Customer Reviews for

R Is For Ricochet

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed "R"

I started with "A" and am up to "R". I will be ordering the next couple of books for my nook soon. I look forward to each book as if I was catching up with an old friend. I enjoy Kinsey's adventures, issues, and spirit. I am upset that the alphabet has so few letters le...
I started with "A" and am up to "R". I will be ordering the next couple of books for my nook soon. I look forward to each book as if I was catching up with an old friend. I enjoy Kinsey's adventures, issues, and spirit. I am upset that the alphabet has so few letters left. I have enjoyed the ones I have read and look forward to the ones that I haven't. Thank you, Sue Grafton, for this series.

posted by justmeJW on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wearing Out?

I have read all the Kinsey Millhone mysteries and eagerly await each new one. However, I was very disappointed with the 'R' of the series. Kinsey does so many stupid things that it is unbelievable. What happened to the tough Kinsey? She comes across here as naive an...
I have read all the Kinsey Millhone mysteries and eagerly await each new one. However, I was very disappointed with the 'R' of the series. Kinsey does so many stupid things that it is unbelievable. What happened to the tough Kinsey? She comes across here as naive and just dumb. The ending is a bit foggy as well. I do hope Grafton gets back on track with 'S'.

posted by Anonymous on April 6, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    Not up to par.....

    I was also disappointed in this newest book in this series. As someone else noted, the Kinsey character acted totally different. It was almost as though someone else wrote the book and not Grafton who has given Kinsey such strong characteristics! Kinsey has always been an independent person who thought things through and kept her wits about her. In this episode, she was nervous and did many things very out of character. I realize that Grafton had Kinsey find a successful love match and that made her appear softer and more feminine. But her actions in the plotline were those of someone who had never been in the PI field before. I was left feeling as though it was just a quick write for Grafton. She didn't do service to her wonderful heroine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    Disappointing

    I am a huge Sue Grafton fan and couldn't wait to start R however I was dissappointed with it, it just didn't have the same kind of feel as the other books. It was kinda bland and...dare I say...boring? But that is just my opinion. I hope S is better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    Wearing Out?

    I have read all the Kinsey Millhone mysteries and eagerly await each new one. However, I was very disappointed with the 'R' of the series. Kinsey does so many stupid things that it is unbelievable. What happened to the tough Kinsey? She comes across here as naive and just dumb. The ending is a bit foggy as well. I do hope Grafton gets back on track with 'S'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2004

    NOT UP TO GRAFTON'S STANDARDS!!!

    I love Sue Grafton's books and look forward to each and every one....Unfortunately this one DID NOT hold up to her usual wit and humor and surprises.....This was predictable after the first few chapters .... nothing exciting happened....very dull and boring. Hope she does better with 'S' !!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Overall, this is a decent series but it’s starting to lag

    Overall, this is a decent series but it’s starting to lag for me. I like Kinsey but while reading this book about Kinsey’s latest job of picking up a convicted felon released from prison on parole fell short of the mark for me. I felt Kinsey’s tenacious skills as a private investigator were wasted with this babysitting job. The few interactions Kinsey has in the book with Henry left me unsettled as well. With a long-running series, there needs to be definitive character development and growth. As we near closer to the end of the alphabet, it doesn’t feel like there’s much growth.

    There wasn’t a lot of mystery with this story but I am hoping that will change with the next book. There is potential in R for a new relationship for Kinsey and I think it’s time. Let’s face it…Henry isn’t going to live forever and when that time comes, Kinsey is going to need people around her to help her pick up the pieces and cope. I get that in Kinsey’s line of work, being a loner is part of the job, but I would enjoy seeing Kinsey’s circle of friends increase beyond Rosie and the gang. I would enjoy seeing Kinsey finally settle down and start a family!

    For the record, I did like Reba Lafferty more than I thought I would. I was expecting her to be a nasty piece of work, but she surprised me several times in the story. Even when she screws up and slides backwards, you don’t get the sense she’s a bad person, just a messed up girl who gets mixed up with the wrong people and makes bad choices.

    I will see this series through to the end since I’ve come this far. I really like Kinsey and want to find out what happens next but I’m not champing at the bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    Is Sue Grafton paid by the word?

    I have noticed her books getting very wordy so I picked up the audio version from my library. I wish they had the abridged version - I am skipping over so much of the unnecessary diaglog (the neighbors) and her lengthy descriptions of people, places, and scenery. If I can make it to the library this week, I won't bother finishing this book. At this point (3 discs in of a set of 10) I don't think it's worth listening anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2004

    Not a Thriller

    The main story was tedious to read, but her romance is better and Henry's story sad but he comes out in the end. The side romances keep this book from dragging. Did not like any of the characters Kinsey is aiding and investigating. Q was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    R Is for Ricochet

    Was expecting more from this author, but was disappointed. Hopefully S will be better. The plot didn't hold up and Kinsey wasn't as funny and brilliant as usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1