, education and Barak Obama. Quotations on being Sarah, on the real America, on the goodness of Americans, on faith and a host of other important issues fill out the book.
    The quotes reveal a wise and intelligent woman who cares deeply about our country, her family and God. She is especially concerned that our nation gains energy independence and about education for handicapped children.
    About her fifth child, a Downs Syndrome baby, Palin says, "My family life is much richer thanks to this beautiful baby boy, Trig. He is awesome."
    And more concerning Trig: "I am and have always been unapologetically pro-life. What we thought was one of life's greatest challenges turned out to be one of life's greatest blessings.I feel blessed that God has entrusted this opportunity to us."
    The editor, Matt Lewis, a fan of Sarah Palin, chose a balanced view of her thoughts, not excluding some negative sayings from her and others.
    These quotations probably won't become enshrined in history or literature, but hearing Mrs. Palin's own words is enlightening in this age of political correctness. A journalism major in college, Sarah Palin has written better books than this one, but her concisely given viewpoints in this volume will clearly inform busy readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    The Quotable Rogue

    In 2008, then Alaskan Governor Sarah Palin sprang into the American political limelight with her nomination as Vice Presidential running mate to Presidential candidate John McCain. Palin captured the hearts of Americans with her straight-forward, no-nonsense style. Labeled as "The Rogue" after a comment she made while on the campaign trail in Michigan, Palin boldly lives up to the name.

    The Quotable Rogue is hence a collection of Sarah Palin quotes arranged in groups around common themes such as abortion, living in Alaska, being Sarah, crime, family, Barack Obama, John McCain, education, gun control and Tina Fey. Included is also a group of quotes by others about Mrs. Palin. Some in this latter category, though comparably few, are not necessarily flattering.

    Each quote is source-referenced including the date as quoted. It was interesting to read and compare quotes relevant to the dates listed as spoken, especially in hindsight. Throughout the quotes referenced, Palin shows her unwavering commitment to solid conservative family values and God centered faith. I enjoyed this fairly quick read and learned a great deal about Sarah Palin the person, as well as Sarah Palin the politician.

    Recommend? Yes.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1