Customer Reviews for

R Is for Ricochet (Kinsey Millhone Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed "R"

I started with "A" and am up to "R". I will be ordering the next couple of books for my nook soon. I look forward to each book as if I was catching up with an old friend. I enjoy Kinsey's adventures, issues, and spirit. I am upset that the alphabet has so few letters le...
I started with "A" and am up to "R". I will be ordering the next couple of books for my nook soon. I look forward to each book as if I was catching up with an old friend. I enjoy Kinsey's adventures, issues, and spirit. I am upset that the alphabet has so few letters left. I have enjoyed the ones I have read and look forward to the ones that I haven't. Thank you, Sue Grafton, for this series.

posted by justmeJW on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I am a huge Sue Grafton fan and couldn't wait to start R however I was dissappointed with it, it just didn't have the same kind of feel as the other books. It was kinda bland and...dare I say...boring? But that is just my opinion. I hope S is better.

posted by Anonymous on April 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    I enjoyed "R"

    I started with "A" and am up to "R". I will be ordering the next couple of books for my nook soon. I look forward to each book as if I was catching up with an old friend. I enjoy Kinsey's adventures, issues, and spirit. I am upset that the alphabet has so few letters left. I have enjoyed the ones I have read and look forward to the ones that I haven't. Thank you, Sue Grafton, for this series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    R is for Reba

    Reba Lafferty is one of my favorite 'criminals' so far in the Kinsey series. Although there are times you want to figuratively wring her neck, she is such a fun sidekick that you forgive her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    R is for ricochet

    This one was a little different from the other books. I did not feel like it was a mystery so much as the truth coming out. Kinsey was hired to be a babysitter not a PI. Not my favorite, but a lot of character development on main characters that I enjoyed. As always I love these Sue Grafton books ready for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Very good!

    If you are a fan of Grafton's alphabet series, then you will be happy. Another easy reading mystery that I found very enjoyable. All the regular's with a new mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    Not My Favorite

    I'm a big Sue fan and this was the only alphabet book I had missed. It was rambling I have to agree with the other reviewers. I am anxiously awaiting 'T'. It started out great though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Loved it, loved it, loved it!!!

    Two days ago I was whining re Q is for Quarry and Cheney's 'marriage'. WOW I wish I had waited to read R is for Ricochet. I would have liked to see Kinsey kick Reba's butt from here to the moon throughout the entire book, which made the ending very satisfying. And Cheney Phillips is my idea of a sexy leading man. Good Lord, their interaction took my breath away. I dearly hope this guy is the one for Kinsey. He is good enough for her and she is definately deserving of this smart, sweet, endearing hunk. I read this in under 24 hours, a record for me with a Grafton novel. So, if anyone is keeping record, I vote for a Kinsey/Cheney ride into the happiness sunset by the end of this series. I have become a very devoted fan of Ms. Grafton and Kinsey Millhone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2005

    R is for rambling

    I am a big fan of Sue Grafton and could not wait to read 'R'. However, I was disappointed because I felt the story dragged on a bit. Also, I hated her relationship with Chaney. I hope they break up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    Not up to par.....

    I was also disappointed in this newest book in this series. As someone else noted, the Kinsey character acted totally different. It was almost as though someone else wrote the book and not Grafton who has given Kinsey such strong characteristics! Kinsey has always been an independent person who thought things through and kept her wits about her. In this episode, she was nervous and did many things very out of character. I realize that Grafton had Kinsey find a successful love match and that made her appear softer and more feminine. But her actions in the plotline were those of someone who had never been in the PI field before. I was left feeling as though it was just a quick write for Grafton. She didn't do service to her wonderful heroine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    Disappointing

    I am a huge Sue Grafton fan and couldn't wait to start R however I was dissappointed with it, it just didn't have the same kind of feel as the other books. It was kinda bland and...dare I say...boring? But that is just my opinion. I hope S is better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    Wearing Out?

    I have read all the Kinsey Millhone mysteries and eagerly await each new one. However, I was very disappointed with the 'R' of the series. Kinsey does so many stupid things that it is unbelievable. What happened to the tough Kinsey? She comes across here as naive and just dumb. The ending is a bit foggy as well. I do hope Grafton gets back on track with 'S'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2005

    ANOTHER GRAFTON GREAT

    I think this is the best LETTER yet! I've read everything...A-R...and they just keep getting better. Grafton has done a superb job of devloping Kinsey into a believable and likeable character. I don't know what I'll do after I finish 'Z is for...?'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2004

    My favorite one so far. . .

    I loved this book. I had a hard time putting it down. Over the past year I have read A-Q and this one has been my favovite. I think it was more of a thriller but that just makes me like it more. I think it was well written, and the ending was good. I am so ready for the next letter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    What's next???

    This book was just great it kept you on the edge. I would really like to read what happens next because we all deserve a little happiness once in a while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2004

    Losing steam

    R is for Ricochet wasn't as good as I expected. The story seemed too forced at times and I'm not sure I will be getting S.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    R Is for Ricochet

    This series has turned sour with the last few books. This one was stale and boring. I miss the days of A-M. Shape up Sue!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    A Great Read

    This is my first Kinsay Millhone book and I couldn't of been more impressed. I loved the personalities and the writing. A great book and it does deserve the current slot, #1 New York Times bestseller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2004

    NOT UP TO GRAFTON'S STANDARDS!!!

    I love Sue Grafton's books and look forward to each and every one....Unfortunately this one DID NOT hold up to her usual wit and humor and surprises.....This was predictable after the first few chapters .... nothing exciting happened....very dull and boring. Hope she does better with 'S' !!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Religion of the world of Xtoski (2)

    Mojkai was a daughter of Zorgagroz. She would apear in dreams as a lion. Her scales wer hot and shined when the sun hit them. Her eyes are yellow-bronze. She would deliver a prophecy to you in your dreams. Her name meant Sand. The world was dark, the land all flat and black, not a mountain nor forest nor desert or frost desert, just plain. Not even a drop of rain or water. You get water from the Aqua-tree (Eioh-vfroesth). She was quick and calm, as well as future-telling abilities. One day she found a giant stone, yellow-cream like her scales and larger than the moon was! She touched it, the second that was done it shatterred into millions of tiny little peices. She spent years trying to put it back together, but finally gave up. With a great roar, she sent the dust flying over the land to cover a large amount of it. The sun shone brightly in these places. She had created all the deserts of our world. Zorgagroz came to Mojkai and told her she had learned her ability. She would be a smart warrior. <br> Vfroesth was a son of Zorgagroz. He had green scales and was strong, fierce, and brave. He apeared in dreams as a tiger. He looked around. The world was mostly black-, except for his sister's creation. He would never do anything like that- or would he? His green scales turned neon green at day and puke green at night. He looked around. It was sunset, and his scales were fading as the moon came up. He attempted to chase the sun and keep his scales beautiful, but to no avail. The land was dark and empty where he landed. There was a peculiar green pebble near him, and he realized he was at the Aqua-tree, the one good thing Xtosk brought to the world. He sipped water from its surface. Deer drank sleepilly and a human sat and sucked up the water. They loked at him and panicked. He sighed and sniffed the strange pebble, before he could stop it, green sparkles came out of his nose! The pebble burst upward into something like the Aqua-tree, but it was brown and green instead of blue. The pebbles scattered everywhere, and more green dust spread from his nose. Green light filled the air as trees and moss and grass and ferns sprouted up everywhere. He created the forests of our land. Hos mother drifted gently and said to him: *you grant life, but not the way i do. You grant plant-life, i grant animal-life, as wel as the humans the ability to rebirth their populations and kings in that silly little war of theirs.* When she finished, she flew away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    RedWing

    He paded in. "Rasperstar?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    To Rasperstar

    Mde I join? - Featherpelt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5