Customer Reviews for

The Qur'an: Text, Translation, and Commentary

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

I loved it

Perhaps I am biased because this is the first Qur'an I ever read (I have read more than this as of now though) I have to say this version is my favorite. Abdullah Yusuf Ali has really captured the beauty of the Qur'an in the English language. Although no translation wil...
Perhaps I am biased because this is the first Qur'an I ever read (I have read more than this as of now though) I have to say this version is my favorite. Abdullah Yusuf Ali has really captured the beauty of the Qur'an in the English language. Although no translation will ever do justice to the original Arabic, I have to say that this really makes one go in awe at the beauty and majesty of the Qur'an. The language is clearly written, and made so that it appears to be ancient (written with thees and thou etc.) For anyone interested in Islam and looking for fun while reading, I suggest this version of the Noble Qur'an. I give it a 5 out of 5

posted by Isa_Henry_Aldrete on June 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Need arabic

I need a arabic quran

posted by 9439222 on December 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    I loved it

    Perhaps I am biased because this is the first Qur'an I ever read (I have read more than this as of now though) I have to say this version is my favorite. Abdullah Yusuf Ali has really captured the beauty of the Qur'an in the English language. Although no translation will ever do justice to the original Arabic, I have to say that this really makes one go in awe at the beauty and majesty of the Qur'an. The language is clearly written, and made so that it appears to be ancient (written with thees and thou etc.) For anyone interested in Islam and looking for fun while reading, I suggest this version of the Noble Qur'an. I give it a 5 out of 5

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    The Love of God

    Yusuf Ali's translation of the Holy Qur'an touched me deeply. The message from the Prophet Muhammad, may peace and blessings be upon him, is so holy and so pure, I am truly amazed at the gift that he brought for humanity. Anyone searching for the truth about himself and his heart will be moved and inspired through this reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    A good understanding

    I have been searching for a transalation for the quran and i finally founded the perfect one

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Only

    Me personly i think you should only read the Quran by Abdullah Yusuf Ali because this is one of the ones that are acually right,i am a muslim and alot of the Qurans were created by americans and so far every one was wrong ,sorry,people think that arabs are these bad people that just kill because we want but acually its not we are regular people we might have a different skin color,or might not practice the same religion as others but we are still people i mean we have hearts and brains ,right!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    AWESOME

    MASHALLAH :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    a Amazing

    A wonderous translation of the Holy Qur'an sent from Allah(swt). This translation may not be 100% precise but it serves as a splendid form of understanding the word of our Lord, our Creater for those which Arabic is not their native tongue. He has created us and to him we shall return for he is the Final Destination. AMEEN

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Okay...

    I can read the quran in arabic and i have finished it all one time through and now i want the translation. I hear from a lot of reviews that this is a good book and only 0.99! I hope the translation is english. I am only a kid!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    To Awfull

    Do you speak arabic if you don't then how would you know:)
    Not trying to be mean.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    I am muslim since i was born

    I am related to muhammad peace and blessings be on him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    I read the quran because i believe it!!

    I believe it and read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Say i if you read the QURAN

    Post I if you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Muslim teacher

    I am a muslim taecher I know that one person needs an arabic quran

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Good to read

    Its a guidance for human

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    TWO WORDS

    TO COOL

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Quran

    It is very good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Mswez @(

    MSWE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Myazia

    This is my frist time reading this and i liked it alol

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2